Skip to content

12 Days of Fatmas —

December 10, 2012

12 Days of Fatmas

Happy Chanukah, Merry Christmas, Festive Kwanzaa, and Delightful Festivus to all!

I’ve always loved this time of year. I love the way the days build in anticipation. I love all the little traditions, past and present, that create the continuity of time and family that eventually blur into more of a sense of the Holidays than a memory.

And now that I have three children, I love making it a magical and memorable time of year for them as well.

One of my favorite things to do is to buy presents. I know it’s shallow and materialistic, but there’s something so satisfying about researching and finding the perfect gift, then seeing that person’s reaction upon opening it. So, giving gifts is something I look forward to this time of year, and going into the season, I thought that it might be helpful to provide a gift giving guide for those who celebrate through gift-giving.

For the next 12 days, we will be sharing products of the fatties, by the fatties, for the fatties. Some are products made by Fat Activists, while others are books or movies that prominently and positively feature fatties. It’s an attempt to direct your money toward those projects that make the world a better place for people of all shapes and sizes. We’re calling it…

12 Days of Fatmas Bigun

As part of the 12 Days of Fatmas, we’re also asking our readers to help Fierce Fatties to improve.

Everybody who contributes to Fierce, Freethinking Fatties is a volunteer, including myself. This is a labor of love, bringing fresh perspectives on the issues that affect fatties on a daily basis, including Thanksgiving and Christmas. We aren’t making any money off of this endeavor, so any financial investment has to come out of our pockets. That’s not a big deal for small purchases like the URL or the hosting fees on WordPress, but it made a huge difference when I got some quotes on upgrading the site to make it more user friendly (including fixing the comment problems with the noodling).

Personally, I don’t have a couple thousand dollars to invest into this site (three kids and all that). Then I saw Golda Poretsky’s promotion requesting that her readers support Body Love Wellness by clicking through to her Amazon store. If you click the link, which takes you to Amazon’s main page, then she gets 4% to 6% of any purchase you make in the next 24 hours.

So, I decided to sign up for an Associates account for Fierce, Freethinking Fatties that will serve as a fundraiser toward our eventual site upgrade. If you would like to help us reach that goal sooner, at no cost to you, then just click the graphic below or go to tinyurl.com/FierceFatmas.

Amazon Link

Several of the products we will be recommending during the 12 Days of Fatmas will include a link directly to Amazon. If you wish to purchase that product, just click the link and you will benefit Fierce Fatties.

Thank you for considering this contribution to our site, and I hope you have a wonderful holiday season, however you celebrate.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2012 10:37 am

    We just do presents for the under-13s in my family anymore (everyone was getting too stressed trying to juggle job obligations and present hunting, and the things they need everybody tends to buy for themselves at the time they actually need them), but I’ll definitely click on the link every day. Knowing me and my book habit, there will certainly be a few amazon purchases in the very near future.

  2. JeninCanada permalink
    December 10, 2012 1:47 pm

    “Christmas is for kids” is something my inlaws say and I tend to agree, though I DO enjoy finding gifts for my sister and my husband. Yule is what I celebrate and that’s definitely for everyone; we gather in the Circle and welcome the birth of the Sun and return of the light then have a potluck dinner. Some years I’ve stayed up from sundown to sun-up to greet the Sun, or at least left a candle burning (safely) all night long. Axial tilt; it’s the reason for the season! 😉

Leave a Reply

