Skip to content

On Hold with Atchka! and Dr. Linda Bacon

June 5, 2012
by

Over the next few days and weeks, I will be re-releasing the interviews I have done with some of the leading minds in the areas of obesity, health and fitness. These interviews were originally posted on Podbean, which required a subscription fee, which I could no longer justify since I hadn’t scored any big interviews lately. Rather than let them waste away on my hard drive, I have uploaded them to YouTube as references. I toyed with the idea of making them extra fancy, but when I try to make something like that it can take weeks to produce a single product. Besides, these podcasts were intended to be heard and not looked at, so I settled for including a revolving slide show of whatever photos I could find of the subjects. I plan to release a new interview every day, until all 14 are publicly available again.

When I first learned of Fat Acceptance in June 2009, I knew virtually nothing about the science that formed the foundation of this movement. I had years of experience with fat positive communities, but Fat Acceptance seemed to take that notion and build it into a viable political movement.

I soon discovered that one of the strongest legs that formed the foundation of Fat Acceptance is the widely-documented failure of weight loss. From my perspective, it seemed that everything else traced back to the fact that there is no long-term, evidence-based solution to being fat. Therefore, rather than continue to promote a failed approach, Fat Acceptance was searching for an alternative to health and self-care.

Enter Health at Every Size®, or HAES.

HAES teaches that behaviors, not weight, determines health (for the most part, since illness can strike anyone, even triathlete vegans, at any time without warning). After reading my first fat science book (Gina Kolata’s Rethinking Thin), my interest immediately turned to HAES.

Having read only blog posts about it, I wanted to learn more, as well as share more, about this new approach to health, so I wrote this article on HAES for Skorch magazine. As a result, I was able to interview three people, all of whom agreed to let me make the interviews available in full with no editing.

Although these early interviews betray my vast gap of knowledge  on the subject, I believed it would also provide a way for those HAES skeptics, as well as the newly-introduced, to “walk through” this process of intelligence gathering. I saw this public self-education as a way to provide a path for those who wish to understand both HAES and Fat Acceptance.

So, it was with modest ambitions that I secured an interview with Dr. Linda Bacon, who literally wrote the book on Health at Every Size; a book I hadn’t actually read prior to the interview.

Of course, I have read it since and highly recommend it as a vital starting point. But perhaps this interview can serve to pique your interest in the subject.

You can read the original blog post I wrote to introduce this interview here.

In the meantime, I hope you enjoy this blast from the past.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2012 11:40 am

    What a bummer that the recorder pooped out! I was loving it!!!! But then again I got to hear the Patrick Swayze Xmas song!

    • June 7, 2012 10:38 pm

      I know. I would love to interview her again. I’m curious what our conversation would be like now. I’m thinking of doing the same thing, but over Skype so I can post video of the interviews. But that’s only in the planning stages.

      I’m glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

      Peace,
      Shannon

  2. Dorothy permalink
    June 9, 2012 12:31 am

    Long time lurker — I really like your blog and the myriad voices/contributors who make it such an interesting and inspiring read for those of us who are trying to shed our body hatred.

    I seem to recall that you interviewed Ellyn Satter some time ago; if so (I’m not 100% sure it was on your site, as it was a while ago now), would you be re-posting your interview with her? I’d really like to listen to it again — she is a voice of sanity (as is Michelle Allison) in our eating disordered culture.

    Regards from Toronto

    • June 9, 2012 10:52 pm

      Wow, Dorothy, you just made my night. Thank you 🙂

      I did indeed interview Ms. Satter. If I’m remembering right, it may be episode 11, so it will probably be next Monday. Then my interview with Michelle will be the next day. This week will be (again, if my memory serves me well) Michael Karolchyk, Dr. Katherine Flegal (she of the revised CDC estimate of 26,000 deaths due to overweight and obesity), Dr. Steven Blair (Mr. Fat and Fit), Dr. Rebecca Puhl (the shame and stigma expert), and… Harriet Brown, maybe?

      I’m really looking forward to releasing them. I’m really proud of these conversations, the information they shared and the fact that we have it available as a resource. And I hope to return to doing more of them in the future, God willing and the creek don’t rise.

      Thanks for your support and I hope you enjoy them the second time around. 🙂

      Peace,
      Shannon

      • Dorothy permalink
        June 10, 2012 12:39 am

        Great, I look forward to listening to these interviews (again). They truly are a great resource — though I admit I have chosen, so far, not to listen to the MeMe Roth one — I’m afraid I might develop high blood pressure just from the sound of her voice. 🙂

        Thank you again.

Leave a Reply

