Skip to content

On Hold with Atchka! and Michelle Allison (the Fat Nutritionist)

June 22, 2012
by

I’m a bit of a misanthrope.

In terms of that faceless, nameless collective of people who comprise the majority of our population, I want nothing to do with them. I’ve spent a lifetime trying to fit my square peg into society’s round hole, and it never turns out well. So, when it comes to humanity, I have to agree with Roy…

And then I meet someone like Michelle Allison (aka, the Fat Nutritionist) and I call my misanthropy into question all over again.

If there are people like Michelle out there, then surely the world can’t be all bad, right?

I like Michelle so much, that we even tried our hand at creating a vlog together called Fat Panic (check out watch episodes one and two). It was awesome and would have become ever more awesome ad inifinitum, were it not for my complete and utter lack of free time to edit.

But the first time I ever really spoke with Michelle was during this interview, when she invited me to ask her tough questions and I obliged as best I could.

Because my aim with these interviews was not to provide a safe space to preach to the choir. I wanted to challenge the people I respect and admire with some questions that I believed their skeptics would ask. I think I probably gave Michelle the toughest grilling because she told me beforehand that it would be okay to give her a challenge.

And she does an incredible job addressing every concern I could come up with about her approach to nutrition. For a person to not only welcome dissent, but to respond in an intelligent, accurate and understandable way is might rare, but that’s exactly what Michelle did in this interview.

Although Michelle is already helping individuals overcome their traumatic dieting history, I know she’s got a much bigger future ahead of her in changing the way the world perceives nutrition and health, and she’s already making serious inroads on that front.

So I’m thrilled that I’ve become friends with Michelle before she really hits the big time, and I’m even more thrilled that she took the time to let me grill her about her approach. I hope you enjoy my conversation with Michelle, which I’m posting, coincidentally on her birthday.

You can read my previous introduction, along with my followup questions for Michelle, here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

