Skip to content

Three Bean Chili

March 29, 2013

Welcome to Kitsune’s Kitchen, where this food snob prepares awesome foods like pizza, Sloppy Joes, chimichurri chicken and more! Today, I will be sharing a simple, but incredibly delicious recipe: Three Bean Chili!

I love this recipe and I make it almost every week. It is very simple and very fast and, surprisingly, very filling. I found it off of the bodybuilding site I  frequent. Also, I will sometimes comment next to the ingredients because there are things I don’t have or don’t like or don’t have the money to buy. I love this recipe and I hope you do too!

Three Bean Chili

In a large pot add onions, bell peppers and meat, sprinkled with garlic powder and cook until no longer pink (drain using a plate, if desired). I personally do not add the onions or bell peppers to the meat and instead add them later, raw. Next add the green chilies (or Rotel), beans, tomatoes (Rotel again), sugar and spices (except cilantro) and stir until combined. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat to a simmer for about 10 minutes. Finally, add cilantro. Serve hot, with or without a slice of Rosemary Bread or bread of your choosing. You may sprinkle veggie shreds or a light cheese on top, although it is super delicious without it. This is also excellent as leftovers, even when it is cold, but cooked. I use the leftovers as burrito filling or on their own. Makes 10 servings.

Threebeanchili

Kitsune Yokai

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2013 2:38 pm

    Re. turkey — veg heads (or anybody) could also toss in up to a cup of TVP crumbles instead. Adds great texture. Primarily commenting to span any foodies interested with a link to my album on microgreens and low-tech hydroponics. I’m having a ball. And, you could put microgreens on top of chili! See!? There is a connection. https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.157695091055163.1073741826.100004440189703&type=3

  2. queenie permalink
    March 29, 2013 3:44 pm

    You gotta try the adobo. When I make chili I always put in some adobo. Maybe a little bit of a chipotle too. Buy a can of chipotles in adobo. Use some in every chili you make. You will thank me.

  3. GLWERTH permalink
    March 31, 2013 6:03 pm

    Sounds very much like my chili. I use 1 lb meat, 1 lb of mushrooms, ground up in the food processor. Looks like meat, soaks up the flavors very nicely and adds some extra fiber as well as using up the slightly dried up mushrooms I always seem to have around!

  4. April 9, 2013 3:57 pm

    This looks delicious, and I am definitely going to try it! I have yet to make one pot of chili that tastes the same…not on purpose. Once I made one that was amazing. Once.

Leave a Reply

