Skip to content

Introducing myself

August 16, 2013

Exercise

This week we introduce two new blogging candidates. First up is Casey.

Hey Fiercely, Fabulous, Freethinking Fatties. My name is Casey and I’m a doctoral student who studies embodiment and physical activity at a university in North Carolina. I’m passionate about fun, physical activity for people from all walks of life, body sizes, dis/abilities, and experiences. My physical activity repertoire over the years has included triathlons, endurance cycling, powerlifting, CrossFit, fire spinning, and belly dancing. Here’s my first dance solo:

Fire Spinning

These are some badass skills right here.

I started blogging because of a spinal injury that eventually got bad enough that I started using various adaptive devices to get around, including a wheelchair for bad pain or balance days. After having a spine fusion surgery in January of this year, I’ve been trying to figure out my place in the world of academe with this fat, gimpy body. At the same time, I’m trying to figure out if I can successfully get back to the physical things I used to enjoy (specifically belly dance, racing, and powerlifting).

Other than that, I’m an avid geek who plays all sorts of games from tabletop role playing games (like D&D and Shadowrun) to video games to board games to LARPing (live action role playing). I enjoy cosplay and costuming of all sorts (although my sewing skills are minimal). I love sci fi and fantasy books, games, TV shows, and movies, and my level of geekiness has led me to joining a fan club called The Royal Manticoran Navy (the “Official Honor Harrington Fan Association”).

Other than that, I have a fantastic partner (he was my first game master when I first started playing tabletop role playing games) and two delightful cat-children, Serenity and Bela. I’m originally from Minnesota, so I can be found complaining about the heat here in the southern U.S. pretty frequently, or giggling when the locals complain about the winters here.

I’m a pretty open book, so feel free to ask me anything!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2013 11:25 am

    I personally can’t offer enough praise for yoga as relief for chronic pain/my stiff spine…
    (Love your video BTW – I keep on telling myself one of these years I’ll find the time to dance again, as I did in those carefree college days…

  2. August 16, 2013 8:04 pm

    Lovely! Just lovely!

  3. Kerasi permalink
    August 16, 2013 9:00 pm

    I’m from Minnesota, and I’ve been living in GA (although I’m moving back in two weeks, yay!) and I complain about the heat and giggle about the winters, too! I hope you get back to the activities you love. Hopefully your body just needs some time to heal and you’ll be back! Welcome to our family!

  4. Annie permalink
    August 16, 2013 10:56 pm

    Just spent my morning here in Sydney reading through your blog…what an inspiring story you have and one that is bound to encourage others with chronic pain to develop self advocacy and ways to find joy in their lives. Hope to see you here more!!!

Leave a Reply

