Skip to content

This Is What Happens When I Wander Around In Public

October 26, 2012

A day in the life of someone like me is exactly as you might expect: boring, tedious, filled with meaningless chores and bound to end in some sort of defeat. Yesterday, however, provided a stark contrast to my ordinary schedule and I ended up with not one, but TWO things to write about.

Sadly, the first idea was on the border of desperation to start with so it was almost completely tossed in favor of the other. Then, I thought better of it and gave it a cameo.

For a good many years I have wandered the grounds of the National Zoo here in Washington, DC, whenever I needed an expansive  field of grass or a super-tall tree for my kids to climb on. I could easily give guided tours at this point, but opt to skulk around with whatever unfortunate soul I’ve dragged along with me for the day.

Yesterday, Shannon emailed me looking for my post and IN JEST, I offered to take pictures of the many fat animals I encountered. Of course, he loved that idea.

I give you…

The beaver.

Okay, make your jokes and then we can proceed.

This beaver is awesome. They throw him some grub and he runs off like a fur covered miser to a corner of his habitat and eats like it’s the last morsel of food on the face of the planet.

What are you looking at? I’m happy and this food is MINE.

The baby elephant.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2012 2:45 pm

    That fake animal is a bit scary!

    • October 30, 2012 10:07 pm

      That cat is nightmarish. I’m going to have horrible dreams.

      Peace,
      Shannon

    • dufmanno permalink
      October 31, 2012 12:36 pm

      That fake yet nightmare inducing “cat hissing” is one of the many weirdly out of place halloween decorations that adorn the place for “Boo At The Zoo” – because hissing lions aren’t safe for kids to play with.

  2. October 27, 2012 3:25 pm

    I soooo wish I could post a picture of my new Big Fat Cat who (m)? I just inherited from my son. This cat was so fat I literally had to pay a fat tax to fly him here from Vermont to San Francisco! He is huge and hugable and totally owns his Big Burly Self!!!! Love the Beaver btw!!!
    Warmly,
    “June”

  3. October 30, 2012 10:06 pm

    I fucking love that squirrel. I bet he would let me him.

    Peace,
    Shannon

    • dufmanno permalink
      October 31, 2012 12:38 pm

      The squirrels here are trained in martial arts and military technique. He’d have you in a head lock before you could do anything about it. Then he’d steal your soda and eat your food.

Leave a Reply

