Skip to content

Re/Dress Re/Launch!

March 12, 2013

Two years ago or so, I spent two glorious days in New York City.

I took a subway for the first time. I went to Central Park and the Metropolitan Museum of Art. I saw a movie in Times Square. I slept in a hostel, in a bunkbed in a room filled with boys on vacation. And I went to Re/Dress with my friend Heather.

I’d heard about Re/Dress — a thrift store for fatties — and was so excited to check it out. I left with a bag full of clothes that I somehow had to fit into my luggage, and the joyful feeling of having spent a couple of hours in a place where I really belonged. The store was beautiful and chaotic and full of amazing people.

Last year Re/Dress closed. I live 3,000 miles away, and I was still so sad. I liked knowing that there was a little storefront in one of my favorite cities where plus-sized vintage and thrifted lovelies lived.

I’m super-excited to announce that the fabulous Rachel Kacenjar (Cuddlebunny of Cupcake and Cuddlebunny fame) has bought Re/Dress and is planning to relaunch it. She’s got a campaign going at Indiegogo.com to raise funds for an employee, stock, a brick-and-mortar store, and all the stuff that goes into owning a shop.

Thanks for reviving a store that means a lot to me, way out here on the west coast, Rachel!

Please consider supporting this project. The world needs Re/Dress.

You can help by making a donation (every dollar counts) or by getting the word out if you can’t donate right now.

One Comment leave one →
  1. JeninCanada permalink
    March 12, 2013 2:27 pm

    Excellent! Definitely sharing.

Leave a Reply

