Skip to content

Introducing Deathfat Princess

April 29, 2014

Weight LossFat HealthFat FashionMy Boring-Ass LifeDiet Talk

This is the first post introductory post from from Deathfat Princess, our latest blogging candidate. After she submits three guest posts, we will vote on her inclusion in our blog.

I first blogged about Fat Acceptance (FA) probably 13 years ago. But I was certainly blogging about fat before I realized that I was blogging about fat.

I First Got The Internet™ in 1999 and the first thing I did was look for other fat people. I found some way on Yahoo! to make a group or post an ad or something, and I posted (in hindsight, this was a

Back when Yahoo! was the coolest.

Back when Yahoo! was the coolest.

terrible idea and it is amazing I did not get chopped up and thrown in a river) something saying that I was a fat 13-year-old girl in Brooklyn, NY, and I was looking for friends.

I didn’t actually make any friends that way, but I did eventually make my way over to Maxpages, which was one of those sites where you could freeze your friends’ browsers with all the glitter blinkies they let you use. I used many glitter blinkies.

In addition to liberally using glitter blinkies, I liberally talked about fat. I was, like a lot of little fat girls, the only little fat girl in my group of friends. I talked about what it was like to be so different, and what it was like to sigh as a cute boy (this was about 2001 and I was in 10th or 11th grade) walked up to you and asked for your friend’s number. I talked about what it was like to know that you couldn’t go shopping with your friends or, if you did go, then you couldn’t buy anything. It was an FA blog before I knew the words “FA blog.” I later joined DeadJournal (because I couldn’t get a LiveJournal code) and started a group called fatgirls that grew to about 100 members. I am still friends with a handful of them.

When I was 16, I read Fat!So? by Marilyn Wann and my head pretty much exploded. I had some vague idea that there were fat people somewhere out there fighting for the right to exist, and I knew that there were places where fat ladies posted pictures of themselves on LiveJournal, but that someone had written a book about fat and that I was holding it in my hands and that it validated everything I sorta/kinda already thought and knew just blew my mind. It was my official initiation into Fat Society.

I never returned the book to the library. It is in my garage and has made it through six moves, including one from Brooklyn to Albuquerque. I imagine it is an oft-stolen book from libraries as baby fats read it one by one and realize that they are fine the way they are and that they are going to hold on to the book forever.

I don’t want to make it sound like once I found FA, I never wavered. I was a teenage girl and then a woman in her early 20s — I wavered. But every time I dieted, I ended up fatter, less healthy, and more miserable. So I finally quit in 2010. It took me 24 years to figure out that starving myself and obsessively exercising for the rest of my life was not feasible, not healthy, not sane, and not working.

In 2011, I started Deathfat Princess. I was a stressed-out student in a Master of Social Work (MSW) program and a desperate woman in a failing marriage, and I needed something to make me feel better. I had always loved blogging and so I started another one. I started with Outfit of the Day (OOTD) posts and posts about where to source plus-size clothing. The aforementioned desperation of my aforementioned failing marriage led me to blow up my credit cards with clothing, shoes, and makeup. My MSW classmates joked that in two years they had never seen me wear the same thing twice. I had plenty of fodder for OOTDs. Eventually, the banks took all my credit cards away and so I had to post with words instead of pictures. Today, my blog is mostly fat posts with the occasional divorce post or social work post.

Talking about fat, campaigning for fat, and being fat have always been my passions. I am so very much looking forward to sharing my fierce fattiness with everyone!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2014 1:58 pm

    I LOVE your handle – Deathfat Princess is amaze!balls! 🙂

    • deniseelyzabeth permalink
      April 29, 2014 6:10 pm

      Thank you thank you!

  2. Dizzyd permalink
    April 29, 2014 3:21 pm

    Welcome, DP!!!! You already sound as if you have some good insights. I look forward to your next column. And I love your name (*denise*)!!! ; )

    • deniseelyzabeth permalink
      April 29, 2014 6:11 pm

      Thank you! I am very much looking forward to submitting it!

      I never meet any other Denises but when I do, I squeal with joy!

  3. April 29, 2014 4:56 pm

    Wonderful nick. I like what you have written.

    • deniseelyzabeth permalink
      April 29, 2014 6:11 pm

      Thank you! I am looking forward to my next guest post!

  4. April 29, 2014 7:20 pm

    Yes!!! I love you!

  5. April 30, 2014 7:04 am

    Reblogged this on The Cheese Whines and commented:
    Welcome. I was in my twenties and in a failing marriage in 1992. I didn’t know much about the Internet, but quickly discovered that it contained a lot of creeps! I was nowhere close to finding size acceptance at that point in my life. It would be another 20 years before I did that.
    I was 13 in 1978, bulimic and hating my body. I wasn’t fat, but was so terrified of becoming so when I saw how fat people were treated that I took extreme measures and did my metabolism no favors. To this day, I still struggle with eating disorders and have no-one to turn to because nobody believes that a fat person can be starving themselves.

  6. April 30, 2014 11:27 am

    Wonderful Post!!! And I have shared with Marilyn Wann, I think she’ll love seeing that FATSO? was inspirational.

  7. May 3, 2014 5:26 pm

    Hello! 😀

Leave a Reply

