Skip to content

Only One Life

October 29, 2013

Fat HealthDickweedFat PoliticsMy Boring-Ass Life

Photo by Travis McKeithan

I’m an atheist. Do you know what that means? It means that I believe that we only have one life. One beautiful, wonderful, fleeting life. And it also means that we’d sure as hell make the best of the one we’ve got because there are no second chances.

It amazes me how other people think that I should use this one life to be miserable, to hate myself, to hurt myself, for some arbitrary beauty standard. Or, if being fat actually will take years of my life, as the concern trolls suggest, that i should spend my life miserable for a few extra measly years. I’m telling you, I’d much rather die young and happy than old and miserable.

I guess, if you’re religious, you believe there’s some Happily Ever After waiting for you even if you hate the life you have now. But personally, I think that’s a waste of a good life. You shouldn’t spend your time hoping for what will happen after you die when you could be making the most of your life now.

Now, that doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t be serious about some things. As frustrating and exhausting as it is, and as much as it probably diminishes my happiness in life, I’ll continue to fight for the rights of others. I firmly believe that ignorance is bliss, but I can’t go back to being ignorant of people’s plight.

BUT, that doesn’t mean I can’t make the most of this life.

I will love myself.

I will love my body.

I will love my family.

I will wear what I want.

I will be comfortable.

I will be happy.

And there’s nothing jerks can say to change that.

I’ve received all manner of nasty messages from people who seek to destroy my happiness, but they can’t win. It’s too late, I’m already comfortable with who I am. I only have this life. I won’t spend it unhappy.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2013 12:58 pm

    Even as someone who believes in an afterlife, I still feel that I should enjoy this life. What use is being miserable and unhappy? I don’t believe that’s what I’m supposed to do with this life. How does that accomplish anything? Instead, I believe that I’m supposed to make the most of this life I’ve been given. Period. Thanks for this post and this reminder to rise above the concern trolls and others who seek to bring us down. 🙂

  2. shelly permalink
    October 29, 2013 12:59 pm

    Thank you! I am an atheist too and I concur with everything you say. Why waste what precious time we have living with misery. I am who I am and either people love me for that or they don’t, but I am not going to live my life trying to appease those who don’t love me for me.

  3. October 29, 2013 2:15 pm

    When my dad had to write a eulogy for his father’s funeral, he wanted people to learn from the kind of live my Grandpa led. He wasn’t perfect, he knew that and didn’t care. He didn’t care if some people didn’t like him (you either loved him or tolerated him, Grandma did both lol). He worked very hard but he also spent time unwinding and having fun. He never stopped being fascinated with the word around him, he always wanted to learn more, see more, and do more. He tried to be a good dad, husband, brother and friend. He made the most of what he was given. I try to do the same.

  4. October 29, 2013 3:22 pm

    Just for the record, not all people who engage in religious activity believe in an afterlife. Some of us believe that this one is what we get, and that in our limited time, it is up to us live as fully as we can, doing as little harm as possible.

  5. Trates permalink
    October 29, 2013 4:27 pm

    A couple of things. Many of us are fine with living the religious life.

    And if you are indeed right and there is nothing after we die…then I won’t be around to care if indeed it was wasted.

    • November 4, 2013 11:44 am

      I didn’t see hikolaya at any point proclaiming that atheism was/is a universal stance on this board. So why the need to defend religion when it wasn’t even attacked here?

  6. October 30, 2013 2:57 am

    Beautifully, eloquently said. Thank you.

  7. October 30, 2013 3:37 pm

    Hell to the yes, my friend.

    As a pagan, I believe that there is something after this life but that each person is put on this planet for a reason. Just like in college, you sign up for (or are put into) a class and you sit in for the lectures, take tests, do assignments, and learn something. I feel life is like this, except only our souls/spirits take the lesson and move on to the next class.

    IOW, we aren’t gonna keep our egos from one life to the next. I am not going to remember this life when I am reborn. That being said, I have something to do on this Earth as a fat woman, and I better as hell get it done. I do not have time to dick around anymore with body hate or self loathing. Shit needs to be done.

    So thank you, and I am going to share this as far as I can. ❤

  8. November 4, 2013 11:47 am

    Nicely said.

    I do sometimes think that I’ve fallen into diet mentality so readily in the past because its cliches echo the worst aspects of religious thinking in this country. The whole idea of bodily Puritanism… suffering on this physical plane in hopes of earning a big reward at some undefined point in the far future… pretending at humility while judging others for not submitting to the same authority oneself has chosen, and so on.

Leave a Reply

