Skip to content

Involuntary Affidavit II —

March 21, 2012
by

If anything is going to make Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta uncomfortable, it has to be this interview with Tim Whitehead, Vice President of Marketing and Communications. I have listened to it repeatedly now over each pass through, whittling it down as best I could without sacrificing the context (which is why this thing is 43 minutes long). But I have put chapter markers in it so you can skip to the good stuff, when I begin to grill Tim on stigma research, which he claims to be familiar with.

I am going to have to transcribe this segment of the conversation in particular because in it, Whitehead seems to admit that Phase 1 of the Strong4Life campaign stigmatizes fat children, in not so many words. For instance, he admits that stigma doesn’t work for behavior change, but then proceeds to say that, “It’s what you follow it up with” that matters.

So, Whitehead admits that stigma doesn’t work, but because they are following “it” up with programs throughout the state, that the stigma doesn’t count any more. Of course, this is nonsense, but the fact that he entertains a discussion about whether stigma is useful is fairly startling.

Of course, that’s not my favorite moment in this conversation… no, that part I’m going to leave a surprise.

Anyway, next up is Strong4Life Chairman Ron Frieson, whose astute observations on Fat Acceptance are just the tip of the iceberg. Sorry this took so long, but I have now learned that iMovie is not the program for this kind of project.

And as I prepared the final, final version, I suddenly realize that it had not been saving the most recent versions of the text boxes I add to the video. Plus, the font changes I made weren’t sticking elsewhere. Actual edits seemed okay, but text boxes were just gone. So, I’m sad to say I may have lost some recent comments I threw in.

But this is it, I’m done with it. I give it to the world.

Enjoy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. vesta44 permalink
    March 21, 2012 5:12 pm

    Shannon, you have outdone yourself!!! And I want to know which of us Fierce Fatties are bedridden? I think what’shisdick is full of shit on that one – I may have mobility issues, but I can still walk, don’t need a crane to get me out of my bed in the morning, and I sure as hell don’t need a forklift to get me out of my house (in fact, we just had new doors installed, and they aren’t any wider than the old ones [standard 32″ doors] and I get through them with room to spare, all 385 lbs of me). Helga needs to take a trip to Georgia, I think.

  2. bronwenofhindscroft permalink
    March 21, 2012 5:19 pm

    How is it that “people aren’t ready to hear, ‘Go eat more carrots'”?

    Like you said, there is so much more to it than just eating a salad, or eating more carrots. It’s not that people don’t even know “they” should eat better/different/healthier. Almost everybody I know (including myself) say, “I really need to stop eating out so much/eat healthier.” However, time, cost, energy, often gets in the way of people doing what they want and feel they should do.

    And if “stigma doesn’t change behavior”, why even entertain the idea of using stigma? It just doesn’t make any sense.

    “They’re not going to the doctor…” Maybe because we don’t want to take the risk of being denied appropriate treatment by the doctor, because all of our health problems are “caused by our excess weight.” Oh, wait, I must be wrong. All people, no matter what size, are always treated appropriately and never denied treatment. I mean, it’s not like Britain has just stated that people at a certain BMI or over can’t get knee surgery done (because, you know, those fat people totally deserve to be in pain for hurting their bodies like that).

    Oh. Wait.

  3. Theresa permalink
    March 21, 2012 6:59 pm

    Hey, I had carrots for dinner and I’m STILL FAT! What gives?

Leave a Reply

