Skip to content

Films for Fatties

December 19, 2011
by

Christina is our latest candidate to apply for a co-blogger position at Fierce, Freethinking Fatties. As per our submission process, she will be submitting three guest posts, then our readers will vote on her inclusion. She is interested analyzing films from a fat, feminist angle, and will be focusing largely on that subject.

Hello my lovely, fat film lovers,

Welcome!  I’m Christina and I love films. I’m also a fat feminist. I have found that sometimes (ok, most of the time) films are neither fat-friendly nor are they made with feminists in mind. This bothers me, and so I’ve decided to write reviews of films in the hopes of getting a dialogue started with fellow fat feminists about how these films affect our society and how we can go about demanding change in Hollywood.

I’m the former personal assistant to an entertainment attorney/film producer, and while working in Beverly Hills, I experienced a lot of fat-shaming and prejudice. After being repeatedly harassed by my boss about my weight, I resigned. My boss told me to get a “thicker skin” or I’d never work in “the business” again. Well darn, I guess I’d have to find something else to do with myself. I know! I’ll go to college, get a degree in feminism, become a fat-activist, and then write about how the film industry sucks! Yeah!

I fled Los Angeles with my husband, two dogs, and two cats, and headed for the wilderness of Oregon. After six years of living in Klamath Falls, my little family moved to Seaside, where we live in a small, two-bedroom apartment, one block from the beach. I’m an undergraduate student at Oregon State University and am majoring in Women’s Studies and minoring in History. I have dreams of one day receiving my PhD in Women’s History and writing books about how awesome women are, but for now I am happy to write about the film industry and discuss what films tell us about our roles in society.

While it’s true that most of my reviews will be critical, I’m looking forward to viewing films that will inspire my songs of praise. I encourage my readers to view films with a feminist and fat-positive frame of mind, looking for the underlying messages that filmmakers are trying to convey to their audience. I guarantee you’ll be surprised at what you discover.

With buttery popcorn kisses,
Christina

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2011 11:54 am

    Thank you for submitting to Fierce Fatties. I look forward to reading your film reviews and analysis. I hope you’re able to shed some light on how the media shapes our perceptions of fat people and ourselves.

    Peace,
    Shannon

  2. vesta44 permalink
    December 19, 2011 12:23 pm

    Welcome, Christina! I’m looking forward to reading your reviews of films. I don’t watch many movies that aren’t of the action/adventure or science fiction/fantasy genre simply because I’m really not up for not seeing many fat people in them (unless those fat people are there comedic effect only). Even so, most of the films out there leave a lot to be desired from a feminist perspective, let alone a fat acceptance/size acceptance perspective.

  3. December 19, 2011 6:54 pm

    Hi, Christina! Can’t wait to see your films reviews … I’m a film buff myself, so I always enjoy film discussion and analysis. Adding fat to the mix only makes it more intriguing! I look forward to your posts.

  4. Amynomene permalink
    December 20, 2011 11:35 am

    Welcome! I look forward to your feminist angle- you certainly have tons of material to work with!

Leave a Reply

