Skip to content

Oatmeal Pudding Cookies. Deliciousness.

June 22, 2012
by

There’s a lot going on in my life right now… so I’m going to cheer myself up by sharing my favorite cookie recipe!

These cookies are my family’s favorite. I’m always getting requests for them and the base recipe is very simple and easy to change up!

This makes about five dozen medium-sized cookies! Plenty to share!

What You Need:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup butter-flavored shortening

(You can use all shortening or all butter if you like, also.)

  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 package (3.5 ounce) instant vanilla or french vanilla pudding
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 + 1/4 cup all-purpose flower
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3 + 1/2 cups rolled oats

Instructions:

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit (180 degrees Celsius) and line your baking trays with parchment paper
  • Cream together your shortening and/or butter, brown sugar, and white sugar until smooth.
  • Carefully blend in your instant pudding and then beat in your eggs; combine the flower and baking soda and add it to the bowl
  • Finally, add the oats
  • The dough will be stiff when it’s finished

And now comes the best part: the add-ins. Of course, raisins, dried cranberries, chocolate chips, and nuts are great. My family’s favorites are crushed almonds, coconut, and dried blueberries. You can add as much, or as few, add-ins as you like, so I didn’t include a measurement. But you always want to mix them in by hand (not an electric mixer) so you don’t crush your ingredients (especially if you add blueberries).

  • Bake these babies for 8-12 minutes (12 minutes is perfect on my oven) until they’re light golden. They’ll be pretty soft until they cool.

I just made three batches of these for Father’s Day (chocolate chip, blueberry, and almond-coconut) and they’re already gone!

I hope everyone enjoys them!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. fatology101 permalink
    June 22, 2012 12:19 pm

    Thanks, they are my husbands favorite and my grandkids are with me and gives me something to do with them.

  2. Fab@54 permalink
    June 22, 2012 4:18 pm

    Oooh sounds soo good! I’m going to try them this weekend!

  3. June 23, 2012 9:55 am

    Yum! Those sound amazing! I think I’ll make some almond-chocolate chip or coconut chocolate chip for a summer party next week.

  4. June 24, 2012 11:00 am

    Sounds like something nice to try in a couple weeks after our move. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Fab@54 permalink
    June 28, 2012 10:07 am

    My (83 yr old) mother happened to have all the necessary ingredients in the house (and I was between shopping days), so she made the cookies for me/us! šŸ˜€
    They were SO GOOD!!

    She divided the cookie batter into three portions and added raisins to one, chopped nuts to another and mini-chocolate chips to the last. YUM for all three! The only thing she did differently was add about 1/4 teasp. of vanilla to the recipe.

    I knew there would be times when living a block and a half away from Mommy and Daddy would be a Good Thing! šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

