Skip to content

Pretty in Pink

June 14, 2013

Tuesday afternoons, I sell my candy at a local-ish farmer’s market.  Only, this past Tuesday it was so hot (over 100 degrees Fahrenheit!) I made the executive decision not to do that.  At temperatures that high, there’s a serious danger of my caramels melting.

Since I had an unexpected afternoon free, I decided to make some cupcakes.

Just a cupcake, nothing special here.

Just a cupcake, nothing special here.

It turned out pretty and tasty, so I thought I’d share what I did.

I found the recipe on Sally’s Baking Addiction, under Very Vanilla Cupcakes. I used sour cream where it called for Greek yogurt (as I didn’t have any yogurt in the house, time to make more!), and used one egg instead of two egg whites. Then I baked the cupcakes until done.

After the cupcakes were cool, I made the strawberry buttercream frosting.

Strawberry Buttercream Frosting

1 cup butter, room temperature (and yes, it MUST be real butter)
3 cups powdered sugar
2 tablespoon cream
4 tablespoons strawberry puree

Cream the butter  for six to eight minutes.  It’s very important to do this, as it’s what gives the very creamy, melt-in-your-mouth texture. Once the eight minutes are up, slowly add the powdered sugar, and beat until it’s stiff.  Add the cream and strawberry puree and beat for about three or four minutes longer.

Put into a piping bag with a large star tip, and pipe onto the cooled cupcakes.

Take one large strawberry for each frosted cupcake, and slice it thin, but not all the way through.  Fan the slices out, and stick them on top of the frosting, pushing them down a little.

Top it all off with some chocolate syrup.  I made my own syrup, because I am just a bit crazy like that, but regular chocolate syrup is good too.

It tasted as good as it looks.

It tasted as good as it looks.

Let me know what you think of it if you try it out!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Elizabeth permalink
    June 14, 2013 10:11 am

    I’d much rather have a cupcake made with sour cream and a whole egg than Greek yogurt, however lovely it is, and two egg whites. If you’re going to eat a cupcake, shouldn’t it be a rich and yummy cupcake? (I do sometimes use up egg whites making white (cup)cake.) This is just the kind of substitution I do myself and I’ll bet those cupcakes are delicious. How did you make the strawberry puree?

    • bronwenofhindscroft permalink
      June 14, 2013 2:38 pm

      The strawberry puree is the by product of my homemade strawberry syrup.

      To make strawberry syrup, take 12 cups of washed and chopped strawberries (about two 2 pound containers) and run them in batches through the blender on puree until there are no chunks left. Put them into a big pot with 7 cups sugar and either the juice of one half lemon or 1 tablespoon of the “fruit fresh” from the store. (This will make sure you have the right balance of acidity so the syrup will not go bad.) Bring the whole mess to a low boil on medium heat, stirring occasionally to keep it from burning. Once all the sugar dissolves and it starts to boil, you’ll have to start skimming the foam off. This will take about 10 to 15 minutes, but it will stop foaming.

      At that point, set up a jelly bag (very fine meshed bag) over a bowl or pot and carefully put the strawberry mess into the bag. This will separate the solids from the syrup. You can speed the process up by carefully pulling the strawberry sauce away from the sides of the bag, or you can just let it drip for a few hours or overnight. (I always use the spatula method.)

      When all the liquid is out of the puree, you will have syrup in the bowl, and puree in the bag. Put the puree into another bowl, and process both syrup and puree as you wish. I always hot bath can them in 8 ounce jars. This makes 5-6 jars of syrup and about 3 jars of puree. The puree is awesome on toast, biscuits, as a sauce for meats, in buttercream frosting for cupcakes …

      • Elizabeth permalink
        June 15, 2013 9:15 am

        Thank you so much! I would like to go to the farmers market you sell at! I’ve never seen candy at a farmers market in the U.S. — such a good idea.

      • June 15, 2013 2:40 pm

        by puree, do you mean jam? Just curious. These look delicious!!!!

        • bronwenofhindscroft permalink
          June 15, 2013 3:21 pm

          No, it’s more of a preserve. Jam doesn’t have enough strawberries in it for it to work.

  2. June 14, 2013 1:01 pm

    That looks sooooo Yummy!! 😀

Leave a Reply

