Skip to content

Big Girls In a Blender

December 9, 2011

My mind is a bit worn out today, so I thought for my latest post I’d do something fun and silly.

I love listening to mashups, where two or more songs are mixed together to create one “new” song. YouTube is chock full of them. A lot of them are really well done and a lot are pure crap, but I like seeing how creative people can get when choosing which artists to put together. And a few of our larger female singers aren’t left out either.

There are a lot of mashups with Adele’s music. Her voice blends in nicely with a lot of different musical styles. Whether it’slaying her vocals from “Rolling in the Deep” over Bruno Mars’ moody pop hit “Grenade”…

… creating a dramatic dubstep-inspired tune with “Set Fire to the Rain” and Skrillex’s “Kill Everybody”…

… or pairing her with balladeers Snow Patrol to form”Chasing Someone Like You”…

… there’s no doubt that Adele inspires a lot of people who love to play around with music-mixing software.

On my Life on FATS blog, I posted a mashup of LaRoux’s “Bulletproof” and The Gossip’s “Heavy Cross.”

I never get tired of listening to it. La Roux and Beth Ditto’s voices compliment each other nicely and it makes you wish they would team up in real life.

Finally, someone had  a weird idea to combine Susan Boyle’s ” I Dreamed a Dream” and The Black Eyed Peas’ “Where Is the Love.”

The result is a bit awkward, but it’s interesting (and hilarious) to hear Susan’s smooth voice singing a Broadway classic over a hip-hop beat.

What I can say, just like when it comes to bodies, musical variety is the spice of life!

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 12, 2011 9:55 am

    Those were excellent. I’m not a huge fan of new music and have missed the Adele train, but I love how people can mix and remix music to make their own wonderful works. These are fantastic finds. Thanks for sharing!

    Peace,
    Shannon

Leave a Reply

