Skip to content

Honey, you know I support you…

October 28, 2013

My Boring-Ass LifeDickweed

Today, as I finally finished collecting the elements I need for my cosplay costume for a scifi convention (or con) that my husband Conall and I are going to soon, Conall said to me, “Honey, you know I support your desire to cosplay, right?”

“Yes.  Why?”

“I don’t want you to think I don’t support you, but —”

I interrupted him at that point. “But you are afraid that I’m either going to be called a ‘fake geek girl’ OR somebody’s going to start into me about how I shouldn’t be cosplaying with as fat as I am. Right?”

“Well.  Yes.”

It’s a conversation I had with a friend a couple weeks ago, when she heard who I was cosplaying as.

“Um… I don’t know how to say this, but you might need to grow six inches taller.”

“You mean lose 100 pounds.”

“Well…  I just don’t want you to be hurt.”

Lara Croft, picture found at http://13theglueats.deviantart.com/art/Tomb-Raider-Lara-Croft-18-193685296

Lara Croft.

This is who I’m cosplaying as. I already had the boots, the black close-fitting pants, and the black t-shirt (which I still need to alter to be close fitting). I found a backpack purse (because many pictures of the video game character shows her wearing a small backpack to carry things with) at a thrift store. And today I got a right-sided tactical holster (the ones with the thigh straps), and the fingerless gloves.  I can’t find the left-handed holster (regular or tactical) for anything in my town, so I’ll have to go without it.

Now, of course, the one thing I don’t have to match that picture is the body.

And that’s where my friends and my husband are concerned.

Anytime you see a fat person doing cosplay, they are always ridiculed. Google “Fat Cosplay” and the results show more ridiculing the person — men or women, but mostly the women — for daring to engage in cosplay than anything.

A post called “Unwise Cosplay Ideas for ‘Fat’ People” gave the following advice:

Since it’s a must to respect the original appearance, a wise cosplayers always takes his/her complexion and body shape into consideration while choosing the role, because he/she will only look great while impersonating a role whose figure is similar with his/her own silhouette.

The author then tried to make the fat person think by asking, “But when the figure obviously becomes overweight, is it still necessary to cosplay a slim anime role?”

In a post entitled “Cons and Exercise” on Geeks Anonymous from 2010, the writer states, “I mean lets face it, NO ONE wants to see a fat Superman or a Fat Princess Leia!” and then posts a picture of an overweight woman cosplaying Slave Princess Leia.

I’ve seen all the outright hatred in the geek world about “fake geek girls.” If a girl woman is at a con, especially if she’s cosplaying, it seems like many men decry her “geek cred.” Seriously? I mean, really. If you aren’t a geek, why would you go to a geek con? And then there’s the sexism that’s added. After all, Slave Princess Leia is sexy, and nobody thinks a fat woman is sexy! Hide your body, you ugly git!

They (the people calling others out) seem to feel that they have the ability to tell other people how to enjoy their lives.  Because if I, a deathfatz woman, wants to dress like Lara Croft, if that gives me pleasure to do so, then what right does anybody have to tell me I can’t do it?

What? I’m not sexy enough for you? Tough. I don’t look like Angelina Jolie? And? Most women DON’T look like her.

What’s really sad is that I already have a plan on how to deal with this. I have some comebacks ready, so I don’t have an issue with staircase wit. I know a bunch of people who will be there who I can ask for support from if they see me being harassed. And if all else fails, I will go to security and make a formal complaint if I’m harassed and the harasser doesn’t stop.

I just wish I didn’t have to have all these options in place.

I’m planning on having fun at the con. I have Necomimi ears I will be wearing on Friday and Sunday of the Con. And I’m planning on rocking the sexy Lara Croft look all day Saturday. And nobody’s going to change that.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2013 10:03 am

    I hope we get to see photos of you in costume! 🙂

    • October 28, 2013 11:55 am

      I was just about to say the same!

      • bronwenofhindscroft permalink
        October 30, 2013 5:34 pm

        I will have a follow up post soon!

  2. lifeonfats permalink
    October 28, 2013 4:42 pm

    Some people get their knickers in a twist even when they see fat people cosplaying characters that really have no defined body shape. A picture of a a woman dressed as one of the Weeping Angels from Doctor Who on a Facebook page got some nasty comments, from all men, about her weight. Luckily, they were all told off. I mean, come on, you’re wearing a draped gray gown, gray wings, and you either wear a mask or paint your face gray. Apparently if it’s not Jabba The Hutt to these fools, we can’t do anything.

    I hope you have a great time at your con!

  3. Dizzyd permalink
    October 28, 2013 5:21 pm

    I already dealt with this on Fat Heffalump’s site, but it seems as though a lot of self-proclaimed ‘fanboys’ have this ‘He-men Women Hater’s Club’ (ref. to an episode of the Our Gang/Little Rascals shorts) mentality, i.e. ‘No Girls Allowed!’ I’m not sure there’s anything you can really do in this instance except: go out and ROCK YOUR BAD SELF!!! The boys will just have to learn to deal with sharing with the girls.

  4. October 28, 2013 6:41 pm

    “a wise cosplayers always takes his/her complexion and body shape into consideration”
    Notice how they aren’t only trying to keep fat people from cosplaying (’cause really how many cool fat characters are there …not many at all) but they are also trying to keep black people from cosplaying characters that aren’t black (and again, the choices are SEVERELY limited). That’s some body shaming and racist bullshit right there.

  5. October 28, 2013 8:02 pm

    I’m a fat female cosplayer as well….it can be rough. Some day I’m hoping to cosplay Powergirl and I know I’m going to get hell for it.

    As for the “fake geek girl” crap, I think the Double Clicks say it best in their music video “Nothing to Prove

    • bronwenofhindscroft permalink
      October 30, 2013 5:36 pm

      I want to be Buttercup! However, as much as I’ve been (very slowly) learning how to sew, I’m not sure I could sew an appropriate costume.

  6. gingeroid permalink
    October 28, 2013 10:22 pm

    I have no idea what your budget is but there are many left-handed drop leg holsters online. If you’re not planning on keeping a real gun in there, you should search for ones designed to hold Airsoft pistols as they’ll be cheaper. For instance this one is $20.

Leave a Reply

