Skip to content

Juvenile Comedy

May 25, 2012

Let me just put it out there: I have disliked Tosh.0 from the start.

I find him nothing but mean-spirited, getting cheap laughs from teasing just about everyone he can. Many people think that since he is an “equal opportunity basher” his comedy is OK. I, however, find it is NOT funny to slam anybody or anything just to get “laughs.” He rips on blacks, stupid teens, fat people, the poor, ugly, etc. This time, though, he has simply gone TOO far.

Wednesday, I awoke and did my usual AM internet rounds to Yahoo!, Discovery News and then, finally, Facebook. I found out that this picture had been put up on his website, inviting his followers to write “funny” captions.

I was horrified that the picture was there. I was even MORE horrified by a handful of the hateful comments (out of 2,000 of them) like :

Beneath all of that skin is a beautiful vagina, waiting to be fucked….and waiting….and waiting

She’ll get picked up soon, I see a garbage truck coming.

Quick get me to occupy Wall Street, I hear they are raping people down there.

Never mind the rape and slut-shaming jokes, but the very worst thing was HOW they got this picture. It belongs to fat activist and artist Substantia Jones, and is a part of her Adipositivity Project.

This just makes my blood boil.

HOW DARE THEY!!!!

Society once again take something worthy — something that tries to normalize fat bodies and build us up — into yet another way to beat us down and torment us. Normally, Substantia welcomes the sharing of her photos. “Folks sharing Adipositivity photos,” Jones said, “as is regularly done all over Facebook and Tumblr, aids in the purpose of getting body positive images in front of as many eyes as possible. We dig that. But to steal someone else’s copyrighted material in order to use it in purveying bigotry and hate for profit? Not cool.”

The person in the picture is a very brave woman. A PERSON, not some thing to be mocked. Her name is Janie Martinez and, according to Jones, the photo is “conveying the bliss of being completely happy with your physical self, and boldly so, even in a world filled with ridicule.” Apparently Tosh.0 and his hate lackeys have missed the point.  They have also used a copyrighted image without permission.

Thanks to the many Fat Acceptance groups on Facebook, and elsewhere, word got around. Activists such as Marilyn Wann,  Ragen Chastain, and myself, as well as activist groups like Rolls not Trolls jumped into action. Five hours after I saw, and was sickened by, the original post, Comedy Central took the page down. Now this is the page that had over 1,200 fat bashing comments on a copyrighted picture.

Apparently, sticking up to the bullies DOES work! If you want to help take action like this in the future,  and you have a Facebook account (who doesn’t anymore), please leave us a message here and we will add you to the Rolls not Trolls group. There, I and many others, strive to be a word of sanity on the internet, leaving fat positive comments and actual FACTS on most, if not all, of the ZOMG OBESITY PANIC! articles out there.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2012 10:16 am

    The unfortunate thing is that it was picked up by another page where it’s receiving the same treatment. Just … SO disheartening.

  2. May 25, 2012 3:06 pm

    And people wonder why I’m a misanthrope.

  3. May 25, 2012 3:34 pm

    Some might disagree but Daniel Tosh needs a dose of his own medicine.

    • The Real Cie permalink
      May 29, 2012 10:35 am

      I say Daniel Tosh needs to be dipped in honey and dropped in a nest of fire ants. I hate the guy! He is such a douchebag.

  4. vesta44 permalink
    May 25, 2012 5:25 pm

    I’ve never watched Tosh, but I figured it was probably on the order of that one Ashton Kutcher does (the one where he pulls pranks on celebrities), another juvenile humor show that needs to end (along with that one where the kids are tearing up the stuff that belongs to their dad, can’t think of the name of it right off-hand, I think it was on MTV). All of those shows are cringe-making travesties of supposed humor and why anyone would think they’re funny is beyond me (don’t get me wrong, I have a sick and twisted sense of humor, but it stops at anything that actually hurts or humiliates people).

    • Kala permalink
      May 25, 2012 9:10 pm

      Kutcher looks absolutely sophisticated in comparison to Daniel Tosh, in my opinion.

  5. May 26, 2012 2:56 am

    Ugh I can’t stand Tosh.O. I can’t believe we live in a world where people think he’s funny and he gets paid enormous amounts of money while self-respectable people like me can’t even find a job. That fact in itself makes me too pissed to even think straight and I shouldn’t dedicate any time to it because he’s not worth my scorn by a long shot. Despicable human being.

  6. Fab@54 permalink
    May 26, 2012 6:45 am

    From a Wiki bio of Tosh O.:

    “Daniel Tosh has said he plans to end his career on his 38th birthday, May 29, 2013. He has said he will do this by committing suicide or retiring to the beach. He keeps a countdown clock on his website ”
    I don’t know about you, but I’m quite looking forward to that birthday as well….for the reason mentioned above.

    I can’t believe this doobag is only a few years shy of FORTY!
    And he’s apparently college educated; however, he majored in “Marketing” which obviously is how he reached his level of “fame” I guess. Probably doesn’t believe half the shit he spews… just knows how to market the juvenile sludge he calls “comedy” towards the lower-IQ knuckle-draggers and hormone-addled socially unconscious 13 year olds among us.

    Fun, funny guy ain’t he? Umm, no.

    • The Real Cie permalink
      May 29, 2012 10:37 am

      Yeah, totally. I don’t joke about suicide because I’ve struggled with suicide ideation and self-injury since I was a teenager, but damn, May 29, 2013 can’t come any too soon! He is a nasty, nasty creature. Nothing but an outdated, overripe, junior high bully.

  7. May 27, 2012 12:22 pm

    My husband and I were talking about Tosh the other day. I was saying that if I were on the dating market today that being a viewer of Tosh would be enough to eliminate someone from my dating pool. I said that knowing he’s a regular Tosh watcher. I don’t get the appeal, at all.

    He’s just horrible. His defenders say he’s equally mean to everyone, but I don’t think that excuses his level of meanness; and I think it just elevates the hate of this fans.

  8. May 29, 2012 10:16 am

    Thank you, Tosh, for training an entire generation of adolescents to be cruel, ruthless, snickering jackasses. It’s not like we weren’t cranking them out at a record pace as it is.

    Peace,
    Shannon

Trackbacks

  1. M.Y.O.B. « Fierce, Freethinking Fatties

Leave a Reply

