Skip to content

Everyone could do with a bit more fabulousness in their life

December 19, 2012

12 Days of Fatmas

Trigger warning: Product’s connotation explained as related to weight loss.

When I was asked to think about a Fatmas present of the fatties, by the fatties or for the fatties, there was never a doubt in my mind what I would choose. If you don’t already have one of these, you NEED one. If you do, everybody you know needs one. It’s pink, it’s fluffy, and it’s probably one of the best gifts you could ever give to yourself or your loved ones.

It’s the Yay! Scale.

YayYay2 Yay3

Created by the super-awesome Marilyn Wann, they look like a rather flamboyant version of an everyday set of bathroom scales. But Yay! Scales are anything but mundane. Although they start out life as run-of-the-mill bathroom scales, all the numbers are gone. You know, those numbers that used to taunt you, chill you, or just depress you. Those numbers that used to start your day, telling you how the rest of your day was going to be; reminding you that you were still not good enough and needed to try harder. Those numbers that you said you’d never let rule your life again. Well they can’t. All gone.

In their place, step on the platform and the needle will settle on HOT, or ADORABLE, SEXY, CUTE, or my favourite, FABULOUS. Now if you’ve never used a Yay! Scale, this might seem kind of cute, a nice idea, but until you’ve actually tried them, you cannot begin to imagine the astonishing life-enhancing power of this seemingly simple act.

Earlier this year, I represented HAES UK at a charity event in London, and I took a set along. One of the organisers, awesome factivist Stacy Bias, made another set, in an afternoon, sitting in the middle of her living room surrounded by rainbow-coloured fur, glitter and spare scale parts that obviously came out, but didn’t seem to go back in anywhere.

Me & Stacy w YayScales

With Stacy Bias. It was windy!

On my stand, equipped with two Yay! Scales and a big banner, I watched as people glanced over, saw the scales, and dropped their heads quickly, not making eye contact, and scurrying away before anybody could get them onto a scale. Tall, short, big and small, it was astonishing the effect a set of bathroom scales had on people — they were afraid of them! I started calling out, ‘Wait, they’re not what you think!’ and smiling broadly, beckoning people over. Some braved it. And to a man, woman and child, their entire demeanour transformed after stepping on those scales.YAY sticker

I watched a middle-aged housewife beaming as she informed her friends and family with pride, “I’m awesome!”; a police officer on duty at the event telling his colleague “I’m hot!”; two teenage girls hopping on and off and tilting their centre of gravity to see how many wonderful things they could be. Local residents passing through the park, who seemed somewhat bemused by the Big Gay 10K going on around them, nevertheless walked off beaming, sporting their ‘I’ve been Yay!ed’ badges proudly.

I was there for over six hours and didn’t want to leave, even after it turned dark and drizzly. Unlike everyone else in the stalls, I wasn’t feeling the cold at all. I had stripped down to my “Size Happy” t-shirt and was glowing inside and out. And by the end of the day, and for two days later, my cheeks literally ached. The muscles in my face were SORE. From SMILING. It was one of the funnest, happiest days of my life.

I lost count of the number of people who asked if the scales were for sale. Sadly, I only had the two sets, but I passed on the details of where they could order one of their own. And in case you think this is a present for women of a certain age, the variety of people who wanted them was astonishing. At the end of the day, Stacy’s set eventually went to a 6’2″ council employee who went and pleaded his case. He wanted them for his family. If you want one for you and yours, get them exclusively from VoluptuArt.

YayScale owner

With his spoils.

Don’t forget to order your Amazon gifts through our associate store!

Amazon Link

(This is where Angela’s official Fierce Fatties badge will go for contributing, once she’s officially a Fierce Fatty.)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. LittleBigGirl permalink
    December 19, 2012 11:26 am

    THIS IS THE MOST AWESOME THING I’VE EVER SEEN!!!!!!!!!!!! XD

    YAY!

  2. JeninCanada permalink
    December 19, 2012 11:41 am

    I was smiling so hard reading this. YAAAY!

  3. December 19, 2012 9:35 pm

    I made a DIY scale something like that, years ago – highly recommend the idea!

    http://www.dorothyhickson.com/crafts/fbr.html

Leave a Reply

