Skip to content

Grilled Cheese and Tomato Soup

March 8, 2013

Welcome to Kitsune’s Kitchen, where this food snob prepares awesome foods like pizza, Sloppy Joes, to chimichurri chicken and more! Today, I will be sharing a simple, but incredibly delicious recipe: Farmer’s Market Grilled Cheese and Fresh Tomato Soup (I swear that is the name, I didn’t make it up).

I recommend reading both recipes before starting so you know what you need and what you can do at the same time. Also, I will sometimes comment next to the ingredients because there are things I don’t have or don’t like or don’t have the money to buy ($41 for saffron threads, anyone?).

This meal is vegetarian, high in fiber, and boosts energy. It should take about 30 minutes if you can multi-task.

First, the soup!

Fresh Tomato Soup

  • 6 medium or 4 large tomatoes, 2 lbs total, cored and seeded (I used on-the-vine tomatoes and didn’t seed or core them)
  • 1.5 cups coarsely chopped red sweet peppers, 2 medium (I didn’t have red peppers, so I used orange and yellow instead)
  • 1/2 cup of a sweet onion, such as  Vidalia or Maui, chopped (I used a whole white onion. Or maybe a red onion, I forget. ^^; )
  • 1/4 cup snipped fresh basil (I didn’t have any, so I used cilantro instead)
  • 1 cup reduced-sodium vegetable broth or chicken broth (the chicken broth makes it not vegetarian, and I used this new organic line of chicken broth)
  • 2 tablespoons whipping cream (I used sour cream, heh)
  • 1 tablespoon honey (YES, HONEY!!!)

In a blender or food processor combine half of everything except the cream and honey. Cover and blend or process until smooth. Transfer to a large saucepan. Repeat with the remaining tomatoes, peppers, onion, basil, and broth. Cook over medium heat until heated through. Stir in cream and honey. Serve warm. (Makes 6 one cup servings)

Farmer’s Market Grilled Cheese

  • 2 cups fresh baby spinach
  • 2 tablespoons Dijon-style mustard (I was given jars of Grey Poupon, so I used this instead)
  • 3 tablespoons mayonnaise (I use the Kraft Olive Oil Mayo)
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced (pff, who has time to mince? Just throw those suckers in!)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt (all I have is sea salt)
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper (if you can get the ones where you grind it yourself, it makes a big difference)
  • 8 slices whole wheat bread (I use Pepperidge Farm Whole Wheat. If I could find dark German bread, I would)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil (I don’t use olive oil to cook anymore, although it is safe to use despite what some say. I now use cooking coconut oil. It doesn’t taste like coconut whatsoever, so the food doesn’t have a tropical taste to it. In fact, I accidentally burned the bread, but it didn’t matter because it tasted soooooo good.)
  • 8 slices Monterrey Jack cheese (I used Boar’s Head Monterrey Jack with Jalapeno, and I also used 3 slices instead of 2 each)
  • 1 small cucumber, thinly sliced lengthwise
  • 1 medium tomato, sliced

Quick note: If you can get your hands on a Chef’s Envy, I recommend it. It makes cutting veggies a snap and can even handle potatoes for french fries!

In a food processor or blender combine one cup of spinach, the mustard, may, garlic, salt, and pepper. Cover and process until smooth. Set aside.

Brush one side of each bread slice with oil; place bread oiled sides down on waxed paper (no wax paper for me. /sad/); top four of the bread slices with cheese; layer with cucumber, tomato, and the remaining spinach; spread the remaining four bread slices with some of the mayo mixture; place bread slices spread sides down on top of veggies.

In an extra-large skillet cook sandwiches over medium-high heat for 6-8 minutes or until bread is toasted, turning once halfway through cooking time. (Makes 4 servings)

_____________

In the end, it should look something like this! Have fun, and enjoy your meal!

Grilled Cheese and Tomato Soup

Kitsune Yokai

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2013 1:33 pm

    Wait, what’s this about people talking trash about olive oil? What’d I miss?

  2. March 8, 2013 2:06 pm

    Well there seems to be some controversy on whether it is safe or not to use olive oil as a cooking oil. Here are some links:

    http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=dailytip&dbid=261 – this one is against it and explains why.

    http://scienceornot.net/2012/09/15/is-it-safe-to-cook-with-olive-oil/ – this one explains why it is fine, with science.

    • The Real Cie permalink
      March 8, 2013 7:17 pm

      I’ve cooked with olive oil forever and never had a problem. But there is now an olive-canola oil blend, for those who may be concerned. I picked it up because it’s significantly cheaper than olive oil and the flavor is just fine.

  3. March 8, 2013 2:30 pm

    Yum! Science! And, great recipes. Since I prefer to use my hard-earned knife skills, I have a mandolin (i.e. straight blade version of a Chef’s Envy) going begging. Anybody who lives in Northern California who wants it, speak up! (And, be careful, ‘cuz those things like to eat fingertips…)

    • March 8, 2013 4:10 pm

      Tell me about it, the Chef’s Envy has a hand guard for a reason. I took off my finger one time when I was cutting up some dinner for a taco night and it didn’t hurt at all whatsoever. That’s when you know it’s bad. I couldn’t stop the bleeding and went thru like 10 bandages. At least I know it cuts meat well!

      • March 8, 2013 5:58 pm

        I’ve actually gotten to the point where I can do things more quickly with a knife (insert mental picture here of Meryl Streep with the pile of onions…), but, when I’ve used the mandolin slicer, I would sometimes hold the vegetable with a pair of tongs, and knock it past the blade with a meat mallet. Especially useful for that last inch of zucchini that was stuck in the hand guard. Kind of fun, actually, in a putting on the green kind of way…

  4. violetyoshi permalink
    March 9, 2013 12:27 pm

    Everytime I read a recipe that calls for Saffron I think, “BUT THAT COSTS MONEY!”

  5. Elizabeth permalink
    March 9, 2013 12:42 pm

    What more could one ask for? Recipes make everything better! I really want to try this tomato soup, especially if I can manage a garden this year.

Leave a Reply

