Skip to content

Who Are You —

September 23, 2011
by

You may have noticed that we have revamped our banner at the top. After receiving overwhelming support for replacing Carrie Fisher as the unofficial spokesfatty for FFFs, we spent two weeks honoring Julie Goodwin, the Australian chef who, unlike Fisher, turned down a lucrative contract with Jenny Craig in favor of supporting OxFam.

Not wanting to put too much pressure on Ms. Goodwin, I decided to include two other fatties who, in my mind, embody the fierceness and the freethinking spirit that we admire: Kelly Gneiting and Dr. Steven Blair, respectively.

Gneiting, as you may recall, shattered the Guinness World Record for being the heaviest man to complete a marathon. The 400 pound sumo wrestler completed the 26.2 mile marathon in just under 10 hours, improving his previous time by two hours despite blisters and delirium and what he described as “pure hell.”

Although his accomplishment has been publicly derided by “real” runners, Gneiting set out to accomplish a goal that most thin people will never even attempt, and he succeeded. All the while, his dignity and pride have shone through. To me, that is the epitome of Fierce.

And in the other corner, weighing in at an impressive fat hundred and fatty-fat pounds, Dr. Steven Blair, one of the first, and longest running, researchers in the fat and fit debate. Dr. Blair’s work has shed light on the “paradox” of fat people who have perfect cardiorespiratory fitness.

By following tens of thousands of men and women for three decades, Dr. Blair has shown time and time again that fitness, not weight, is the best indicator of health. For challenging conventional wisdom and blazing an evidence-lined path for Health at Every Size, Dr. Blair fits the Freethinking mold to a T.

And, of course, Goodwin is the ideal Fatty, who has no interest in molding her body to social conventions. She’s happy, she’s healthy and no amount of money can persuade her to change who she is.

These are the new faces of Fierce, Freethinking Fatties. I hope you appreciate them as much as we do.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Fab@54 permalink
    September 23, 2011 10:45 am

    SO happy with the new representation of FF Fatties!! (^5)

  2. L.J. Utter permalink
    September 23, 2011 10:51 am

    Perfectly content with the line up. And every time I see those Jenny Craig commercials, I emulate her old pic here on the site :-p

    • September 26, 2011 5:09 pm

      I don’t see her that often, but every time I hear John Boehner or Mitch McConnell on the radio, I do the same.

      Peace,
      Shannon

  3. September 23, 2011 11:09 am

    Excellent!

  4. SherryH permalink
    September 23, 2011 8:34 pm

    I am extraordinarily resistant to change – but I like the new look. Julie Goodwin is an excellent choice, and I love how she seems to be cheering on the entire site. Too bad about Carrie Fisher, though. I agree she’s no longer the best representative for FFF, but I looked forward to that smirky one-finger salute when I dropped by. Sort of a, “Bite me, haters!”

    I was away for some time – have the two gents to either side of the header been introduced?

    • September 27, 2011 11:35 am

      Thanks Sherry. And I know, I am going to miss Carrie too. I felt like her photo really captured the spirit of FFFs. Maybe I’ll put it somewhere for us to reflect upon when we miss her. 🙂

      You may have missed it in the post above, but the two gentlemen are, on the right, Kelly Gneiting, the sumo wrestler turned marathon runner, and Dr. Steven Blair, whose lifetime of research has become the foundation of the fat and fit movement. Both awesome advocates for Fat Acceptance.

      Welcome back!

      Peace,
      Shannon

  5. September 24, 2011 12:43 pm

    Something I like about the new banner is that it is more work-friendly. When I work in the office at my college, and I log on during my break, I don’t want my employer to walk by and see the middle finger and a sneer staring back at her. I didn’t mind the old banner, but this one is great.:)

    • September 27, 2011 11:35 am

      Just a little bonus with the improvement. Good thing I went with this instead of the nude photoshoot me and V did. 🙂

      Peace,
      Shannon

  6. September 28, 2011 1:31 pm

    Kelly Gneiting kicks ass! I could never do what he did. Neither could most of the people who spoke ill of him, I’ll wager.

Leave a Reply

