Skip to content

Spring Fatshion Trends

March 14, 2013

Spring is just around the corner and I’ve been looking at plus-size catalogs and online retailers trying to find some new items to spruce up my closet as the weather starts to turn milder. During my window shopping, several reoccurring themes have popped up which are targeted to be trends for the upcoming season.

1. Floral everywhere

I know, I know, florals have been a staple of plus-sizes since forever, but it’s really exploded this year and moved beyond blouses, going to floral print sneakers and jeans.

Floral sneakers

Simply Be, $48.00

Floral print jeans

Roamans, $69.99 and up

2. Fringe

Proof that the 1980s rock star inspiration has not gotten stale yet, fringe has returned, from the subtle —

Fringe tank top

Alight.com, $25.00

— to the bold.

Fringe tank top

Simply Be, $55.00

3. Bright colors

Loud pops of color were around last year, but now the trend has grown to more shades and  styles which are work-friendly for business-casual offices.

Woven capris

Lane Bryant, $39.99-48.99

Classic button front cardigan

Avenue, $40.00

4. Peplum

When I think of peplum, I picture the power suits from the 80s. But now it’s crossed over into more casual fashion.

Striped peplum top

Asos Curve, $37.30

It looks like 2013 is shaping up to be a little bolder, brighter and more rebellious when it comes to big fashion. These styles aren’t going to fit everyone’s taste or budget, and that’s OK. Trends come and go and, ultimately, we know what we like and what works for us. Mainstream plus-size fashion still has a long way to go in embracing extended sizing and letting go of the bling and the bedazzle. What do you wish to see this spring and summer when it comes to clothing?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2013 10:35 am

    Crop pants with cruel shoes? I just don’t get it…

    • lifeonfats permalink
      March 14, 2013 6:31 pm

      Tell me about it! I can’t wear heels at all and secretly envy those that can. But if I want my ankles to stay unbroken, it’s just flats for me.

  2. vesta44 permalink
    March 14, 2013 1:03 pm

    I would love to see more geometric and abstract prints in tops, especially in the tee-shirt type tops. I’m tired of floral/animal prints and solid colors, I’d like a little more variety. And I would love it if they’d bring back pockets in pants instead of the no-pocket or faux-pocket look.

    • The Real Cie permalink
      March 14, 2013 2:14 pm

      I hate faux pockets! I want a real pocket. I don’t know why they think that women don’t need pockets.

    • Rubyfruit permalink
      March 14, 2013 9:05 pm

      I am with you all the way on the faux-pocket loathing. Either give me pockets or don’t, and if I know something doesn’t have a pocket (which is most “dressy” skirts), I can carry a purse or something.

      Also I think that the only thing worse than the faux-pocket is the pockets that are really super shallow.

      I guess that the assumption re: faux-pockets, is that all women carry handbags, or carry them all the time. I have a bajillion bags and even I don’t carry them all the time. I have this hypothesis that it’s a ploy to get women to buy and carry handbags more often. It’s probably on par with the government secretly being alien lizards, but it’s just a favorite hypothesis of mine.

  3. The Real Cie permalink
    March 14, 2013 2:15 pm

    These are pretty but a bit out of my price range (which is broke and broker.) I’ll probably stick with that high end designer, Wally Mart.

    • lifeonfats permalink
      March 14, 2013 6:33 pm

      I hear ya. I’m at a loss a little bit since Fashion Bug closed and thanks to my reduced paycheck, my new fatshion is bought after bills are paid and I check to see if I can budget for some new items.

  4. March 14, 2013 3:26 pm

    JCPenney has a few of these trends in their woman’s section. They do a pretty good job on selection and the prices are “fair and square”. I did not see any fringe, but there’s some funky florals.

  5. violetyoshi permalink
    March 14, 2013 4:27 pm

    I love shopping at Torrid!

    • violetyoshi permalink
      March 14, 2013 4:58 pm

      I just remembered one of my pet peeves about fatshion. The notion that the answer to, why don’t they sell female shirts in a size that fits fat women, is “Well they have mens’ shirts.” Without a clue as to why that is wrong, how it is sending the message that fat women aren’t “real women”. Oh and I don’t want to hear, “But thin women are told that too!”, no they are not. They are catered to endlessly by fashion, held up as the standard for femininity, meanwhile fat women have to buy mens’ clothing, because if you’re not thin as far as society is concerned, you are not female.

  6. Bookeater permalink
    March 17, 2013 5:56 am

    I would like to see stain-resistant, no-wrinkle shirts for women. J.C. Penney’s sells them for men, but not for women. As a stain magnet who can dirty a shirt simply by looking at a spoonful of marinara sauce from across the room, I need that sort of shirt. Personally, I like wearing men’s shirts, but why can’t there be women’s low-maintenance (yet professional-looking) shirts as well?

Leave a Reply

