Skip to content

Stylish Canes for All Occasions

February 26, 2014

Because my birthday falls close to Valentine’s Day, I’ve had more heart-shaped cakes than I can shake a stick at. Because my legs like to spontaneously not work, I decided it was time to get a stick to shake at things.

I started  with an aluminum cane in purple. I have no complaints. It’s functional, it supports up to 250 pounds and I haven’t noticed any damage after I’ve knocked it over several times. It’s held together by a Velcro strap when it’s folded, which I find annoying. Although I love the carrying case because it has a drawstring closure, is opaque, and fits into my purse.

Like Kung-Fu Panda, stairs were getting to be a nemesis of mine. But no more! Had I known it was a $12 fix (the cane was a buck cheaper when I bought it), I would’ve done it sooner. I initially thought I wanted a fixed cane, but this one taught me that a folding one was what I really wanted. It’s much easier to get a folded cane into and out of the car, and my purse isn’t big enough to fit a 33″ cane. Adjustable was also important to compensate for different heel heights. This one does all that. However, it’s a little boring and I really wanted a carbon fiber cane.House Cane

Enter Fashionable Canes, seller of House’s flame cane. You can search for canes by material, color, handle type, or weight limit. Nothing was more annoying than finding something interesting that only supported 180 pounds. There’s also a selection of canes that support up to 700 pounds. For the models I was looking at, their pricing couldn’t be beat either.Although I wouldn’t recommend buying right away because they’ll email deeper discount codes the longer you don’t complete your order. I ended up purchasing at 20% off after 10 days. I don’t know if they would’ve gone further or not. Seems like there’s always some sort of promo running as well. It was free shipping with $60 when I bought and it’s currently 25% off Med Aid canes. The branding is s small logo under the collar.

I love their chameleon cane and my cat does too! I can’t keep her away from it. The photo really doesn’t do the cane justice. I was in the car one day and the sun hit it such that each section had a different color. Some parts were purple, one was more reddish, and another one had gold tones. The carbon canes are noticeably lighter than the aluminum one. For occasions that require something less flashy, I went with a black and burgundy plaid design that my cat doesn’t like nearly as much.

014016

Both canes arrived in a “display case” that I don’t like. It’s bulky, plastic, and closes with a snap. I carry whichever cane I might need in the fabric bag from the aluminum cane. What I do like is that they’re held together with a plastic ring when folded. I like that much better than the velcro because I don’t like extra hardware hanging off my cane (I removed the wrist strap from the aluminum one). It’s also much easier to just slip the ring over the cane than to have the velcro around one piece and then wrap it around the entire cane and fasten it. I used standard shipping, which took a week for UPS to get it from Florida to California.

Gingeroid Sig

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2014 9:51 am

    dear sister, i have been lurking this blog for some time and felt moved to finally ‘show my face’ to thank you and your other bloggers for this important work.

    wellness is a dynamic state of consciousness and we often delude ourselves into thinking that we will never die, and that should such an unlikely event occur, that we will just gracefully die in our sleep as healthy old folks.

    hahahahahah!!!! so it’s good to have a cane reference should i ever require this wisdom.

    blessed be!

    • gingeroid permalink
      February 26, 2014 2:10 pm

      I lost a friend to blood cancer last year. He was a combat vet who cheated death many times in his life. After his body rejected the bone marrow transplant he had a spontaneous remission that bought him time to see loved ones, play with his dogs, drive his car, and work before the cancer returned with a vengeance. Out of all the ways he could’ve gone, the heart attack in his sleep was definitely the kindest. I don’t know about grace in death but I sure hope I go while I’m asleep.

      Thanks for delurking!

  2. February 26, 2014 12:05 pm

    Cool site, I’ll be bookmarking it for future perusal.

    I finally had to accept I need to have a stick whenever I toddle about, my right knee is so far gone and the left one is right behind. My doctor agreed with my hubby and signed off on a disability placard for me 😦

    I really miss living on that river in Egypt.

    Ah well, I’ve stopped being stubborn and have embraced my stick. Picked up one I liked in black and have made it my own:

    Amazing what you can do with nail polish LOL!

    • gingeroid permalink
      February 26, 2014 2:14 pm

      I recognize that glitter polish! I’ve got it layered over a grey base this week 🙂

      The creative bone in my body is roughly the size of the bones in our ears. I admire people who can customize things and have them come out looking good.

  3. February 26, 2014 1:38 pm

    I love Fashionable Canes….I used to have the House flame cane 🙂 The sad part is that I’m too short for most folding or adjustable canes so I used to just go with the rigid ones that were fun (I’ve been using a forearm crutch, and those have way less fun options).

    • gingeroid permalink
      February 26, 2014 2:24 pm

      I thought the carbon fiber version looked awesome with the diamond texture. I just didn’t think I could rock it the way House did. Kudos to you.

      There is so much room for innovation in medical devices. I think as the cost of 3D printing comes down and the choice of materials go up, we’ll see a lot more customization and new designs as the barriers to fabrication fall. I’m designing a device for myself that I’m excited to start building.

  4. Len permalink
    February 27, 2014 4:24 pm

    OMG I have a ‘cane wardrobe’ and it is wonderful, selecting the perfect one for my outfit. I have half a dozen and plans to get more … it’s a small thing, but heading out with a beautiful cane can put a bit of a glow on things even when I’m in pain.

    • gingeroid permalink
      February 27, 2014 9:40 pm

      Great idea! I started viewing my glasses as accessories last year when I got 2 pairs. Although I’m still using the cane intermittently, I suspect it’ll be a more permanent fixture in the (hopefully distant) future. Do you have any favorites?

Leave a Reply

