Skip to content

We’re All Alright —

October 3, 2012
by

Inspired by Jennifer Livingston (whom I wrote about earlier today), Ragen Chastain (aka Dances with Fat) came up with this brilliant idea to have people post videos standing up to the bullies. When she asked me to join last night, I didn’t think I’d have time, but I managed to figure out my work computer and its clunky Windows-based video editing software. But it did the trick, and this is my video about my experience with bullies and what I’ve learned over the years.

So make your own video (and actually follow Ragen’s instructions, unlike me) and email it to  ragen at danceswithfat dot org. Let’s show the world that we aren’t going to put up with the bullies and the haters any more.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Mercel permalink
    October 3, 2012 6:55 pm

    Sometimes we are our own worst enemies. 75% of Americans are fat or obese and there is only a tiny percentage in the non Fatosphere who would judge and obesity harshly so fuck them! Only 25% of the population is non fat. We are the majority and we need to start acting like it!!!

    In my experience any ridicule I have gotten has been from other fatties to which I respond, Pot Kettle Black!!! If we want to continue being treated like victims then we should continue to act like victims.

    • October 3, 2012 9:45 pm

      Mercel,
      I’ve sent an email from atchka at hotmail dot com requesting a response to confirm your identity. Please reply at your earliest convenience. Thank you.

      Peace,
      Shannon

  2. October 3, 2012 7:00 pm

    Mercel, I’ve had that happen too. Once, I was WALKING to the the store to get some milk. Not far from my house, like 10 minutes and on the way back a group of people around the same age (at the time I was in my 20’s) were on the other side of the street. One of the women was bigger than me but she was the one with the loudest voice calling me names about my weight. Now at that time I didn’t have the fortitude or maturity to speak back. I was afraid, of what? I don’t know, that they might beat me up. Silly maybe but back then I was a different person. But yeah, we need to stop beating each other up. Kind of like feminism. Band together or fall separately.

    • Mercel permalink
      October 3, 2012 7:21 pm

      My father told me that every knock is a boost. I am fat because it is my choice and I will not apologize for it.

      I don’t respond in anger. I simply say thank you. I see them as bratty kids who make themselves feel better by putting others down. Bullies look for something to exploit and they go with it.

      What I have come to believe is that not everyone can handle being fat so my advice to them is to call 1 800 Jenny and leave the rest of us alone. I learned long ago that it is not the quantity of life but the quality. I love food and eating it makes me happy and I am not going to allow the opinions of some insecure loser to tell me that my chosen lifestyle is wrong. Sure there may be times that I wish I were more mobile but all things considered I am far better off than these people who eat rabbit food and spend all day at the gym. I won’t judge them because I don’t know them but for me an abundant life style beats the Spartan one. Others may disagree but we should not judge one another.

  3. Weesa permalink
    October 3, 2012 8:11 pm

    I have to agree with Janet and Mercel. We need to stop apologizing and being defensive.

    • October 3, 2012 9:51 pm

      Weesa,
      Your email bounced back. Come back when you’ve got a real identity.

      Peace,
      Shannon

    • October 4, 2012 8:07 am

      I think I’ll going to just start calling you Sad Bastard.

      Peace,
      Shannon

  4. Hard Ruler permalink
    October 4, 2012 2:04 pm

    Atchka,

    I am curious, what is it about my posts that you find so objectionable that you saw fit to delete them?

    I looks to me and that you really don’t like it when fat people are happy and not portraying themselves as victims. Maybe the reason that you get only miniscule percentage of the over 200 million fat people participating on your forum is because most of us don’t see ourselves as victims and if you stopped the victim routine even the few people who post here would leave. All you do is bitch and wallow in self pity but when faced with reality you delete it.

    Let’s see some honesty from you. Let’s see some courage from you, Is your position so week that you cannot defend it? Is your only defense erasure?

    Face reality Shannon. 99.999999% of fat people know that the earth is round and they know that the amount of calories consumed determine weight.

    In your denial of reality you insult not only the intelligence of most fat people but you insult their lifestyle choices. Also what you do is abuse. you tell them that they barely eat and somehow mysteriously hold on to 100’s of extra pounds. Then you promote this HAES nonsense which will put fat people in grave danger. Al Roker and Star Jones did not get WLS for their looks. They got it because they were both diabetic.

    Kelly Osbourne, Aretha Franklin, Carrie Fisher, Kirstie Alley, Jordan Sparks, Ruben Studdard, Sarah Ferguson, Marie Osmond, Jack Osbourne, Sharon Osbourne Rikki Lake, Valerie Bertanelli, Lisa Lampenelli, and others all have lost weight for health reasons. You would judge these people but I would not nor would I judge them if they continued the obese lifestyle.

    Have the courage to discuss this and the honesty to acknowledge it.

    • October 4, 2012 3:07 pm

      Fat Bastard,
      I sent an email to Findiggy@aol.com, the email you registered this comment with, and it bounced back immediately. Same with your previous persona, Weesa. And Mercel never even replied to my email. And Fat&Happy Sharon is just Cut&Paste Dumbass.

      The only reason you commented on this post, in the absence of any other recent attempts, is that I mentioned your obnoxious trolling in the video posted above, which tells me that you are still obsessed with me, personally, and you watch everything I produce. I’m both flattered and creeped out.

      By the way, a detective from Fridley, MN is wanting to interrogate you about something. If you’d like me to pass along Chris Brady’s contact info, just let me know.

      Now, fuck off and find a new forum to shit on.

      Peace,
      Shannon

Leave a Reply

