Skip to content

Fan Mail

May 21, 2013

Terrific Tuesday Horizontal

Today I got the most beautiful and moving email from a fan of my blog, Fat Girl Posing. She had only just discovered Fat Acceptance when she came across my blog. Feeling nervous about seeing her online boyfriend for the first time and hating her reflection, she looked through my photos and read my posts and she says she came out better for it.

Loving every inch of herself, adoring her fat rolls, reveling in her stretch marks. She said I helped change her life. I read the email with tears in my eyes. All I’ve ever wanted was to help people the same way others in the fatosphere have helped me.

And all the hate and trolling I get just falls away when I read these stories of people finally coming to love and accept themselves, in part because of me. I’ve had photos stolen and posted up on hate sites, had photos of my family stolen and publicly mocked, been threatened, told to kill myself and been called every fat-hating name you could imagine. And it’s all worth it.

I can’t stress enough the good that people like those on this blog do. You are literally changing lives. I adore each and every one of you and I just want to say thank you for the hard work you do despite all of the bigotry and hate that you get in return. But it’s all worth it, isn’t it? To know that there are people out there who read and gain inspiration and strength from your posts.

Every Fat Acceptance activist is a hero. You’re changing people, saving lives. So congratulations to all of us. I hope I continue to get more mail like this, to know that I’m helping people. It’s the best feeling in the world.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2013 11:59 am

    And thank YOU as well! ❤ ❤ ❤

    I can't begin to articulate the pride and admiration I have for every single one of you/us who attempts to change the world through respect and fellowship for our fellow humans- no matter WHAT size they are…. Keep fighting, because it IS 'the good fight'.

  2. May 28, 2013 10:46 am

    Yes, I second that

Leave a Reply

