Skip to content

Don’t Fuck with the Fat Kid

May 30, 2012
by

Last year I wrote a book about a group of kids who accidentally start a second American Revolution. In January, I was signed by a literary agent. And last week she accepted an offer on my behalf from one of the Big Six literary publishers.

My head is still reeling. My book will be published. So will its sequel because: two book offer. My most prominent thought over the last couple weeks has been “holy shit.”

Just before my book sold, when I was in the waiting-forever throes of being absolutely sure it never would, Neil Gaiman tweeted about Matthew Lillard’s Kickstarter page to crowdsource distribution money for the film he made based on K.L. Going’s book Fat Kid Rules the World. 

I did what I always do. I read the book.

You should read the book, too. And watch the videos on Kickstarter. So cool.

There aren’t a whole lot of books out there, especially not young adult books, where the fat kid is the centerpiece, and the fat kid doesn’t lose weight to make his or her life all better. What this fat kid realizes is that he is punk rock, just like he is, and that everyone really isn’t looking at him, unless they want to hear him beat his drums.

Pretty soon people are going to look at me. Not all the people, but some of them. Like when I go to a conference in July and meet my agent and publisher. Or when I do book signings at some point in the future. Or when I have to send my publisher a picture to slap on the back of my book. And no matter how many pounds the devil’s calculator in my brain insists I could lose by then, I will be fat. Fat and looked at.

When that gets scary, what I want to hold on to is that I am already punk rock. If people are looking at me, it’s because I’ve got something to say and they want to hear it. And if my ability to do that makes even one kid, who reads my book and comes seeking me out, be able to do it, too — holy shit. Don’t fuck with the fat kid!

28 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2012 10:14 am

    omg that is SO cool i was wondering what came of that!

  2. vesta44 permalink
    May 30, 2012 10:19 am

    Way to go, Shannon!!! That is just so wonderful. You’ll have to let us know when the book comes out – I’d like to read it (and it would be great if it comes out on Kindle or Nook [I have both], I really don’t have room for any more physical books).

    • May 30, 2012 10:31 am

      I wish, vesta, but this is all Shaunta. 🙂

      Congratulations Shaunta, and if you need someone to write a review, you know where to find us. 😉

      Peace,
      Shannon

      • vesta44 permalink
        May 30, 2012 2:07 pm

        My bad 😦 I was typing Shaunta and talking to DH as he was getting ready to leave for work (and here I thought I could multitask so very well…..lol….guess my fingers weren’t keeping up with what my mind was trying to do). So, Congratulations, Shaunta, and here’s hoping your book sells lots of copies to kids, young adults, and their parents and grandparents (I know I’ll be looking for it when it comes out).

  3. Catgal permalink
    May 30, 2012 10:53 am

    Congratulations!!! Let us know when we can go buy a copy. We will support you and give you props!

  4. May 30, 2012 10:57 am

    You guys are so awesome. Thank you! And I will take you up on the review! The book’s main character has autism, and she is pretty damn punk rock herself.

  5. Theresa permalink
    May 30, 2012 11:28 am

    Congratulations Shaunta! Doing a fat jiggly happydance for you… 🙂

  6. May 30, 2012 11:31 am

    Congratulations! I can’t wait to read it. I hope that you have the DC area in your book tour.

    Did you know that the author of The Neverending Story specifically made Sebastien a fat kid, so that the outsider would save the world? He wanted the book to be for the outcasts. He was incensed when the movie cast a slim, conventionally attractive actor in the role.

  7. g2-1b814e83aee5ec3fdf125bf1db332006 permalink
    May 30, 2012 11:32 am

    I don’t know why the system is giving my name in code. My user name is kate217.

  8. May 30, 2012 11:32 am

    Ya for punk rock peeps! Congratulations on getting your book written AND published. 😉 Keep us posted!

  9. May 30, 2012 12:46 pm

    I love Fat Kid Rules the World for just exactly the reason you mentioned. Too many times the fat narrative (when it happens at all) is “fat kid loses weight, then becomes happy” or “fat kid becomes happy, stops using food as a crutch, then loses weight” — neither of which is reflective of my life as a fat person. (I am also fond of Carol Carson Levine’s Fairest for much the same reason.)

    Anyway, another note of congrats and request to let us know then the book comes out!

  10. May 30, 2012 2:55 pm

    Boom! Rad Fattie conquers the publishing world! Congrats!

  11. Fab@54 permalink
    May 30, 2012 3:03 pm

    WOOOT-WOOOT Shaunta!!! Congrats! My kindle awaits your words!! ❤

  12. May 30, 2012 4:19 pm

    way hay Shaunta dancing round the room I am so happy for you hope it gets picked up by a publisher my side of the pond (I’m in the Uk) and if it doesn’t I’ll just hit amazon us and get it posted here

  13. May 30, 2012 5:20 pm

    That’s wonderful! Congrats!

  14. May 30, 2012 7:46 pm

    You ARE punk rock.

    • JeninCanada permalink
      May 30, 2012 9:29 pm

      Holy shit, is this the REAL Neil Gaiman? IT IS! Hi! Welcome to Fierce Fatties! We hope you enjoy the blog!

    • May 30, 2012 9:57 pm

      It’s official. This is the BEST two weeks anyone has ever had EVER.

    • May 30, 2012 10:03 pm

      Not Worthy

      Our site just brushed shoulders with genius. Shaunta, I can think of no better sign that you’re about to set the world on fire.

      Thank you Neil and thank you Shaunta!

      Peace,
      Shannon

    • May 30, 2012 10:30 pm

      I’m swooning!

    • May 30, 2012 11:15 pm

      Also! Don’t be afraid to read our blog! It’s awesome and I think it’s safe to say that we’d all be honored (we all ARE honored)!

      Go Shaunta for being so awesome Neil Gaiman dropped by! 😀

  15. lifeonfats permalink
    May 30, 2012 8:13 pm

    Shaunta, that’s great! As one fledgling writer to another, that is some awesome news.
    And Neil, you rock too! Thank you for giving us one of the BEST Doctor Who episodes of the current run!
    OK, now back to celebrating Shaunta. 🙂

  16. May 31, 2012 12:12 pm

    Congratulations!

  17. June 3, 2012 6:36 pm

    I LOVE this. And yes, you are definitely punk rock.

    • June 3, 2012 10:18 pm

      Wow, Shaunta’s got some amazing support going. Thanks for stopping by, KL.

      Hey, we’d be happy to promote your Kickstarter, if you have a graphic or something to put on our page promoting it?

      Just let me know: atchka at hotmail.

      Peace,
      Shannon

  18. June 3, 2012 6:45 pm

    Awesome, awesome post!! Congratulations on your book deal! 😀

Trackbacks

  1. In case I ever doubt my own punk rockness . . . | Live Once, Juicy
  2. Fat Kid Rules the World: Crowd Source Funded! «

Leave a Reply

