Skip to content

Unstable Ground —

March 20, 2012
by

This is just a quick note before I wrap up production on Involuntary Affidavit II (coming tomorrow).

First of all, thank you all so much for the reassurance. It’s just kind of weird to get publicly called out like this, although, again, why can’t they call me out by name? This must be how the Candyman feels.

Anyway, I just want to clarify my “not an activist comment.”

Are bloggers whose primary form of activism blogging considered non-activists? I guess some people think so. In a certain sense, I might even agree. But the nature of activism has changed dramatically with the internet, and armchair activism is the future… or the present, I guess.

But I won’t be leading the charge. I’ll write about issues and keep doing what I was doing, but I won’t be organizing call-ins or write-ins. I would absolutely lend my voice to the person who did organize a fight against injustice (within the limits of time and space).

When I say I’m not an activist, I think I’m just saying that I will most likely never invest this much of myself into a project that puts me at this level of responsibility. I’m just not sophisticated or diplomatic enough to pull it off for longer than… oh… about three months.

But I don’t think that’s a bad thing. I’m still an ideas person and I will work with ANYBODY who is willing to work with me. The enemy of the enemy is my friend in moments like these (with a few notable exceptions, obviously). If Jillian Michaels had written and said she wanted to write a blog post, I would so let her do it (although she would still be subject to the fierceness).

I think a real activist would have a problem with that alliance for obvious reasons, so I don’t want to be an activist. I’m just going to be me. And as many times as I’ve fucked up, people know I’m willing to learn from my mistakes.

There’s no need for shame and stigma.


6 Comments leave one →
  1. vesta44 permalink
    March 20, 2012 5:59 pm

    I think you’ve done a fabulous job, Shannon, and have nothing of which to be ashamed nor for which you need to apologize. The amount of work you’ve done, and continue to do fighting this CHOA/S4L campaign amazes me, especially considering the fact that you’re working a full-time job to which you have to commute and you have a family with which you like to spend quality time. I don’t have those constraints on my time, and I couldn’t do everything you’ve done. I have enough trouble keeping my sanity doing the little bit of activism that I do now – and I do consider what little bit I do activism: blogging, moderating First Do No Harm, speaking out via petitions/STANDards/posts on Facebook pages, and generally living my life fat at the world. It may not be world-shattering activism, but it is what I can do and it does show other fat people that they can do something too, even if it’s a small thing – and all those small things add up eventually into big things that do make big changes.
    So you’re still an activist, so am I, and so is every other fat person who does their bit to advance our cause, no matter what that bit is.

    • Leila Haddad permalink
      March 20, 2012 6:41 pm

      Right on Vesta! Agreed.

      • March 20, 2012 9:40 pm

        that’s right….we don’t know which one of is the who that will be heard…(i loved horton hears a who when i was a kid)

  2. Cam permalink
    March 20, 2012 10:40 pm

    You might be interested in reading this letter. I found it to be a really helpful tool for white folk to drop the guilt and take action! How can your heart campaign be inclusive and how can you acknowledge how your privilege affects every thing you do, whether intentional or not.

    Good luck on your journey! Keep on trucking!

    http://www.nolose.org/activism/POC.php

Leave a Reply

