Skip to content

The world will not end because of sweaty fat people

July 13, 2012

I’m planning for my vacation next week, so I’m reaching into the archives of my blog Life on Fats to repost one of my summer threads, with a few tweaks to include some current events.

It’s hot out y’all.

I live in Northern Maryland and our summers in the Baltimore metro area can get very steamy. It got to 97 degrees yesterday, and temperatures are expected to reach 100 degrees or more in the next couple of days. Nine people in the Baltimore area have died due to the heat wave that’s been dominating the area since the beginning of the month.

People without air conditioning have been utilizing local cooling areas such as libraries and senior centers. Anyone who has to be outside for whatever reasons has been doing what it takes to stay cool. That means wearing lighter, looser clothing, staying hydrated — and lots of sweat.

Curiously, and somewhat amusingly, it seems that this natural bodily process that helps our bodies cool down can be offensive to some fat-shamers. They don’t want to see big people sweat, even if it’s a result of exercise. It’s silly if you think about it. We’re all going to sweat, regardless of weight.

Now, many of us fat people will sweat more because we have a lot more to carry around, so it will take us longer to get cool. There are some fat people who don’t sweat a whole lot. Some people are on medication which has extreme sweating as a side effect, such as my mother. Combine that with the sweat she already puts out naturally, and it’s Soak City.

So this whole “sweaty fat people are offensive” tripe makes no sense. Sure, sweat isn’t attractive and it can be stinky, but it’s part of what makes us human. And, yes, fat people are human. I know it’s tough to grasp, but we should be allowed to sweat and stink like everyone else. The world isn’t going to explode in a giant fireball because of it, I promise you.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Janet permalink
    July 13, 2012 10:03 am

    Yeah…*LOL*…how is it that eve when we are exercising to “get thin” or healthy as the case may be, we still get slammed? Seriously, what do these people want from us? That’s why I work out at home on my stationary bike and I have a lovely park to walk in if it’s not too hot. But seriously, sweating is what it is. I once had a woman tell me that most thin people don’t sweat very much. She was a pretty ignorant (meaning she didn’t have knowledge, not the insulting kind of ignorance – don’t get me started on word use and hijacked words) so I just shrugged it off and told her she had her facts wrong and she might want to check that out before she says things like that again.

  2. July 13, 2012 12:10 pm

    After I walk from the train to my work, my forehead is often damp, moreso in the summer. I’m so self-conscious about it, even though I’ve just been walking for ten minutes. It’s ridiculous. People sweat to various degrees when they exert themselves. And even if fat people sweat more, so what? People who care about what other bodies are doing need a damned hobby.

    Peace,
    Shannon

  3. July 13, 2012 3:21 pm

    I sweat a lot. But then, so does my mother, who is considerably smaller than me so I don’t think it is the weight, although people assume so. It only has to be slightly hot before my head starts sweating and I usually have soaking wet hair in the summer. I am self-conscious about it (although to be fair people don’t usually comment).
    It has been a problem in some jobs though – who wants a waitress whose hair drips sweat onto their food? Or a nursing assistant who (this happened to me) drips sweat on the patients as she’s washing them?
    I have no idea what to do about this – most places I have worked wouldn’t allow me to wear something to soak it up on my head so I seem to just have to suffer!

  4. violetyoshi permalink
    July 26, 2012 11:27 am

    I don’t really know what to say. I’m getting bored at these childish grabs to other fat people first.

Leave a Reply

