Skip to content

On being fat and needing a mobility scooter

August 27, 2012
by

I finally had to break down and admit that my walker just wasn’t enough help for my mobility issues. This was brought home to me when we went on vacation. We went to South Dakota to see Mt. Rushmore and the Crazy Horse Monument. We also drove through Bear Country USA, went to Reptile Gardens, the South Dakota Air & Space Museum, the Pioneer Auto Museum, Wall Drug, the Corn Palace, and the Laura Ingalls Wilders site in De Smet. We did all of this from July 4th through July 7th.

We missed a lot of things because I just couldn’t handle all the walking, even while using my walker, taking breaks, and sitting on its seat. My knee swelled, my back screamed at me, my muscles cramped up, and there were times when it was all I could do just to get back in the van to drive to the next place on the list.

Now, I’ve been using the mobility carts at WalMart/Fleet Farm/Menard’s/etc. for quite a while because those places are so huge that there’s no way I can manage to walk through them when shopping. I’ve heard the comments about the fat lady who just needs to get off her fat ass and walk more; that there’s nothing wrong with me that eating less and moving more wouldn’t cure, etc., etc.

I’ve had elderly people get pissed at me when I’ve been waiting for a mobility cart and they come in and want one and I get it first — they think they should get it first because they’re older and they use a walker, are on oxygen, or whatever, and I don’t look like I have any problems. I’ve had several come right out and tell me I don’t need to use one of the carts at all, and my response has been, “Fine, when my back and legs cramp up from walking, and I fall down, you can bring the fork lift that has to pick my fat ass up off the floor, because there isn’t anyone in this store that can lift me!”

All of this is to say that because of my mobility issues, there are a lot of things I no longer do, which means my husband doesn’t do them anymore either because he won’t go without me. I can’t go to the Mall of America (or any other mall, for that matter) because I can’t handle navigating it with my walker. I can’t go to the State Fair because I can’t walk for that long with my walker. Anywhere that requires a lot of walking, I can’t do with my walker because it takes me too long to see it all — I have to stop and rest every 10 minutes or so, which means DH has to either stop with me, or go on ahead and then I have to hope I can catch up to him. This isn’t fair to either of us.

So I got online and researched mobility scooters. Do you want to know what the really sad thing is about mobility scooters/chairs? Medicare and insurance won’t pay for them unless you need them to get around inside your home. Doesn’t matter how bad your mobility issues are, as long as you can still navigate your home on your own two legs with or without the aid of a walker, you don’t get any assistance from Medicare or insurance in paying for a scooter/chair.

Now, that mobility chair can be used outside your home, as long as you need it to get around inside your home. But if you can navigate your home with a walker/your legs, but can’t navigate the outside world that way, then too bad, so sad, sucks to be you. I guess you’ll just have to be confined to your house or find some other way to pay for your scooter/chair.

I’m lucky — we have good credit, and we just got a new credit card with a big enough limit that we could afford to put the scooter on it. I checked into getting a loan from the bank for it, but they won’t take the scooter as collateral. They would have added it to our car loan, but that’s going to be paid off in a few months, and why would we want to add another year to that, plus pay a loan origination fee and interest?

Then I got to thinking, this credit card is no-interest for a year, plus it has 1% cash back on all purchases — so no loan origination fee, no interest, and we get 1% cash back on the purchase price? Hells to the yeah. So we went to Rochester on Thursday and picked up my scooter. Best of all — it was on sale!!!

This is the Pride Maxima, it has a weight limit of 500 lbs, will go 18 miles on a charge, will recharge overnight, and can be taken apart to fit in the back of my minivan without any tools (and if we get ramps, we can push it up in the back too). This one retails for $3,375, but it was on sale for $2,868 (and because it’s classified as a medical device, in Minnesota there’s no sales tax!.

DH is already planning all the places we can go now, and all the things we can do that we haven’t been able to do because my mobility issues have held us back — and do you know how bad that makes me feel? I didn’t want to get a mobility scooter because I didn’t want to have to hear the nasty comments from people about the fat lady riding one (when you have an invisible disability, it’s just a pain in the ass to try and educate the ignorant haters).

But now, I think I’ll be able to ignore them or tell them to eat shit and bark at the moon. I can finally do the things I want to do and go all the places I’ve been missing out on — and that is what matters, not what anyone else thinks. So if anyone is having second thoughts about getting a mobility scooter simply because you’re fat, or if you have mobility issues and one of these would help you, I highly recommend getting one. The freedom you’ll feel is amazing!

31 Comments leave one →
  1. drpattiethomas permalink
    August 27, 2012 1:18 pm

    I am healthier since getting my scooter. I mean physically. I lift (disassemble) my scooter in four pieces into my trunk. Nothing weighs more than 40 pounds (battery is heaviest thing), so I’m doing weight training any time I’m getting it in and out. Since I work several days a week, this happens at least three or four days a week. About three weeks after getting the scooter I noticed that my arms and abdomen were getting stronger. I still can’t walk or stand for long due to injury and neuropathy, but I find my scooter to be an important part of my staying as healthy as I can both physically and mentally (not to mention financially as I can remain employed because of it). Thanks for writing this!

  2. Diane permalink
    August 27, 2012 2:01 pm

    Good for you! I’m hoping my 2nd hip replacement will resolve most of my mobility issues. If it doesn’t I’ll have to follow your lead & look into one. It’s too bad there’s no reasonable cost way (that I know of) to rent one by the day for trip to fair, mall, etc.

    • vesta44 permalink
      August 27, 2012 2:17 pm

      Diane – some malls rent mobility scooters for a nominal fee (the one in St Cloud does), but finding the kiosk that rents them isn’t always easy (it’s usually a long walk from the entrance, which makes absolutely no sense to me). I’ve found that calling the mall ahead of time to see if they rent scooters is a good idea, but most of them don’t, unfortunately. Most amusement parks rent them (SeaWorld San Antonio had them for $50 for the entire day), but those are usually on a first-come, first-served basis, so if you don’t get there early you may not get one.

  3. vesta44 permalink
    August 27, 2012 2:13 pm

    The heaviest part of my scooter when it’s disassembled is the back part with the drive wheels – that weighs 65 lbs and is a bit more than I can lift (and that’s with the batteries taken out). So we got a folding ramp and I’ll fold the seatback down, fold the steering column down, put the scooter in free-wheel mode and push it up the ramp into the back of the van (and then take it out of free-wheel mode so it won’t move when the van is moving). I think pushing it up the ramp and rolling it down the ramp every time I want to use it will be helpful exercise (it weighs 180 lbs fully assembled).

  4. bronwenofhindscroft permalink
    August 27, 2012 2:32 pm

    I’m really glad to hear you were able to buy your own mobility scooter.

    I have a friend who needs one, can’t get one via insurance/medicare (for the same reason as you), and who doesn’t have the ability to buy one. So she pays the money to rent one by the day or two whenever she wants to go someplace she’s going to have to walk a lot at (like sci-fi cons and such).

    It seems like it’s part of the “damned if you do, damned if you don’t” dichotomy we face all the time. “Hey, fattie! Go do some exercise!” and yet, when one is in the gym, exercising, one hears something to the order of, “You are too gross to be in my space exercising. Besides, we know it’s all an act anyway! Get out of my gym/off my street!” :\

    • vesta44 permalink
      August 27, 2012 3:10 pm

      When Medicare/insurance make it that difficult to get a mobility chair/scooter, they encourage people to lie about their ability to navigate their homes (and believe me, I considered going that route in order to get a prescription from my doctor for a mobility chair in order to have Medicare and TriCare pay for it). And some of the places that sell those mobility chairs are all to willing to do everything they can to qualify you to get a chair through Medicare/insurance – I’ve been getting spam emails from them ever since I started researching mobility chairs/scooters online (and all I did was look at the sites and the information they had, I didn’t sign up for anything or leave my email address, interesting how much information those websites can harvest from you without your knowledge).

      • August 27, 2012 6:01 pm

        This is what’s wrong with the health care system in the US….medical care costs can be whatever the purveyors of these products and services want them to be. There are no restrictions stopping them from taking advantage of those who earn a modest income, as if those with less money are less deserving of medical treatment. The difference between the US system and many other systems that have national health care is that with government systems there are ways to protect everyone. Tax dollars go into a “fund that can be used by all if they need it. If you want more care than the basics, you do pay for it but there are laws that govern how much can be charged. That way you don’t have greedy people just taking advantage, but it also stops lazy people from taking advantage too. You have to prove you need the careand you have to go to a doctor to get the care you can’t just say, I want it so give it to me. Social medicine isn’t a bad word.

  5. August 27, 2012 3:04 pm

    I just wanted to say thanks for your post. I’ve been blogging about my experience being a part time wheelchair user-while-fat, and it’s good to see more people talking about this.

  6. Theresa permalink
    August 27, 2012 4:23 pm

    1) OMG, the hubs and I were in South Dakota at the same time as you were! I wonder if we saw each other at the Crazy Horse museum… 😉

    2) Congrats on taking back your mobility.

    • vesta44 permalink
      August 27, 2012 6:39 pm

      Theresa, we could have seen each other at the Crazy Horse museum if you were there on the 5th of July around 2 pm – that’s when we were there, taking pics like mad. We’re going back next year because we didn’t get to see nearly as much as we wanted to, nor did we get enough pictures. DH also wants to see Bedrock, the place that has all the Christmas ornaments, and I want to see the Woodcarver’s Museum (along with a few other places that we missed the first time around). We’re taking at least a week and a half next year, maybe even two weeks, so we’ve got enough time to see it all.

  7. Mara permalink
    August 27, 2012 8:10 pm

    There are lower cost scooters available on craigslist.com. I’ve bought all of my scooters there. They don’t last as long as a new one, but then again they’re one tenth the price, usually 350-500 dollars. Occasionally I’ll find a Maxima, but usually I’ll go for a Rascal, with a weight capacity of 450 pounds. The only thing I don’t like about the Maxima (and for my needs, the three wheel model works best) is that it doesn’t have an electrical lift like the Rascal does. So do many other scooters. If I want a Maxima that I can use in an elevated manor, which makes my knee happier, I’ll have to pay $1000 for the privilege, and even then it will be stuck in the upright position.

    But using a scooter absolutely opens the world up again for someone with mobility problems. I can go far more places than I could before I broke down and admitted that I needed it.

    • vesta44 permalink
      August 27, 2012 8:45 pm

      I looked on craigslist for a scooter and there was nothing in this area (not within 350 miles, anyway) that would hold my weight (it had to be able to hold at least my weight of almost 400 lbs plus my purse and whatever else I might want to carry in the basket). The Maxima was the only one that even came close to that, and I couldn’t find any used ones. What I would have spent buying 3 or 4 used ones over the course of 5 or 6 years would pay for this one (because you just don’t know for sure what you’re getting when you buy used, no matter what the seller tells you, and I’m just not that trusting anymore).

  8. Catgal permalink
    August 28, 2012 9:41 am

    Congratulations on your scooter! Congratulations on getting your mobility back. Most of all thank you for being brave and taking this step. No one should be made to feel bad or made fun of for doing what is right for them. She looks like a beauty, I hope you make many wonderful memories with “her”.

  9. violetyoshi permalink
    August 28, 2012 12:22 pm

    You know what really gets me. This discrimination happens sooo much at Disney World. Not only just with fat people, but people on mobility scooters in general. Parents think it’s okay to let their kids jump out in front of them. This puts the person in the mobility vehicle in a bind, because if they hit the parents’ kid accidentally you know the parents going to throw a fit, when it was their fault for not watching their child.

    They also have this stupid notion that you’re supposed to guide your mobility vehicle through the lines like everyone else. I guess to show that you’re being “fair” as if everyone who goes to DisneyWorld thinks like a child, and can’t handle that someone got ahead in line even if they were disabled, without throwing a tantrum. It is virtually impossible to navigate a mobility vehicle through those lines successfully. I grew up playing Mario Kart, and even I couldn’t do it.

    My sister has become a pro at using a mobility vehicle and knows the places you can park your vehicle to avoid this. Since, they do not teach the people working at Disneyworld that if someone can move from the vehicle, sending them through the line is a pointless exercise of frustration and humiliation.

    Then there are the people who despite being at what in my opinion is the greatest theme park in the world, take their time to bully, or pick fun at people in mobility vehicles. If it isn’t dancing in front of them and blocking their way like a royal jerk. It’s people feeling they can pass judgement on someone for using the vehicle. It’s freaking Disney World people! Don’t you have a ride to get on or something? Seriously, this I’ll never understand. There’s like hundreds of fun things to do in Disney World, yet these people still take some time to pick on people. I really think if things were just, someone who actually appreciated the park, should be in their place.

    I also got attacked on a site where I complained about this, as being told that having Autism isn’t enough of a disability to use a mobility vehicle. Right, it’s all a grand game of the Oppression Olympics when it comes to mobility vehicle access right? Most people who have a significant issue, tend to rent or bring their own mobility vehicles. So right there, the crying over “But someone actually disabled might neeeeed itttttt!” is nonsense.

    I just don’t see why someone shouldn’t be able to enjoy what little time they have at Disney World because there are people there, who despite being privileged in enjoying an amazing theme park, instead spend all their time looking for people to bully. It’s beyond pathetic. Especially if like I said with the situation involving the kids. You have to watch to make sure you don’t drive faster than a snail, because some inept parent, is going to let their little darling play Frogger. Yes I know it’s a theme park aimed mostly at kids, no this doesn’t mean parents should just ignore their children and their safety, thinking they can take a vacation from being a parent. Good parents know that you can never take a vacation from being a parent. If they’re not going to get hit by a mobility vehicle they’ll get lost, and hopefully they will find someone there who will take them to Town Hall or wherever the lost and found is in the park they’re visiting.

    Fat people shouldn’t have to be at risk of being blamed for accidentally hitting a child, because that child’s parents never taught them not to dash out in front of moving vehicles. Makes you wonder how they got this far without their kid being hit by a car.

    • vesta44 permalink
      August 28, 2012 9:39 pm

      violetyoshi – I’ve found that it’s not just parents not watching their kids, it’s the parents themselves not watching where they’re going. I don’t know how many times I’ve almost run into/over someone who’s been pushing a shopping cart and texting/talking on their cell phone and not watching where they’re going. Then there are the parents who let their kids run wild in the store and get mad when the kids almost get hit by other shoppers, either with shopping carts or mobility carts – and these are kids that are just barely walking, they should be seated/belted into the shopping cart, not running wild through the store. They also block the aisles with their shopping cart and get pissed when you ask them to move so you can get through – like it’s easy to turn a mobility cart around in a narrow aisle or back it up without hitting the shoppers behind you. The inconsideration shown to the disabled is shocking, and I’ll admit that I’ve thought many a time that if those inconsiderate douchebuckets ever became disabled, even for a short period of time, that it would be poetic justice for them to face the same inconsideration that they’ve dished out to disabled people (not that I’m wishing disability on them, but if it should happen…………)

      • violetyoshi permalink
        August 29, 2012 3:42 am

        Parents complain so much about people hating kids, when they fail to realize they are making it so any time spent around kids, will be miserable due to their neglect.

    • May 22, 2013 5:26 am

      It’s not just scooters they run in front of but buggies when you’re shopping in the grocery store too. Guess it helps that I look mean because if somebody runs out in front of me I turn my head and accidentally on purpose knock the hell outta them. 500 points YESSSSSS!!!! Oops I mean sorry! Didn’t see you there, left my glasses at home today my bad. Run them over enough and they will move! Get an airborne scare the little sheats to death when they run in front! God help these people where I live I’m about to be mobile again! I got in a huge discussion with lady in Walmart one time when I ran her over for hopping out in front of me on the Walmart scooter. Told dumb bish it wasn’t MY fault she wasn’t watching what she was doing! Then drove away. Air horns people get y’all some of them and them bratty young ‘uns will know you’re there! As for the lines now I can’t help that people are azzhats these days. What I do is get someone to stand in line for me. People bitch when I take my place but screw em. All they do is complain but they do that anyway

  10. purple peonies permalink
    August 30, 2012 12:08 am

    it was so nice to read this post!!

    my wheelchair is on order right now, and i’m REALLY hoping it arrives before we leave for a trip to vegas in a couple weeks. it was really hard to get a chair for all the reasons you mentioned… my insurance follows medicare’s prescribing rules, so they only wanted to pay for a “hospital clunker” to get me from my bed to the toilet, and didn’t care about my quality of life. basically they had to accentuate the fact that i DO sometimes need help getting around my own home (but they didn’t need to know i sometimes crawl successfully or it’d negate my need!), and i had to see an occupational therapist to write down all the things my doctor already wrote down. i started this process in november, was denied multiple times, and the order was JUST placed last week.

    i have a spinal injury and deciding to use a chair was a long time coming. i’m in my 30s and i was injured when i was a preschooler. i don’t remember a time when it didn’t hurt to walk. my parents were the bootstraps types (my dad is retired military and lives with his own pains), and while they’ve always been kind to me, the outside world had nothing kind to say about my fatness. i’ve been fat since i was a baby, as well as asthmatic, and clearly both had everything to do with my laziness. as my leg pain worsened and made it harder to walk over the years, i sought out chairs everywhere, and stopped doing a lot of the things i love because of the pain. clearly my laziness had everything to do with my fatness. about 5 years ago i started seriously saying to myself “if i could just get through life without walking, i could do so much more!” and wishing i could just “divorce” myself from my body from L4-downward. because i’ve been walking all this time and because i’m fat, it would be the worst thing in the world for me to choose to use a chair in life. it took a long time (well, almost 5 years in fact!) to finally come to the realization that other people don’t freaking matter, and in the end i’m the only one i have to answer to for how i live my life. a lot of the arguments (after the “you’ll get fatter!” one) involved the inconvenience of needing a chair in the real world. it took quite awhile for me to realize this is just thinly veiled ableism and it was far more inconvenient for me to be passing up social activities and fun activities and enjoying this beautiful area i moved to 3 years ago because i was in too much pain to get off the couch, or couldn’t risk getting someone and then becoming stranded because my legs stopped working or i fell over after they went numb (possibly getting hurt badly in the process).

    EVERYONE deserves to move through life in the least painful and traumatic way possible. that includes me. and it took a long time for me to be able to say that last bit.

    congrats on your new FREEDOM! i hope it’s even better than you imagined 🙂

    • vesta44 permalink
      August 30, 2012 1:01 am

      purple peonies – I’m glad you’re getting your chair too – it’s going to open up a whole new world for you too. The douchebuckets will just have to live with seeing us wheeling around and finally enjoying our lives like we’re entitled to do 🙂

  11. August 31, 2012 11:14 am

    Fuck what other people think. People need to just take care of themselves and ignore the haters. It’s hard to do, but once you brace for that reality and accept what you know about your health, you can begin enjoying life more. Go for it!

    Peace,
    Shannon

  12. lifeonfats permalink
    August 31, 2012 2:49 pm

    Scooters are made because people need them and it doesn’t matter the reason. Why some people let this bother them is beyond me.

    One of these days, some of those same people that take offense are going to probably end up using a mobility scooter and won’t like it when someone makes fun of them. I’m a firm believer of you get what you give.

  13. The Real Cie permalink
    September 2, 2012 3:59 am

    Nobody has any way of knowing WHY a person needs a mobility scooter. It’s not any of their goddamn business either. I have one friend who was badly injured in an accident 8 years ago. She is on dialysis too. She has to use a mobility scooter when she goes shopping because she just gets too worn out. She likes to go shopping either really early or really late to avoid the crowds, but also to avoid the douche canoes who think it’s their business to say that she should just get off her “fat ass.” I tell ya, it’s a good thing for them that Wal Mart won’t let me bring my shotgun in. 😉
    I work in a retirement community. The building is big and I have to do varying numbers of tasks every night, not including if someone calls me for something. We have a mobility scooter for the use of the staff, and after the second time of having to walk the building (or if my ankle or knee is killing me) I’m taking advantage of that sucker!
    I wish my father had agreed to get a mobility scooter after he had his stroke. He was a very stubborn person and insisted that if he couldn’t walk, he wasn’t going to have one of “those damn things.” I think it would have given him back a bit of his independence before his cognition started to slip too.

  14. purple peonies permalink
    November 2, 2012 3:42 pm

    LOL ZOMG tj i’m so glad you were on the internet to tell us something we’ve never heard before! ur so smrt! what would we have done without you here to give us your professional medical diagnosis 2 months after this post was made?!?!?!? STOP THE PRESSES! THIS TROLL IS ALSO A BRAINIAC!

    lulz. nice try, trollerskates.

  15. Mulberry permalink
    November 2, 2012 4:23 pm

    I get it tj, you want a better view of my ass which, after all, you can’t see very well when I’m sitting. Well you’re in for a real treat – I’ve developed a nice outbreak of psoriasis on mine which you’ll notice when you lean in close to kiss it. Oh, and you won’t need your lipstick this time; I won’t see it anyway.

  16. May 22, 2013 5:00 am

    I ran across your post as I was looking for a scooter and feel as if I wrote this myself! Like you I too have had to fight the stares and comments and I ruined not just one but THREE vacations!  We went to DC and I that’s where I found out I couldn’t get around as easily as I once did. Was so upset because I had my heart set on seeing the National Art Gallery and the. Air and Space part of the Smithsonian. I did make it through the Spy museum and a couple other things we did. That was our first vacation since our honeymoon 5yrs prior. Then the next yr I wanted to take my husband somewhere cell phones couldn’t reach him. His never stops and I knew if his work could reach him they would as they don’t know the meaning of the word vacation. So we went and rented a cabin high in the Smokies. It was GORGEOUS! Lacked parking in the little town of Gatlinburg so you parked at one spot and people walked. Was lovely except for folks like you and I because there weren’t many seats. I got tired so we had to do indoor things. At least my husband is the type to roll with the punches. The real kick in the ass though was last September.  I had bought tickets to a show in New Orleans for my husband’s birthday. This is my favorite place on Earth! We live 3hrs away and I have been so many times I could give my own tours around the Quarter…. if I could walk. Use to I’d spend an entire day running up and down the Quarter well into the night. On this trip when I couldn’t walk from Canal Place One to the aquarium my heart sank to a new low. Haven’t been that depressed in awhile so I said I need to find SOMETHING so I could get from point A to B without giving out completely.  People need to realize what you eat is NOT the only thing that causes weight gain!!!! Not AT ALL its the meds I take to stay ALIVE that make me gain weight. I’ve gained 100lbs over the last 10yrs. So what do I do? Stop taking them and lay down and die? No of course I’m not going to do that! So let people talk hon let them say what they will and you carry a big stick. That’ll shut em up and improve your batting average! Good luck to you hon and TYSM for writing you have blessed me today with your story. Hope you have a good day and may it be pain free! 🙂

  17. Abby permalink
    August 2, 2013 11:05 am

    Although I applaud you for buying your own scooter, I have to take issue with your comment, “I’ve had elderly people get pissed at me when I’ve been waiting for a mobility cart and they come in and want one and I get it first — they think they should get it first because they’re older and they use a walker, are on oxygen, or whatever.”

    I’m 39 and I’m on a lung transplant list as a result of a genetic lung disease. I am on oxygen and can barely walk. So yes, if an overweight person took a mobility scooter in a store right in front of me who had no other apparent disabilities, you can bet that I would shoot that person with searing laserbeams of malice and spite from my eyes.

    In order to stay on a lung transplant list, I have to eat healthy, exercise (even though it’s zillion times harder to do it with lungs functioning at 15% of normal), and I must maintain a healthy BMI. And I also take medications that cause weight gain, so maintaining a healthy size requires far more work for me than it does most people.

    I don’t shop at big box stores, so don’t worry, because you won’t ever have to put up with my attitude. I shop in small stores and I choose to walk and take beaks as needed. On occasions when I’d like to visit a museum or someplace that requires distance walking, my husband pushes me in a wheelchair.

    I am putting off buying a mobility scooter for as long as I can. Some of my apprehension is because all of my friends laugh at overweight people who use those scooters and claim such people are lazy. I am neither of those things. But mostly, I simply don’t want to succumb to my illness and will fight to live a normal life for as long as I can. Perhaps some overweight people who rely on mobility scooters could benefit from a little motivation to not give up so easily.

    • vesta44 permalink
      August 2, 2013 12:08 pm

      Abby – So just because I’m fat and disabled, and might have been sitting there waiting for half an hour, I should still give up that mobility scooter to the old, disabled person who came in after me because you all think I’m fat and disabled because I’m lazy? That I could walk if I really wanted to? Well, I’m sorry, but if I tried to walk through the store anyway, they’d be calling a forklift to lift my fat, “lazy” ass up off the floor. You don’t know what my disabilities are, and neither do they, so sitting there in judgment on me just because I happen to be fat along with disabled makes you a fat-phobic bigot, right along with all the other judgmental douchebuckets.
      And if you think fat people go out and buy mobility scooters just because they’re lazy, you haven’t researched the cost of mobility scooters that will haul our fat, “lazy” asses around. I paid almost $4,000, out of pocket, for my scooter. Not something I did lightly, as money doesn’t grow on trees in my backyard. And Medicare/TriCare wouldn’t pay for it because I don’t need it to navigate my house, I just need it to navigate the outside world. I don’t know about you, but I don’t know very many fat people who can afford to drop that kind of money on something just because they’re “lazy” and don’t feel like exercising.
      Good for you that you’re able to do as much as you do, but don’t you dare sit in judgment on anyone else for the decisions they make in their lives about their health.

      • vesta44 permalink
        August 2, 2013 12:11 pm

        Oh, and by the way, I’m damned near 60 years old and have been DEATHFATZ since I was 23 (and I’ve only been disabled to the extent of needing a mobility scooter/walker for the last 5 years or so).

    • purple peonies permalink
      August 2, 2013 4:28 pm

      Seriously? You’d better check your thin privilege because the very fact that you’re ON a transplant list because your genes and biology allow you to maintain a socially acceptable BMI means you’ve got precisely zero wiggle room for judging ANYONE else’s medical conditions or disabilities.

      the only thing you can tell by looking at a fat person with a disability is your own level of prejudice towards that fat person. you don’t know who they are, why they’re fat, or anything about their health, so it’s YOUR problem if you think they’re too unsightly to use a public scooter. you said we shouldn’t “Give up so easily.” Try harder. You don’t know what our struggles are OR how long we’ve been struggling. And maybe my wheelchair *is* me living a “normal life” as you call it. This implication that using mobility aids is somehow “abnormal” is incredibly offensive to the entire disabled community, including those who are thin and underweight.

      when i look at people on oxygen in stores, i don’t think to myself “oh, gosh, i wish they didn’t smoke so much and put themselves in that situation. they’re kill themselves! i wish they would try a little harder to breathe normally.” …but i could, and many do. while you’re judging others, others could just as well be judging you. check yourself.

    • Mulberry permalink
      August 2, 2013 4:42 pm

      Well, isn’t it a small world – I’m ALSO on a lung transplant list, and I’d say Abby’s post reeks of attitude and entitlement. I’m also on oxygen 24/7 and can barely walk without gasping for breath after a mighty short interval.
      I take issue with one comment, namely about maintaining a healthy BMI. All I have to do regarding BMI is make sure it stays below 30. Nobody gives a shit if that’s healthiest for me, and frankly it isn’t worth my life to argue the point.
      You really have a lot of gall assuming that fat people only need a mobility scooter just because of their fat. Doubly so in vesta44’s case, since many of her health problems arose from trying to lose weight.

  18. shirley permalink
    August 6, 2013 11:25 am

    Hi there i have just read your Statement . I have been thinking about getting One i have osteo Arthritis in both ankles i am 51 years old i work Full time and 12 hour shifts i got to walk One mile to and One mile home scared of friends comments if i get One . Please help

Leave a Reply

