Skip to content

My fat posi space

April 18, 2014

My Boring-Ass Life

IMG_1674I’ve had one hell of a week. Or two weeks. Or even a couple of months. We’ve been in the process of buying our first house and it hasn’t exactly been a cake walk. Once we got in, everything seemed to go wrong: no water, no power, no heat. We scrambled to get things done; HVAC people, plumbers, electricians and a good bit of money finally got the house in working order (I should mention she was originally build in 1945).

Then came the scrambling to get everything unpacked in the time span of a week and a half to be ready for the housewarming party that I stupidly scheduled two weeks after we moved in.

Well, I hustled my fat ass and, sure enough, everything was ready in time for last weekend. And I got to show everyone my favorite spot in the house. My dressing room.

That’s right, my very own dressing room. Double closet, beautiful natural light, a HUGE mirror and enough space for my entire jewelry collection IMG_1677(okay, technically the husband’s clothes are in there too). Most importantly, though, it’s a fat positive space. A drawn self-portrait of me in a polka-dotted bikini greets you at the entrance. As you look over the room, you’ll spot my wonderful fat mermaid (given to me by my mother), fat paintings, and my Fat Ladies in Spaaaaace coloring book. And I’m planning on more amazing fatness as soon as I can scrounge up some funds.

IMG_1676

It’s important for me to have such a self affirming place to go into every single day, but I also enjoy watching other people as they wander around the room (and there was plenty of that at the housewarming party). Everyone needs a little bit of body positivity in their lives. And this is my little slice.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 18, 2014 11:25 am

    I would love to have a dressing room. There’s so much light in yours.

Leave a Reply

