Skip to content

Blast Hardcheese —

November 2, 2012

Trigger warning: Mega-Troll ahead. He seems harmless enough, but lashes out inexplicably with charming pet names for fatties. Plus, he’s a weight loss evangelist, so this post discusses weight loss as length. This post is not for the faint of heart.

Every evening, I try to spend some time either working my book or video editing. I don’t normally write blog posts in the evening and certainly not on the weekend, but a new commenter said some things that stuck in my craw and I want to respond because there’s an odd dynamic going on.

This is totally gratuitous and not interesting to anyone but me and the commenter, I would imagine, so feel free to ignore it.

A while back, No Celery Please wrote a great post on thin privilege, and I commented on the way people act toward fat people at the beach. “People think it’s unattractive to see a fat person in a bathing suit, so they expect us to stay home or form some sort of fatty pool club.”

Enter Emanuel, who thought he’d make a spiteful, sarcastic response:

Wow great idea…a fatty pool would be awesome…i hate to be obligated to see fat chicks whenever i go to a swim…thats unfair!! It kills my desire to have sex even though i have done nothing to the land whale.

Although English is legitimately a second language to Emanuel (so cut him some slack for awkward syntax), his contempt for fat people transcends language:

Its just pathetic. How dare you tell its a privilege that there are people more attractive than you, when you gorge yourself with food and is generally a lazy fuck, while tje attractives aew working out and eating like normal humans? I dont hate fat people, i hate deluded numb nuts that fail to realize the answer for tjeir acceptance lies withn themselves, not on others.

And if you are a fat fuck, and just dont give a shit, well, you are just normal person that happens to be overweight. What is pathetic is when u are a fat fuck, hates being one, but is so weak that wont do shit about it, and go to the net whine that life isnt fair.

So, I responded swiftly and brutally, as I am oft want to do.

Thanks for stopping by and sharing your opinion of how disgusting we are and how you hate to look at fat women when you go swimming. As to the fact that you aren’t having sex, that might have more to do with the fact that you look like a colossal tool.

Then I posted his photo because if I can expose a troll, I will. Plus, he looks like a complete tool, so it worked out well.

Emanuel returned, furious:

Well I could formulate a comeback, but whats the point? I was honestly pissed by this site intent in make fat people ok with their obsesity and I raised a serious question for you, but your answer was to publish my fb picture and call me names and told me to fuck myself…how very eloquent of you. But please, enough with the offense, just read this man..

So, he wants to explain that I totally misread his first comment. He was just asking a serious question of a weak, lazy fuck land whale and his friends.

Stumble on this site because i was searching something to keep me motivated in my weight loss. You know that obesity is directly related to inumerous diseases right? And i have being classified by a doctor as a class 3 obese person reaching a weight of 270pounds.

Hey, wait, I weigh 265pounds. Oh noes, I got the class 3 obesity too! Oh the inumerous diseases!

But seriously, what Emanuel was trying to say was that he’s one of us, guys.

What i did was to look at what was I doing with my own body, and feel ashamed for it. I know goddamn well what is to feel judged by my own weight, and how easy is to feel depressed by it (in a few days i will post my before and after pics mr. Asshole-blocker). I couldnt find clothes to wear, i couldnt fit in airplanes chair confortably, every fucking person close to me always gave me unwanted advices to weight loss and all the things i have seen in this site.

And now I’ve hurt his wittow fee fees.

Mr asshole-blocker maybe you should read more carefully my coment, I WAS SHOWING HOW RIDICULOUS YOUR FATTY POOL IDEA WAS. And thats it. But, i am explaining myself too much for a clearly over defensive and deluded person. I didnt attempt to troll or to ofeend just for the sake of it. I RELATED TO WHAT I HAVE READ HERE. I saw me on those people that find easier to question my appearance than is to go to a gym, and i have discovered that my obesity, could be fought with discipline and information.

Is it weird that I’m thinking of changing my online moniker to Mr. Asshole-Blocker? Like I’m out there defending people’s assholes from foreign invaders. “Sorry, I can’t let you in this asshole. No way, no how.”

So, it turns out that what really upset Emanuel was the name calling. And no, he’s not talking about “land whale,” “lazy fuck,” “fat fuck,” or “weak.” He’s talking about the mean things I called him.

However, i have to say i am not even mad with the name calling…it seems rather childish and desperate. I actually chuckled when you attempt to offend my sexual appeal, coz believe me, thats not a problem to me asshole-blocker. In the end of the day, i am the one who is just living a normal and enjoyable life, free from the harm of obesety, able to run and not almost die, capable of using stairs, completely aware of what my body can do, able to buy clothes in any store i choose, and the list goes on…

Hey Emanuel, what are these “stairs” you speak of? And how do I “use” them? Are they kid-friendly? Will they fit in our Sonata? And please, tell us all bout your list of things you can do? Can you open doors too? I only go to stores with automatic doors because that’s just way too much work for me. What about revolving doors? I keep trying, but I always get wedged in there and have to be call the firefighters. They know me by name, you know. Also, can you rub your tummy and pat your head at the same time? I can’t. I always run out of breath and have to lay down. One time I had to run to catch my train and I almost died, but it was because I didn’t see the train crossing the tracks. Now I’m missing three toes and my nose points left.

I’m giving Emanuel a hard time because his first comment is very difficult to interpret as anything other than angry and hateful toward fat people. And by all rights, I could delete his shit, but what intrigued me and made me hold off on booting him on his ass was his third comment, which our dreadful comments design has turned into a dreadful e.e. cummings poem.

What i did tell you is that is simply pathetic to whine “thin privilege” when the limitations that a obese person suffers originates from its bad habbits. At least in the overwhelming majority of the obesity cases. And i stand by that. Its shamefull, not the fat itself, but the weakness.

Let me ask you something, Emanuel. You came on here referring to us, some fat people you’ve never met in your life, “land whale,” “lazy fuck,” “fat fuck,” or “weak.” I’m guessing that this is the only post that you’ve ever read on on Fierce Fatties. For one thing, the woman who wrote that post has lost a remarkable amount of weight. Probably more than you. And she has managed to keep it off, but has written about how difficult it is to maintain her low weight. At one point, she shared how she had to eat a 1,600 to 1,700 calorie diet to keep her weight from creeping up. That’s just about the same amount of  calories they allowed the subjects in the Minnesota Starvation Study, and that wasn’t for the rest of their lives.

The fact is, there’s nothing you can say about weight loss that a) we haven’t heard a thousand times before, b) we haven’t tried a thousand times before and/or c) we haven’t read substantially more research on than than you. And yet, that is your sole objective:

I really wanted to motivate someone out there to experience the change i had, and it is completely accessible to anyone that dedicates himself to exercise, self control, and discipline towards an objective. But instead i saw your post and even if you have good intentions, ultimately you are making obese people that read this feel at ease and content with their current conditions. And you just cannot argue that the human body is better while suffering from obesity.

First of all, if you want to motivate someone out there, then get your own fucking blog and do it there. There are a thousand “inspiring” weight loss blogs out there. Go be one of those. And if you had read more than one post, perhaps by reading our section on Fat Health and do your research before you make assumptions about our opinions on the subject. And while you’re at it, go back reread your first comment and tell me your weird little spaz attack doesn’t come off as unnecessarily dickish. And furthermore, every blog has a comment policy. Ours is here.

It’s simple. You can challenge our assertions if you like, but don’t be an asshole about it. And I find it tends to put people of when you refer to them as “land whale,” “lazy fuck,” “fat fuck,” or “weak.” Perhaps something was lost in translation? Did you mean “graceful dolphin,” “lounging lover,” “big lover,” and “well-rested”?

And no, I cannot argue that the human body is better while suffering from obesity. Mainly because it’s too stupid an opinion to argue. Is a body better when it’s fat? Um… well… I bounce. So, I’ve got that going for me.

I’m sorry, I’ve interrupted you, Emanuel. Do go on.

But you know what. Fuck this. I have being reading it and Now i understand this site. Its like a safe haven man, so that people that are so pissed of being judged by their body shape, get toghether to pat each other in the back and so feel secure with themselves. Its like a easy route out of the constant opression people feel when they dont fit in cosmetically.

Now you’re getting it, Emanuel. We put up with enough shit from people like you every day of our life, and this is our secret clubhouse where we can lock out the dickweeds, douchebags and assholes who have nothing interesting, intelligent or worthwhile to add to the conversation. And if you don’t like the fact that we have the right to outline and enforce our own community standards, then I suggest you find a new blog that welcomes your special brand of dipshitism.

And now, Emanuel actually gets to a real question, rather than well-intentioned epithets and inspiration.

Asshole-blocker, ask yourself this, will the social acceptance of fat people, even if its universal, change the propensity for cardiovascular diesases? Will it dinish the risk for diabetes? High blood pressure? And so on? Will the end of thin privilege make fat peopl bodies more efficient? Will it give the the freedom of running and feel the wind hit strongly in their faces as they feel how much incredible their body really is? And can your movement make obese people more sexually appealing? I am chalenging your philosophy.

This question is not inherently objectionable, and I’ve written about it extensively on this very blog, which has more than a single post on it, Emanuel. It is not obesity itself that determines a person’s health, but the amount of insulin resistance, which can be exacerbated by poor diet and a sedentary lifestyle. Obesity can result from IR, but it can also result from increased stress or medication or a lifetime of yo-yo dieting. Obesity is complicated, and you running around calling people fat fucks ain’t gonna change it. And what we have been doing for the past 40 years, encourage weight loss for everyone, doesn’t work for the vast majority of people.

Emanuel says he lost weight, but how long ago were you 270 pounds? How long have you kept the weight off? Because I’m not impressed until two years after you reach your goal weight that it’s “permanent.” But almost all attempts fail within five years. You don’t have to believe it, but that’s what the research shows.

So what we recommend for people who want to get healthy, is Health at Every Size®, which recommends that rather than focus on weight loss, you attempt to improve your metabolic indicators: blood pressure, blood sugar and cholesterol. The man who discovered insulin resistance in 1988 has explained why IR is more important than obesity, which I wrote about here. And then there’s my interview with Dr. Steven Blair, which, if you’re going to do anything, Emanuel, it should be to listen to that.

And it’s because I have increased my exercise and added healthier foods to my diet that I was able to improve my metabolic numbers. And ya know what, Emanuel? I still weigh 265 pounds. But like you said, that’s my choice. I don’t need you lecturing me, and neither do our readers.

Man, you defend a flawed idea. And you spread weakness to those that already have everything they need to change their lives. I feel really sorry for those that accept your thinking as correct, and let the fire within themselves die out, all in the name of imediate comfort.

You go right ahead and pity us. But bear in mind that only one of us is spending our time lecturing strangers on how to live their lives because we think it’s inspiring. Seriously, get a hobby.

I despise weak people like you, that need lies to hide their ineptitude in changing whatever is holding them back. In fat peoples case, it is themselves.

Listen, Emanuel, I don’t need lies to hide my ineptitude. I wear it on my sleeve. But let me make one thing very clear: there ain’t nothing holding me back. I’m just as aware of what my body is capable of as you are, and I’ve somehow managed to make it 33 years without you telling me the meaning of life.

And now, I’ve spent the entire evening responding to this twit rather than working on my book. I need to learn a better way to get things unstuck from my craw.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. The Real Cie permalink
    November 2, 2012 11:54 pm

    Asshole Blocker….I’d be tempted to use that as my new handle.
    I’m glad if my fat, nearly 50 year old body disgusts the likes of Emmanuel. One great thing about being fat is that it’s a way to weed out the douchebags right off the bat. I’d definitely say that the reason he’s not getting any is because he’s blown the top right off the Douchebag O Meter.
    Too funny.

    • November 3, 2012 9:53 pm

      Fat is a great douchebag filter, indeed.

      Peace,
      Shannon

  2. Mulberry permalink
    November 3, 2012 1:09 am

    All those insults make it sound as if he is really insulting himself; perhaps that is part of his “motivation”. As a fat man or former fat man he felt weak and lazy, therefore we’re all weak and lazy. No saint like a reformed sinner, they used to say, therefore kick all the people who remind him of what he once was.
    One irony here is that fat people’s bodies really are more efficient, since our bodies store the calories that other bodies(described as having spendthrift metabolisms) just burn off.
    Of all the things that Emanuel might legitimately be ashamed of, it’s a pity that his former weight is one of them.

    • November 3, 2012 9:54 pm

      That’s an interesting perspective, Mulberry. I hadn’t considered that. He is totally projecting.

      Peace,
      Shannon

  3. vesta44 permalink
    November 3, 2012 1:57 am

    Poor Emanuel. I’m one of those “fat fuck land whales” and I’ve even managed to make it almost 59 years without him telling me the meaning of life (hey, I managed to discover that all on my own). And guess what dude? It sure as hell ain’t starving myself so I can be some kind of eye candy for you (eeewwww, just the thought of that makes me want to barf).
    So, Mr Asshat DoucheBucket Emanuel, I have a suggestion for you – instead of getting your shorts in a bunch over having to look at fat people, just turn your head and don’t look at us. You won’t hurt our feelings one little bit by ignoring us, trust me on this one.

    • November 3, 2012 9:55 pm

      There needs to be a “take back the beaches” day, where fatties just descend on beaches in bikinis. Don’t like, don’t look.

      Peace,
      Shannon

      • BBDee permalink
        November 13, 2012 2:02 pm

        LOVE this idea!!! Tell me when & where!

  4. November 3, 2012 12:16 pm

    I told him I wouldn’t fuck him with borrowed ladyparts, and I see no reason to change that opinion. I frankly don’t see any point in engaging him, as this kind of troll will never change. Until people see how breathtakingly, mindbogglingly offensive it is to try and make total strangers change themselves Because I Said So, this kind of asshole will come back again and again.

    • Mulberry permalink
      November 3, 2012 2:55 pm

      I engage them for fun, not to change them. I believe in the golden rule, and assume that he treats me as he wishes to be treated. I’m an obliging sort and I do just that.
      Now I’ll admit that too much banter of this nature becomes clutter, so it would be nice to take it to non-fat-accepting spaces instead. Instead of constantly fretting about Sanity Points, we could engage in some target practice like Regan (Dances with Fat) Chastain does on her Hate page. Does Rolls not Trolls have an active NON-Facebook page?

      • November 3, 2012 3:56 pm

        There is a Rolls Not Trolls Live Journal community, though I can’t say it’s particularly active.

      • November 3, 2012 10:01 pm

        Mulberry,
        I might do a hate page. I’ll give it some thought. There are some other features I’m toying with as well for the site. We shall see.

        Peace,
        Shannon

    • November 3, 2012 9:57 pm

      CC,
      I don’t think all trolls are hardened trolls. Some have actual human feelings beneath their hatred and animosity. They’re mimicking the behavior of their peers, but they aren’t as committed to the lifestyle, as it were. I try to keep an open mind that people can change. Ultimately, it’s their behavior that tells me that. Fat Bastard is an unrepentant douchebag, so there’s no point in engaging him, but if Emanuel is being honest about his reasons, then I think Mulberry’s projection analysis seems plausible. If he’s willing to talk without resorting to epithets and anger, then he can continue to challenge our views on health. But if he continues to be an asshole, feel free to call him. The Asshole Rule is still in effect, along with the Clear and Present Asshole Rule.

      Peace,
      Shannon

  5. lifeonfats permalink
    November 3, 2012 12:48 pm

    The poor man’s Mario Lopez is afraid of self-confident fatties. He doesn’t realize there are more of us out there!

    • November 3, 2012 9:58 pm

      I’m the poor man’s Screech. I’m not going to say Dustin Diamond because, yeesh, I do not want to go there.

      Peace,
      Shannon

  6. Kala permalink
    November 3, 2012 1:18 pm

    What are charmer!

    • Kala permalink
      November 3, 2012 1:19 pm

      I meant, “What a charmer” but I guess Emmanuel’s gift for writing inspired me overmuch.

      • November 3, 2012 9:58 pm

        You were swept up in the lyrical prose?

        Peace,
        Shannon

  7. violetyoshi permalink
    November 3, 2012 2:41 pm

    He’s not getting any because women find men who cry “WAAAHH IT’S NOT FAIR!” like a terrible two-year old.

Leave a Reply

