Skip to content

Mixed Signals

November 13, 2013

Weight LossFat HealthFat FashionMy Boring-Ass LifeDiet Talk

I go to a local community college and I’m getting my degree(s) in American Sign Language (and a general Associates of Arts, but we aren’t going to talk about that). There are five campuses in the county I live in and the majority of my ASL classes are downtown. However, I take non-ASL classes at the campus closer to home (which isn’t downtown).

I tell you this to explain this picture:

This, my friends, is something that the downtown campus does all the time. Certain clubs are allowed to post sheets of paper on the walls so that the clubs can gauge student opinions and receive feedback. This particular one is a call-out for opinions on what students want to see at the Fashion Show that the Career Center is hosting for career fashion. On this paper, there are about 30 different responses and numerous “dittos” and “hell yeahs” and “+3” marks. Some of the remarks call for men (one asks for men with beards!), some call for no nudes (I have no idea).

But the reason this is so interesting, and why it is here on this blog, is because a third of this poster calls for plus-sized people — both women and men. And of the numerous marks of dittos and hell yeahs, the majority applaud the calls for plus-sized people.

My friends, THIS is progress. This is two steps forward. This is the sprout that is my generation growing up during the Fat Acceptance movement. It is small, but it is there.

But if that is two steps forward, this is one step back:

This is a poster about the “obesity epidemic” that graces one of the major buildings on the campus closest to my house. Probably a decade old, this poster is the epitome of propaganda. From “Measuring Overweight And Obesity” to “The Dangers Of Being Overweight Or Obese,” this poster has it all. It isn’t in the Health Department, like you would expect, but rather in the Literature, Math, and Computers Building.

If I dare say, it is lucky that no one pays attention to this monster. However, the very fact that it is still there is a daily reminder of the attitudes people still have about people with my body type. I think I will petition the school for its removal. What do you think?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. JeninCanada permalink
    November 13, 2013 10:37 am

    Petition for it’s removal with a well-written refutation of all the inaccurate or flat out wrong on it and you can’t lose. 🙂 Yay for the fashion show!

  2. November 20, 2013 3:54 pm

    I definitely think it’s gotta go!

  3. November 22, 2013 10:32 am

    In the back of Linda Bacon’s Health At Every Size, there are several collections of talking points refuting traditional attitudes about “The Obesity Epidemic.” Somebody with a knack for graphics could probably whip up a good substitute poster or handbill for you.

Leave a Reply

