Skip to content

Half-Time Show —

February 7, 2012
by

So, I was just thinking… is it just me or does this photo of Bobby look like he’s trying to pose provocatively?

Without the context of the ads, this photo by itself strikes me as something out of a Calvin Klein jeans commercial.

Or maybe he’s advertising his new fragrance… it’s hip, it’s bold, it’s fat, it’s you: Bobby.

Likewise, the girl with the folded arms?

She looks like a badass. Like she’s these rugby players’ little sister.

It was only after the fact that I found this photo of her rugby team picture.

And, I’ve heard that she’s been moonlighting as a bouncer at Club Fatty.

She learned the craft from her dad.

This is just a reminder that context is everything. Unless you remind people that these children are poor, contemptible fatties in need of pity, scorn or salvation, then they might see them for who they really are. For example, don’t forget that sad, suffering Maritza…

Is really healthy, talented and confident actress Chloe McSwain:

If you want to change the context in Georgia, then help us out by donating just ONE DOLLAR to our Solidarity Dollar campaign. We need just 200 people to unlock the More of Me to Love Match. Help us reach our goal today so we can get to work on creating a dynamic, positive campaign that will send a healthy message to ALL of Georgia’s children.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Catgal permalink
    February 7, 2012 1:14 pm

    You are so right. I have been saying from the beginning that “Bobby” is beautiful. Love what you did for “Girl with Folded Arms” too!

  2. wriggles permalink
    February 8, 2012 7:50 am

    Yeah, I suspected that’s him stylin’ and I appreciate it! He’s definitely bright that one and has ambition.There’s also a strange point at the beginning of the little vignette between him and his ‘mummy’ when he appears to gulp and supress some feeling/emotion which I can’t quite figure.

    I thought it was stifling a laugh/putting on a serious face on first glance, but when I went back it seemed to be something else, I can’t put my finger on.

    What he’s wearing on the other hand is on the direction of the puppetmasters and is quite creepy, to me anyhow. They’ve all been put in form fitting clothes, as we know, a lot of children tend to try and hide their bodies a bit, especially during the lead up/during puberty.

    I’ve said this before and I know people don’t want to go there, I don’t blame them. However I do think there is something about the permissiveness of the fat hating atmosphere that makes for the introduction of a gaze and thoughts towards children, usually reserved for adults.

    Special note to, (from memory) “It’s hard to be a little girl, if you’re not” I’m not joking when I say that meme made my stomach turn over. It’s like my mind doesn’t want to complete the implications of the subtext.

    If you’re going to make the body the issue in the stupid way ‘obesity’ wallahs have, it’s hard to avoid going down this line of, look at what fat has done to their bodies, that is the pathology, even if true, clearly it isn’t, that would matter because? And to whom?

    So profoundly ill conceived it’s hard to know where to begin.

Leave a Reply

