Skip to content

On Hold with Atchka! and Veronica

June 7, 2012
by

This is the interview that got me kicked off the Fatosphere over two years ago, for writing this in the original introductory post:

“In this episode, we talk about theoretical dieting and the health risks of being fat. But even more important, we talk about disordered eating a lot in the second half.

Now, the part I’m worried will piss people off is the fact that I say that if I, personally, changed my diet and exercise habits, that I think I could lose “a lot of weight.”

This may come as a shock because I am so aware of the failure rate of dieting. But a few stipulations that weren’t in the interview: first, if I was to change my diet and exercise habits it would be out of fear of my heart health more than anything.

As previously stated, I have a strong history of heart disease and my current lifestyle is probably exacerbating that. I don’t think my weight is a factor for heart disease, but I think that my lifestyle is a factor for my weight. So, I still believe that if I had the time and motivation, I could change my lifestyle and, I believe, I would lose weight.

Would I get thin? I don’t think so. But I’d be closer to 200 than 300. That’s just my personal opinion.

Likewise, my guest thinks she could lose half her body weight, if she were properly motivated. But there are complicating factors, which we discuss.”

Getting kicked off the Fatosphere may have been the best thing that ever happened to me, as it gave me even more motivation to found a new Fat Acceptance mega-blog that I had already been contemplating. My expulsion made Fierce, Freethinking Fatties inevitable, so everything turned out all right in the end.

This conversation takes place between myself and my wife, Veronica, who is fat. She opens up about the history of her relationship with her mom, who suffered from an eating disorder when V was younger. Veronica also opens up about her relationship with food.

Veronica prizes her anonymity (Veronica is not her real name, derhay), so for this slideshow, I’ve included photos of myself because I have no idea what else to do.

I hope you enjoy this candid discussion and don’t feel the need to kick me out of your club.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2012 9:17 pm

    Wow I didn’t realize you were kicked off before. I guess it was a blessing. 🙂

    • June 7, 2012 10:37 pm

      If you root around in my old blog, you can see traces of the battleground. It was ugly. Unfortunately, the one person I blew up at (Bri), did not deserve to be blown up at. Other people, definitely, but not Bri. And, ironically, Bri and I are cool now, unlike all the other people who think I’m shit. And ya know what? I’m thrilled that this is the community that resulted because these are my people. Unlike when I was on the Fatosphere, I know I can say what’s on my mind and nobody will be personally aggrieved at my words. Or at least they don’t say it. And that’s all I need. 🙂

      Peace,
      Shannon

  2. Mulberry permalink
    June 9, 2012 6:34 pm

    What gives Veronica the impression that she could lose half her body weight if she really wanted to? How does she know how her body would react to whatever procedure or program she would theoretically use to lose said weight? (Not trying to be belligerent, just honestly curious.)
    Why do people feel they have more control over their fatness than they do over being gay?
    Maybe people do have that much control. As for me, I don’t and am always amazed by those who do, or say they do.

    • June 9, 2012 11:04 pm

      I think it’s based on the common belief that caloric deficits, given enough time, leads to a linear weight loss of 3,500 calories per pound. I don’t blame her for believing it, it’s the prevailing medical wisdom, and she is up on her prevailing medical wisdom. But as demonstrated in that mega-comment on leptin in the MeMe Roth post, there’s so much we don’t know. But one thing we do know is that weight loss doesn’t work, and that is chalked up entirely to will power. I think individuals respond differently to energy restriction and some can tolerate the metabolic effects better than others, so I think there are people who use caloric restriction successfully, but for the rest of us, the ideal in terms of the pursuit of health is feed our bodies well, move our bodies more and love our bodies always.

      Since we did that interview, she’s come closer to the HAES approach.

      Peace,
      Shannon

Leave a Reply

