Skip to content

None of your beeswax

October 11, 2012

Going to school in the 1970s, we had a phrase for when other children were becoming too nosy: “It’s none of your beeswax.”

The more I think about things, the whole “the fatz is coming, we’re all going to die!!” thing going on, the more I think, “My weight and my health (whether it’s good or poor) is really none of your beeswax.”

Of course, this thought solidified after the disastrous session with a counselor almost two weeks ago.  But there have been other things that have been contributing to this as well.

A few nights ago, I was watching TV with Conall (a rare thing for me) and a commercial came on. It was one of those “child obesity ooga booga!” scare tactic commercials. I was so surprised, I didn’t think to write down the name of the group that did this.

In the commercial, it showed a fat boy (of course he’s fat) and his day-to-day interactions. A woman who looked to be in her 70s called him into dinner and he responded off screen, “Just one more inning.” The camera cuts to him in a den (or maybe his bedroom) playing a game of baseball on the TV. In the next scene, he goes into the garage and on the wall there are rakes, but he chooses a leaf blower to go outside and clean the lawn (which is two feet deep in leaves). Then, he is in the den again when he flips opens his cell phone and makes a phone call. His elderly grandmother has to struggle to walk past the door to the den he’s in to answer the phone that started ringing when he dialed. When she answers it, it’s the boy, of course, telling her to get him a snack.

The voiceover talks about how kids are doing less and less nowadays, and are more sedentary, even when doing activities that used to be very physical (said at the time the kid chose the leaf blower, of course).

I tried to Google the commercial to link to it and discuss it more in detail, but my Google-fu is weak.  But in searching for it, I came across a blog called CalorieLab (no, I’m not linking to it and giving it more hits). The authors of the blog are very condemning of anything that is “pro-fat,” while making general statements such as: “If 2/3 of Americans are Overweight, the Other 1/3 are Evidently Not Sympathetic.”

The post I stumbled upon was about the “Habit Heroes” ride from Disney that created such a stir back in March. The author of that post does a lot to justify his bigotry (he even says, “perhaps I was merely a classic weight discriminator engaging in bigotry”) by saying, in essence, “But other people are doing this TOO!”

And that brings me back to my original statement: It’s none of your beeswax.

My weight and my health, or lack thereof, is NOBODY’S business but mine. What I eat in a day, how much I exercise, what kind of genetic issues I have, or what kind of long term issues I’ve developed from dieting two-thirds of my life, or being starved as a child, is nobody’s business but my own.

As Lindy West wrote:

Even if I did eat a bucket of pancake-flavored ice cream for breakfast, burrito ice cream for lunch, and salisbury steak ice cream for dinner (OMPH GROMPH GROMPH), I still shouldn’t have to justify my existence to the world in the way I just did.

The fat haters claim it’s about health, but when it’s pointed out, time and time again, that fat people aren’t inherently more unhealthy than skinny people, and that *gasp* the extra pounds can actually help survive certain events (like heart attacks and cancer), they try to dismiss it. After all, it’s easier to call people names and tell them they should kill themselves rather than examine their own biases.

I’m trying very hard to remember the words I used to say as a (skinny) kid when other kids would get too nosy: It’s none of your beeswax. Because what my (or anybody’s) cholesterol or resting heart rate is, what kind of  exercise regimen is engaged in, or how many times I eat ice cream a day really isn’t anybody’s business but mine.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2012 11:28 am

    If any of this War on Fat was about health, then we would be up in arms about the unhealthy behaviors and not about the assumed outcomes of those behaviors. But thin kids who eat fast food all day and play video games get a free pass in this environment, and that’s bullshit. If you want to craft a public health message, fine, but don’t single out one group and ignore the rest. Making health a priority is fine, but claiming to know the habits of all fat kids is nothing but stereotyping. Focus on encouraging healthy behaviors for all, that is society’s beeswax. 🙂

    Peace,
    Shannon

  2. vesta44 permalink
    October 11, 2012 11:51 am

    That’s the thing about this so-called “concern” about fat people’s health that really gripes my ass. If you’re really “concerned” about the health of fat people, then make sure that we have access to the same quality of health care that thinner people get, that doctors actually look past our fat for the causes of our problems and treat those causes the same way they would in a thinner person instead of telling us to lose weight and all our problems will be magically “cured”. And if you’re really concerned that all that junk food and those sugary drinks are bad, and that being sedentary isn’t a good thing, then it’s bad for everyone, not just for fat people. Stop being fucking hypocrites and actually look, logically, at what you’re saying, for a change – if this isn’t good for a fat person, then it fucking isn’t good for a thin person either and you need to MYOB and STFU. Either way, whether it’s good or not, for fat or thin people, it’s no one’s business what we do with our bodies – not what we put in them, on them, around them, through them, whatever, as bronwen says, it’s none of anyone’s beeswax.

  3. October 11, 2012 12:42 pm

    See, you’re nicer than me. At this point, unless it’s my family or someone who I have to see again, I tend to reply to concern trolling with “What fucking business is it of yours?”

    It is absolutely the only time ever that I will be a bitch and then blame my Asperger’s. XD I just do not see why I have to be nice to someone who’s being horrible to me.

  4. October 11, 2012 1:50 pm

    Talk about the Narwhal Factor! You and Ragen Chastain both used None of your beeswax references in your blogs!!! I used to say that also as a kid growing up in Queens, NY. I wonder where the term came from!

Leave a Reply

