Skip to content

Moment of Silence —

July 20, 2012
by

I had planned a post on Pattie’s project, but I can’t do it in light of what happened in Aurora. Keep the victims in your thoughts and/or prayers.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Janet permalink
    July 20, 2012 11:48 am

    I agree. What a horrifying tragic set of circumstances. A bunch of folks coming together for a fun evening of entertainment and whoops, here comes a psycho. Yeah, he’s a psycho and no I can’t have sympathy for him no matter what his actual mental state is. At some point in our lives, we make choices that influence what happens to us and what we do. At some point, he made a choice that increased his mental illness instead of getting or accepting help (no I don’t accept the excuse that maybe he didn’t know how or whatever – it’s still a choice) and he obviously chose wrong. So he then makes a bomb, gets some guns (American gun laws still mystify me….we don’t have this same problem in Canada, at least not to this degree) and decides to shoot some people he doesn’t know. I’m sorry for the families of the folks that have died, I’m sorry for the families and folks that are critically injured, and for those now traumatized. When are gun laws going to reflect protecting all of the people, instead of the misguided rights of the few. Sorry to anyone who is pro-gun, but as a pacifist, I find this kind of situation repulsive and there should be no excuses.

    • July 21, 2012 8:31 am

      Choices can only be made by those that are competent to make them. You are assuming that this person KNEW he was sick, that he knew the difference between right and wrong, how to ask for help, that he was capable of recognizing the good intentions of others, etc. One of the first things to go with serious mental illness is self-awareness and your ability to communicate. You are assuming that he thinks the way you or I might think, and it’s flat out fallacious to think that way. I’m not asking you to feel sympathy for this person. I really don’t care if you do or you don’t, but you seem to have a warped perception of the capabilities of people with serious mental incapacity, coming from the point of view of someone that obviously doesn’t suffer from it.

      • Janet permalink
        July 22, 2012 2:55 pm

        Actually, I do understand mental illness as it is in my family and two of my friends have it. They both had breakdowns, one of them had 2 within 5 years. But obviously these folks finally listened to those that were telling them they needed help. They didn’t go out and kill people, though they were a danger to themselves. I actually have a pretty good grasp of mental illness. But lets consider that the mother of this person who did this heinous thing in Aurora didn’t seem surprised that her son had done this. In fact, I imagine, though I won’t say for sure as I wasn’t there, that she tried to get him help and being an adult, he can refuse, unless he has already shown a propensity for harming himself or others. So in whatever way his mind worked, he made the decision, cognizant or otherwise, to not try and control his illness. Now people are dead that don’t deserve to be. People are injured and people are suffering and traumatized by this event and his actions. I’m tired of mental illness and freedom to bear arms being used to excuse terrible behaviours. There is no excuse for this kind of out of control situation. And before you go calling me “warped”….get to know me in all aspects before you decide to call me names. I’m actually intelligent and try to be well informed. I wouldn’t have made the comments I did if I didn’t know something about mental illness.

  2. vesta44 permalink
    July 20, 2012 12:08 pm

    My thoughts are with all of the families affected by this horrible tragedy. There are just no words to describe the horror I feel that someone would be moved to do something like this.

  3. July 20, 2012 3:22 pm

    I wish people would stop throwing the term “insane” around – that’s a legal term, not medical – but that doesn’t take away the fact that this is revolting. I’m heartsick.

  4. Inkster permalink
    July 24, 2012 7:19 pm

    Of all the shootings there has been one thing in common. None of the shooters were fat.

Leave a Reply

