Skip to content

Neil and the Fat Kid

November 2, 2012

Every once in a while, the people that we idolize do something or say something that knocks them off their pedestals and reminds us that they are just regular people, rather than the pillars of perfection we’d like them to be. For instance, last week my very favorite singer, Meat Loaf, endorsed Mitt Romney and a little piece of me died. (Does he have the right to have different political views than me? Of course he does and I respect his right to endorse his candidate.)

And then, sometimes the people we love and respect remind us of why we love and respect them. Like Neil Gaiman and his support of the movie version of K.L. Going’s amazing book, Fat Kid Rules the World. When Neil speaks, people listen, and it makes me so happy that my favorite author has said, quite clearly: Don’t fuck with the fat kid.

If you haven’t seen it yet, you can check to see if there will be a screening in your town, or you can get it iTunes or Video on Demand.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. LittleBigGirl permalink
    November 2, 2012 9:37 pm

    Neil Gaiman was already my literary idol – now he’s my personal idol as well. 😀

  2. The Real Cie permalink
    November 2, 2012 11:58 pm

    Damn right–you go on with your bad self, Fat Kid! And you too, Neil Gaiman.
    I agree about Meat Loaf–he’s a personal favorite of mine too.
    A big piece of me died when I found out an actor I’d admired for years was actually nothing like the nice-guy characters he’s played and in fact is a womanizing Gropey McGroperson with a crappy attitude. Yeah, I’m pathetic. But this really depressed me!

  3. November 3, 2012 10:09 pm

    And who could forget this beautiful moment.? Neil Gaiman is a good and decent man, which is hard to come by in this world as it is. But for someone of his prestigious caliber to be so down-to-earth and vested in the success of complete strangers? It must be a British thing because JK Rowling seems that way as well. The fact that these two people exist and we get to enjoy their work makes life all the more sweeter.

    Peace,
    Shannon

Leave a Reply

