Skip to content

Oh PETA, You’ve Done it Again

December 10, 2013

Weight LossFat PoliticsFat HealthFat NewsDickweedDiet Talk

Well, People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA) has done it again. If you haven’t heard yet (and I think you probably have), there’s been quite the kerfuffle over Plan B (the morning after pill). Basically, it doesn’t work for a large number of woman. More precisely it doesn’t work on women over 165lbs and, in the US at least, that means half of all women.

With the US refusing to change the labeling to warn women about this issue, well, there’s a whole lot to be pissed about. Reproductive rights are nothing to mess around with.

And then there’s PETA.

Jumping on the controversy by spreading more of their sexist, fat shaming bullshit, they’ve come out with Plan V. That’s right, V for vegan. The basic premise is that if you’re too fat to take Plan B then just go vegan and the pounds will melt away.

*crickets*

I know, I know, I’m an almost-300-pound vegan. And, to be honest, most vegans I know didn’t lose a pound after going vegan. Why? Because, PETA, it’s NOT A FAD DIET. Okay, maybe it’s a fad diet for some people, but if so, they’ll quickly learn that, like most fad diets, it fails as a weight loss strategy. I’ve been handed half a dozen studies that say that vegans are thinner than meat eaters. Okay, let’s roll with that. On average, vegans are 5-10lbs slimmer. In one particularly problematic study, it was 20lbs.

First of all, none of these studies say that vegans lost weight when going vegan, only that they happen to be smaller. Second, with such a measly weight difference, almost no women would suddenly be able to use Plan B. Even if I lost a whopping 20 pounds, for example, I’d still weight 265 pounds, which is still a hundred pounds over the weight limit for Plan B. True, not every women is as fat as I am, but the average woman in the US weighs about 164.7 lbs (in 2006) according to the CDC. That’s right at the cut off for Plan B. That’s cutting it awfully close if you ask me. Going vegan isn’t going to fix this problem. Recognizing that people have a variety of body sizes and, therefore, creating a variety of doses that work for those bodies is what will fix this problem.

On Twitter, PETA insisted they weren’t fat shaming. When I responded, they simply said that they were showing people a healthy alternative. Okay, veganism is healthy, I get it. There are some studies to back that up too, but as usual, they’re confusing health with weight and making all of us vegans look bad in the meantime.

Don’t be fooled, there ARE body positive vegans. Just go to Facebook and check out Fat Vegans Unite or What Fat Vegans Eat. We’re there, we exist. Unfortunately, most people are body negative and vegans are no different. You’ll have your body positive vegans, your body negative vegans, and your vegans who don’t care one way or the other, just like everyone else.

What pisses me off about PETA is that they give us vegans a bad name. They make people think that we’re all like they are, when really, just like the rest of society, we’re a big mixed bag and quite a lot of us want nothing to do with PETA or it’s bigoted campaigns .

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Dizzyd permalink
    December 10, 2013 7:05 pm

    Every time I see an article with “PETA” in the headlines, my first thought is now by default “Oh, brother! What stupid stunt are they up to this time?” I’m sorry you guys have to put up with the Idiot Brigade messing up your otherwise benign and healthful movement (I thought myself of going vegan or at least mostly vegetarian, and tried it for a while, but right now I’m just stuck at being a semi-vegetarian, but I can always try again!) It’s like being a Christian – especially a genuine Bible-believing faith-walking type – and having everybody think you have an autographed picture of Sarah Palin (my hero! ) over your bed.

    • gingeroid permalink
      December 11, 2013 5:50 pm

      Your comment reminded me of what Alaskans are tired of hearing: “Do you know Sarah Palin?” It’s a big state!

  2. Dizzyd permalink
    December 10, 2013 7:06 pm

    Hey! How dare the powers that be take out the “sarcasm” part of my little spiel about Palin! Don’t want anybody thinking I totally agree with “Caribou Barbie”. (sic)

Leave a Reply

