Skip to content

My Perfect World Wishlist

February 19, 2014

Weight LossFat HealthExerciseMy Boring-Ass LifeDickweedDiet TalkFat FashionFat News
wish-listA post on my Facebook account became hopelessly mired in Intarwebz!Drama!! when thread drift happened. The drama part of it all doesn’t matter — not in the whole scheme of things. However, a person did ask the following question during the exchange: “How exactly does your perfect world look?”

Here is a snapshot of my “perfect world”:

For me to be able to walk down the street, while exercising, and not be in danger of being run over simply because I’m fat (and the high school girls in the car were yelling, as they came over from the other side of the street to try and run me over “You should call 1-800 JENNY! You fat ass, it’s your fault if you get hit because there’s not enough room on the street for my car to go around you!!!”).

For me to be able to go into most department stores and see a clothing section at least as big as other women’s clothing sections, and not be relegated to the basement, or worse yet, online-only ordering (I’m looking at you, my local Sears).

For clothing designers to actually design FOR my body type, instead of saying I’m too fat to fit their clothes. Also, to find clothes that are cute and stylish and pretty without breaking the bank.

For doctors to not look at me and automatically say, “You have high blood pressure because you’re fat” when my blood pressure read 124/82.

For doctors to not tell me that “an operation would be a good thing normally, but you’re too fat, so I’m never going to operate on you!” (Yes, actually, the first knee surgeon I saw told me that.)

For doctors to not automatically run diabetes tests on me at every well woman checkup just because I’m fat (despite having no other risk factors). The converse of that is for them to not automatically assume that just because a person is thin or normal-sized that they don’t ever have to run a diabetes test, no matter what the other risk factors.

For people to not tell me that, as a disabled fat person, I shouldn’t use the scooters at the store because “being fat isn’t a disability!” (And while I’m not in that position right now, there was a time, before my knee surgery and subsequent rehab, when I was having to use the scooters at the store and a wheelchair at home.)

For people to not come up to me in restaurants and tell me “That isn’t the best choice of food for you” if I’m eating anything other than a salad, and then to tell me “It’s too late now. If you’d been eating salads all along you wouldn’t be this fat now!” when I do eat a salad.

For people to not call me a liar about the exercise I say I do, just because of my size. I would love to never have somebody look at me in surprise because I can kick that high or hear my sensei say with shock in his voice, “I didn’t think you’d be that flexible!”

To finally see people who have completed one (or more) marathons get all the kudos coming to them, no matter their size, and not hear them told they were “too fat to complete the marathon!”

To not be accused of causing a plane crash. (In North Carolina in the early 2000s, a commuter flight to DC — I believe — had one fat person on it. In all the news reports, the “cause” of the crash wasn’t the overcrowded conditions on the plane or faulty equipment. No, it was the ONE FATTY who was on the plane who made the plane too heavy to stay in the air.)

To not be accused of causing global warming. (Seriously, back in 2008, a “report” came out showing how global warming and the depletion of non-renewable resources is all because for each fatty driving in their car, their weight caused them to use approximately 12 gallons more a year than a normal-weight person.)

For airlines to not keep reducing the size of the seats to where my friend  can’t even fit into them comfortably (and she’s a size 6), but yet be told that because I am so damn fat that I have to pay for two seats — and THEN have that second seat I paid for given away to somebody else because the airline wants to get twice the price for that seat.

What do you think?  If somebody were to demand you tell them what a perfect world would look like to you, what would you put on your personal list?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2014 9:29 am

    I liked your list. I think I’d add that entertainment in my perfect world would have more people who represent those my size without them being the butt of fat jokes but are also successful, happy people who aren’t desperate to hook up with just anyone that comes their way.

  2. February 19, 2014 10:45 am

    To not be uncomfortable in a theatre movie seat. Wouldn’t it be lovely to watch a movie without the chair digging into my legs?

  3. vesta44 permalink
    February 19, 2014 10:48 am

    That’s a great list. I’d add to it that no fat person would ever be told that they should be grateful that they were raped because that’s the only way anyone would ever want to have sex with them while at the same being called “easy” or a “slut” because everyone “knows” that fat people are so desperate to have sex that they’ll fuck anyone/everyone.

  4. Duckie permalink
    February 19, 2014 11:37 am

    I’d never have to watch a diet ad ever again.

  5. February 19, 2014 5:34 pm

    The Westboro Baptist Church not to exist.

  6. February 19, 2014 6:01 pm

    No one would think it normal to expect women to remove their body hair as a “common courtesy” to their partners.

    • February 20, 2014 9:43 am

      Nice. Also, a judges would not rule that it’s legal for companies to fire women (and only women) who don’t want to wear cosmetics on the job– because we disagree with our employers that there’s something “unprofessional” about our unaltered faces.

  7. lifeonfats permalink
    February 19, 2014 7:29 pm

    Along with your list, for One Million Moms to go the way of the fossil, for certain politicians to stop demonizing women, the poor and minorities as pariahs for the country’s problems AND to stop pretending they know all about my reproductive parts while trying to legislate them, for the reality show genre to die a quick death and just that people stay out of each other’s private lives in general if it’s not breaking any serious laws.

  8. February 20, 2014 9:44 am

    Well, all of these are good suggestions, and if we’re going the more general route I’d like to add An End To Two-Party Hegemony in the United States. Also, could somebody please just make Justin Bieber go the fuck away already? :p

  9. Dizzyd permalink
    February 23, 2014 6:08 pm

    How about for all the idiots mentioned in the wish list to get a fricking clue and to grow up already!!! You’re not in third grade anymore, act like it! Also, for those girls in the car, that when they tried that type of stuff, you just lay down in the road and start screaming “OW! MY LEG! I THINK IT’S BROKEN!!! Ohhhhhh….” and for people to come out and look at you in sympathy and horror and to start giving those girls all sorts of hell for daring to run over that poor helpless older woman what kind of monsters are you I’m calling your parents – and their PARENTS come out, see what’s going on, tell the girls “you are in SO MUCH TROUBLE, young lady!” and take their car away and everybody at school thinks they’re just horrible people for hurting a helpless pedestrian. And no matter how much they try to justify it by saying “but she was SOOO FAAAATT!!! WEEEE couldn’t get AROUND her!!!!”, they just get dirty looks and told to STFU. Revenge is a bitch, kiddies.

Leave a Reply

