Skip to content

Honey, you know I support you … Part Two

October 31, 2013

My Boring-Ass LifeFat Fashion

I wrote Part One a while back, before I went to the con, but as publication schedules go, the “I’m going and I don’t care what anybody says” post and the “I went and I have a couple of pictures!” post are coming out on the same week.

To reprise:  I decided to cosplay Lara Croft at my local sci fi convention. My husband and friends were a little worried that somebody would be rude. I was determined to do this anyway.

Okay, now that I’ve caught everybody up…

After we checked in and received the program book, I looked in it for the con’s rules about harassment. This con has a very well-written definition of what constitutes harassment (any unwanted attention, and that includes people taking pictures of others without their consent). It also has a very well-written guide on what to do when one is being harassed, as well as the steps to take to report harassment. The consequences (which includes steps from the harasser being told to leave the harassee alone all the way up to getting hotel security and/or police involved, if necessary) are also described. In all, I was very happy to see the comprehensive rules on harassment.

I showed that section to Conall to relieve his mind.

Saturday, I was up early. I was nervous and excited, all at once. I dressed, and Conall and I went down to the hotel restaurant for breakfast.

Me, in the hotel room, before breakfast

Me, in the hotel room, before breakfast. Taken on my cell phone and so is a bit blurry. But then, before some sort of caffeine, I’m usually kind of blurry anyway.

It was as we were walking down to breakfast I found a problem with the holster — it clipped on tightly, but then the thigh strap above the knee loosened up as I walked, and felt like it was trying to fall off. Grrr. Costume malfunctions! So, after breakfast we went back up to the room, and I fixed the holster so it wouldn’t do that as much. I am a lace maker, and so always go places with scissors and thread, and was able to make the holster work. And if needle, thread, and scissors didn’t make it work, well, I never leave home without duck tape!

On the Mezzanine

On the Mezzanine

As you can see, the thigh strap is a little wonky, but not as bad as it had been.

I was recognized as Lara Croft a few times during the day, so my worries of nobody getting who I was trying for were for nothing. And I found I really like the backpack purse. It held everything! My Kindle, the candy I was having friend beta test for me (err, why yes, doesn’t everybody get their friends to beta test a new product at a sci fi con?), my wallet with ID, my camera, and even purchases from the vendors room. I’m seriously going to look into using that thing more often. Because, yeah, that can carry a LOT of items!

But I digress.

Not one person harassed me all day. Matter of fact, many people were complimentary to me. And it was awesome that people who didn’t know me knew that I was Lara Croft.

Next year, I want to be Buttercup (from the Power Puff Girls). Or maybe a character from The Desert Spear, Book Two of The Demon Cycle Series by Peter V. Brett. Or maybe…

Voguing for the camera

Voguing for the camera

My friend told me to pose. So, me, being the silly person I am, decided to go all Madonna. Yeah, I know. That’s not canon!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. vesta44 permalink
    October 31, 2013 11:54 am

    Sounds like you had a great time. I’m glad you weren’t harassed, and that the con had a great policy in place to address that issue. Seems to me that if more cons had policies like that in place and posted them prominently in their programs, there would be less harassment and more enjoyment of cons happening. Not that I know what the policies are about harassment at any con, having never been to one. . . .

    • bronwenofhindscroft permalink
      October 31, 2013 12:13 pm

      There are more and more Cons which have a comprehensive harassment policy now. Many authors have gone on record and stated they would never lend their name (by either showing up at or being a guest at) any Con that does not have one.

      When the subject of harassment first came up, it was originally met with incredulity. “Boys will be boys” and “what do you expect from geeks” was the way a lot of people responded. But the tide started to turn. Women who were being harassed demanded a way to address the issue. They demanded to be able to go to Cons and be safe.

      A few high profile cases which included stalking behavior and alleged rape (in one instance I know of), social media exposure of the problem, and many people, men as well as women, saying they would never go to x Con again if they didn’t get a harassment policy that they would be following in place, has turned the tide.

      I honestly don’t know how long this Con has had a harassment policy. I’ve never needed to look if they had one before now. And I’ve never heard of issues coming from this Con.

      But I was really glad to see such a comprehensive policy already in place when I arrived.

  2. Twistie permalink
    October 31, 2013 12:05 pm

    What Vesta said in re: the anti-harassment policy!

    BTW, what kind of lace do you make? I toss bobbins, myself.

    • bronwenofhindscroft permalink
      October 31, 2013 12:15 pm

      I do medieval needle lace techniques mostly — Reticello, Punto-in-Aria, Amelia Ars. That kind of thing.

      I look at bobbins and become hopelessly confused. And am envious of those who can make such beautiful lace by twisting bits of string together! 🙂

      • Twistie permalink
        October 31, 2013 12:30 pm

        Ah, but there’s a trick to it: no matter how many bobbins and threads you have on your pillow, you’re only ever focusing on four threads, and there are only two movements to make most of the magic happen.

        If we’re ever in the same place at the same time, I’d be happy to give you a quick tutorial.

        I would try the needle laces, but I was always hopeless at embroidery, etc. Somehow little sticks work for me in a way needles don’t.

    • Theresa permalink
      October 31, 2013 12:44 pm

      When you say “tossing bobbins” is that another way to say tatting?

      • bronwenofhindscroft permalink
        October 31, 2013 12:48 pm

        I am not Twisty, but “tossing bobbins” refers to bobbin lace, a lace made with the thread on bobbins, twisting around each other and pins on a pillow to make the pretty lacy designs. Tatting is a different creature, made with either a shuttle or long needle, and made with hitches and half hitches.

        This butterfly is an example of bobbin lace: http://homepage.swissonline.ch/cindymeister/Btrfly.jpg

        This butterfly is an example of tatted lace:

      • Twistie permalink
        October 31, 2013 1:39 pm

        No, tatting is done with a shuttle and a single thread. I do bobbin lace, which is lots of threads held by little sticks called bobbins. Both are awesome, but I only do one of them.

  3. October 31, 2013 12:26 pm

    AWESOME COSTUME! You rocked it, and I’m so glad you had fun. I’m tickled to hear that people knew who you were, too. I consider my request to see photos fulfilled. 🙂

    • bronwenofhindscroft permalink
      October 31, 2013 12:36 pm

      Thanks! 🙂

  4. October 31, 2013 12:33 pm

    Awesome! What con did you go to (if you don’t mind)? I usually do CONvergence in Minnesota and GenCon in Indiana, and sometimes a local-to-me con in North Carolina

    • bronwenofhindscroft permalink
      October 31, 2013 12:35 pm

      Local to you Con in NC? StellarCon by any chance? (StellarCon was my first ever Con experience, and Conall and I went there yearly until we moved to CO in 2005.)

      This Con was Mile Hi Con in Denver. It’s always been an awesome Con, whenever we’ve gone to it.

      • October 31, 2013 12:49 pm

        I’ve never made it to StellarCon unfortunately….usually WhatTheHellCon or ConCarolinas. MACE is always the same weekend as a scholarly conference I go to. I can’t go to GenCon this year, so I’m thinking about DragonCon in Atlanta (maybe…we’ll see with money).

        I’m really hoping to make it to ConCarolinas for 2014 because George RR Martin is a Guest of Honor this year 🙂

  5. Theresa permalink
    October 31, 2013 12:45 pm

    Loved the costume, and I’m delighted that you had a good time. I’ve never considered cosplay before but perhaps one of these days…

  6. October 31, 2013 4:15 pm

    So good that you could have such a gret time! That Lara Croft costume was really on the spot.

  7. Sarahbeth permalink
    November 1, 2013 6:23 pm

    I recently did my very first cosplay
    (as a “They Live” style alien). I was having serious reservations about going through with it until I read your post. I wound up having a blast! Thank you for the much needed shot of confidence. I’m glad to hear that you had a good experience as well.

Leave a Reply

