Skip to content

Cool Stuff Fat People Do

August 10, 2012

After reading about the fat hatred thrown at Holley Mangold and how some celebrities in Hollywood, along with your average, everyday people, are using fatphobia to strike back at Chik-fil-A’s homophobia, I thought it would be a great time to post awesome stuff our fellow fatties, famous and non-famous, can do.

Contrary to popular belief, we are capable of more than stuffing our faces with fast food and sitting around taking up space on furniture all day (and even if we do, that’s still no reason to hate).

So, are you ready for a list of cool stuff we can do? Let’s get it started!

Showing off some funky moves in a dance contest (the winner comes in at 1:01)

Cosplaying

Dalek dresses"Russell" from "Up"

Performing in professional dance competitions (the Fatosphere’s own Ragen Chastain from Dances With Fat)

Lifting weights and working out beside thinner people

Getting nominated for an Academy Award and being on the front of a mainstream magazine cover

Gabourey Sidibe on EssenceMelissa McCarthy

Winning an Academy Award

Mo'NiqueKathy Bates

Writing a novel and getting signed by a literary agent

Taking on a major anti-childhood obesity group with resounding success

Taking on not one, but two fat-hating journalists, and forcing them to confront their negative views on fat people

And finally…

Publicly going against “the norm” and declaring ourselves diet-free and not giving a damn what other people think.

In other words, being a part of the Fatosphere and being activists, fighting for fat people to be treated with the respect and dignity they deserve. Each and every one of you who constantly get knocked down over and over again by anti-obesity special interest groups, the media, and trolls, yet keep getting back up and staying strong, that’s probably about as cool as it can get.

I know I left out a lot of other cool stuff, but that’s why I’ve got you! Tell me what other cool stuff fat people, including yourself, do in the comments. Let’s show the fatphobes that we can be cool and amazing in our bigger bodies.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2012 5:55 pm

    I am training to make the 7-day trek to Mount Everest base camp.

    • August 13, 2012 9:48 pm

      That’s awesome? So, will you then climb Mount Everest? And if so, what’s wrong with you? Every fifth person dies up there! My father-in-law LOVES books about mountain climbing, though he’s never climbed a mountain, and he was just telling us about how Mount Everest is just littered with frozen bodies that you have to step over on your way up. Not for me, man. I prefer my adventures vicariously delivered. But good luck, and keep us posted.

      Peace
      Shannon

      • August 14, 2012 5:39 pm

        I would climb if I wasn’t absolutely terrified of heights. And if climbing didn’t cost upwards of $75,000. And if there wasn’t a good chance of dying up there. I think there are about 200 frozen bodies up there… I’ll attempt it when the have a heated escalator to the top.

        PS: For an excellent mountain climbing book read “Into Thin Air” by John Krakauer.

  2. Lael permalink
    August 10, 2012 10:35 pm

    Awesome and very inspiring!

    I am currently training for a half marathon…but I also rescue animals and mentor young girls.

    • August 13, 2012 9:49 pm

      Man, it seems like everybody I know is training for a half marathon. I just don’t have the endurance for it.

      I think for this post, for every inspirational thing someone does, I’m going to explain how I will never be able to do that thing. I could rescue animals and be a mentor, though. šŸ™‚

      Peace,
      Shannon

  3. violetyoshi permalink
    August 11, 2012 2:33 am

    I ā¤ the girls dressed as Daleks!

  4. Sim permalink
    August 13, 2012 7:02 pm

    I’m a foster mum šŸ™‚

    • August 13, 2012 10:08 pm

      Hooray for foster moms!!! You are awesome, Sim!

      Peace,
      Shannon

  5. August 25, 2012 8:47 pm

    I am a Metalhead that in of itself is a great accomplishment as a human being and large person . I get scoffed at from both sides of the fence for being big and being into metal. everyone has their share on earth of being treated as a scourge of society an accomplishment is learning how to live against that and proudly of oneself anyhow. I am a proud metalhead who has pcos and causes me to have weight issues. but i am proud of anything i can do including building computers from scratch , incredible artwork and other stuff and also my sense of humor the ability to laugh through the worst parts of life.

Leave a Reply

