Skip to content

Freedom from Pain

August 30, 2013

Fabulous Friday

The last week has been a rough one here in JeninCanada-Land, thanks to my pesky gallbladder. Last Thursday night it started acting up and it didn’t really stop until I got the darn thing out on Monday. Thursday night, Friday night (is 3:30am night or morning?), Saturday afternoon and evening (until I went down to the hospital, got a blood test, saw a doctor and four hours later got home), and was back Sunday afternoon in even worse pain for more of the same. By that time I couldn’t even eat toast or rice without suffering serious pain an hour later. This visit to the hospital, however, I packed a small overnight bag and was wheeled into the emergency department thanks to my hubby and a convenient wheelchair that looked more like a shopping cart. Before I left home, I swore I wasn’t leaving the hospital until it was without the organ causing me so much agony, and I made good on that promise.

There’s nothing like unexpected, or at least unexpectedly early, surgery to put life into perspective! Despite having two C-sections before, this was the first time I’d be under sedation before going under the knife, and I was nervous. Sunday night was the last time I saw Ryan and the kids before my surgery on Monday afternoon, There were a lot of hugs and a lot of I love yous and I even considered writing a note and leaving it on my computer in case something went horribly wrong (surgery and I don’t get along too well), but I decided against it. Why invite trouble? The surgery went well and the MRI the next day found no lasting damage or escaped gallstones, so I got to go home that night. Aside from being sore around my new holes and being easily tired, recovery has been going well.

To that end, I want to spend a moment and count my blessings and say thanks. I’m grateful to all the nurses who made my stay comfortable and even enjoyable; for the people who made my meals, which were delicious; and to Dr R, who actually performed my surgery. She was funny and kind and those two things are never a bad combination. I’m so thankful to Ryan for coming home from work early on Saturday and sticking by me at the hospital for as long as he could on Sunday, and for taking my pain and fears seriously, for keeping up with the housework while I was gone, and wrangling the kids. He is my best friend forever. I’m grateful to our medical system here in British Columbia that says the Victoria General Hospital can bill the province instead of me for room and board for two days and two nights, several blood tests, a cat scan, an MRI and, of course, the surgery itself. I will not see a single bill from my stay and that’s the way it should be. I only wish everyone had the same healthcare we did. I send out a big thanks to my friend Jen, who came and visited me Monday night after my surgery and brought me a muffin to celebrate. Finally, thanks to Char, our neighbour down the hall, who watched the kids for an hour and some while Ry and I were at the hospital Sunday trying to get me admitted. The darling even did some dishes while she was here so Ryan would have clean bottles for Kat to drink from.

Now that my gallbladder is gone, I can eat what I want again and not worry about how many grams of fat something has. It’s a terrible feeling, being afraid to eat, and I’m glad that I only experienced it for a couple of days. That was long enough! Now I get to learn to negotiate what my body without a gallbladder can do, and can’t. I made hamburgers last night in triumph and it was glorious! What are you especially thankful for lately? Who’s made a special difference in your life? Share the love, folks, and TGIF.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Nof permalink
    August 30, 2013 10:37 am

    I’m glad you came through unscathed!

    • JeninCanada permalink
      August 30, 2013 2:33 pm

      Me too. I was worried when they ordered the MRI for the next day. If they’d found gallstones roaming around it would have meant a longer stay and longer recovery. >_<

  2. Duckie permalink
    August 30, 2013 12:34 pm

    I’m thankful for thankfulness. It makes a huge difference in my quality of life! I’m thankful to my husband, who taught me that happiness is an active daily practice (including thankfulness and observation of beauty) and not the absence of pain and annoyance.

    • JeninCanada permalink
      August 30, 2013 2:33 pm

      Yes, finding the joy and beauty every day is something we have to learn to do, and practise or we lose it. The absence of pain doesn’t hinder that effort though!

  3. August 30, 2013 10:13 pm

    Very, very glad to hear things are improving for you. I’ve come up close and personal with chronic pain lately and it is debilitating!

  4. JennyRose permalink
    August 31, 2013 5:05 pm

    I am glad you are feeling better. It sounds like your problem is getting smaller and smaller in your rear view mirror. My MIL had the surgery and it was like the whole thing never happened. She had no adverse effects to living without a gallbladder. Hope your experience is just as good.

  5. September 1, 2013 3:31 pm

    Glad you are feeling better!

Leave a Reply

