Skip to content

Plus-Size Halloween Costume Review

October 31, 2013

Fat FashionMy Boring-Ass Life

Last Saturday night, I went to a Halloween dance called “The Monster Ball.” It was a fundraiser to provide Christmas lights and decorations for my town. Costumes were optional, but I decided to dress up this year since quite a few people who attend do wear costumes. But when you’re deathfat, the options for costumes, especially ones above size 3X,  are pretty scarce unless you have sewing ability, of which I have zilch.

So I had to do some serious thinking about what to dress up as and I ultimately decided to be a 50s bobby soxer since I thought finding a plus-size poodle skirt wouldn’t be that difficult opposed to other outfits, and it would not only be comfortable, but cute. Being a sexy “whatever” isn’t my thing. I’m not downing the ladies who want to wear something that shows off the curves, but when I go to a Halloween dance, I actually dance and I need something that’s easy to move around in.

After figuring out my costume budget and searching some websites, I found an online retailer called The 50’s Hip Hop Shop, which is also located on Etsy. They are seamstresses from Utah who sew poodle skirts by hand and they make sizes in 3X/4X. Poodle skirts are elastic waist, so I figured I’d have no problem fitting into one.

The skirts came in a variety of colors, but I decided on a black skirt with a hot pink poodle since I had a short-sleeved black polo shirt I was planning to pair with it. And the website was offering poodle skirt kits in different price ranges. The more expensive kits sold the poodle skirt, poodle polo shirt and all the required accessories (scarf, cat eye glasses, white poodle polo shirt, cinch belt, saddle shoes and crinoline slip). I decided to order the four-piece outfit, which consisted of the skirt, scarf, glasses, and socks, for $43.99. I also bought the cinch belt in 3X/4X, which was on clearance for $1.98, luckily, and the slip for $39.99. For under $100, I had a costume and I stayed within my budget.

The waist size on the poodle skirt in a 3X/4X is 42-52 and the length 24 inches. The waist size on the slip was 38-52, which is pretty generous. I got all the items in time for my dance and the skirt and slip fit perfectly. The skirt was made of felt and was good quality. The socks also fit, which was a nice surprise considering my shoe size is a 12 WW to a 13 W and the socks fit up to a size 10 shoe.

But the most important part… how did this deathfatty look? Pretty darn good I’d say!

Bree's Halloween Costume

Ready to rock around the clock!

I’m also wearing a wig, borrowed from my mom, and a black rhinestone-studded headband, which you can’t see that well. I also added pink poodle earrings and a stretchy bracelet with a record charm I bought at Spirit Halloween. The white sneakers I found at Lane Bryant and, even better, they were on sale!

Here’s a close-up pic of me where you can see the wig and cat eye glasses more clearly:

Selfie

Hello gorgeous!

Although I got a lot of compliments on my costume, sadly the judges weren’t feeling the 50s spirit that night, so I came home empty-handed. But I had a great time, did a lot of dancing and we probably raised a few thousand dollars to light up the city this December.

I would definitely recommend The 50’s Hip Hop Shop to fat ladies looking for a Halloween costume or if they need something for a 50s-themed event. The skirt fit nicely and there was some extra room in the waist, so a woman who weighs 400 lbs., or a little over, can fit into it. I’m 5’9″ and hover around 360-370 lbs. The slip was true to size, but again, I think if you’re on the verge of a 4X/5X, it will fit you. They also have a Facebook page where they encourage you to post pictures of yourself in their outfits. I did, and thanked them for “thinking of the big girls.” They replied back and said I looked fabulous.

So whatever your plans are for Halloween, I hope you have a great holiday and happy hauntings!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2013 12:30 pm

    Love the costume! 🙂

  2. Theresa permalink
    October 31, 2013 12:49 pm

    You look awesome!

  3. October 31, 2013 1:45 pm

    Adorable!

  4. October 31, 2013 3:53 pm

    Lovely! So lucky to have found those talented ladies!

  5. Len permalink
    October 31, 2013 11:05 pm

    Oh wow, you look fabulous!

  6. Lauren C. :) permalink
    November 1, 2013 6:35 am

    You look GREAT! Those judges were blind! Thank you so much for the inspiration & constant positive message.

Leave a Reply

