Skip to content

Slimfast ’til You’re 95?

May 7, 2012

Why No Diet Day? Well, first and foremost is the fact that diets fail to achieve long-term weight loss 95% of the time (and don’t even start with “but it’s NOT a diet! It’s a lifestyle change!” It’s the same thing, just packaged more nicely), and therefore nobody knows how to make a fat person thin anymore than they know how to permanently make a thin person fat. But aside from whether long-term weight loss works, the much more important question might be why diet any day at all? Why spend all that time, money and energy depriving your body of calories, or certain food groups, following a plan, counting grams of fat or carbs, counting points, and watching the number on a scale? Why bother? Unless you have an actual medical reason for caring about these things (and by “actual medical reason” I mean diabetes or high blood pressure or a serious allergy) I ask you: what the hell?

Do you really think that being thin(ner) will bring you joy? Peace? A fiancé? Financial stability? Fix your marriage or your health problems? That’s what we call The Fantasy of Being Thin. Life doesn’t magically get better because of thinness. You get some of the privileges of being thin, that’s a given, but imagine the effort it takes to maintain that level of weight loss. Going from an XL to a M or S takes a Herculanean effort, one that nobody should expect to be able to keep up indefinitely. Are you really going to count calories/fat/carbs for the rest of your life? Skip dessert for eternity? Have a shake for breakfast every morning until you’re 95? I don’t think so, and you shouldn’t have to. Every body deserves love and respect. It’s not YOU who has the problem, it’s the world’s perception of you that’s the problem.

International No Diet Day is something I whole-heartedly support each and every year. Like Pagan Coming-Out Day, the Vagina Monologues, and other days of action. I think these one-day events that shine a concentrated spotlight on important issues can do a lot of good. People who hear about No Diet Day just once may discover a wealth of information and resources to read and to bookmark for when they have more time, or after they’ve had time to digest what they’ve learned. For some people, the idea of not dieting is completely radical — dieting is something that they do, like checking the mail in the morning or brushing their teeth before bed. They might not remember a time when they weren’t counting calories or fat grams or eating powdery-tasting shakes for breakfast and lunch. If this is you, I’m glad you’re here.

I welcome any new readers to Fierce, Freethinking Fatties who found us thanks to No Diet Day, and invite you to wander over to my blog and take a peek at my collection of links that blow some pretty large holes in the “obesity epidemic,” as well as dieting in general. And be sure to keep your eyes on this blog all week for more great content.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2012 5:03 pm

    I’m one of those shake people. Because I sought out a special doctor to help me figure out why I can’t lose weight with all the diets, healthy eating, and exercise I’ve tried. He said I have insulin resistance, and to combat it I can’t have carbs in the morning (I’m allowed 4 grams, no more, which equates to 1 tsp of sugar in the morning. After that, I’m allowed between 50-75 grams which to me isn’t much!). So that rules out cereal, pastries, oatmeal, any sort of bread, fruit, yogurt…pretty much anything except eggs and some type of meat.
    I absolutely detest eggs. Sausage too. I tried eating chicken, bacon, steak, anything that was meat for breakfast…it just doesn’t take. I can’t stand it! Really, I can’t stand it WITHOUT CARBS. I need bread or potatoes when I eat meat. I don’t know why, I just do!

    So my doctor told me to get these shakes at costco that give you something like 30 grams of protein with only 2 grams of carbs. Wonderful. Because I HAVE to eat protein in the morning–I’m not allowed to just skip breakfast and wait until lunch to have carbs or else my blood sugar will still spike. By having protein in the morning and waiting 4 hours to eat any carbs, my blood sugar acts like a normal person’s. Great.

    So, I’m stuck on these shakes for the rest of my life? Seriously? I get to drink 11 oz of not-that-great shake, not feel satisfied, get hungry (or starving) again by hour 2, and wait a few more hours until I can have a few carbs? Yeah like that’s going to stick for the rest of my life!

    God, I’m never going to make it out of life alive!

  2. JeninCanada permalink
    May 7, 2012 7:54 pm

    Hey look, it’s a perfect example of someone doing something for their HEALTH and not their WEIGHT. See how it’s different? Thanks for posting, Rapunzel. I can’t tell if you’re being sarcastic or serious in that last paragraph though. If you come back, let me know.

Leave a Reply

