Skip to content

Hospital Pains

May 1, 2014

Weight LossFat HealthEating DisordersMy Boring-Ass LifeDickweedDiet Talk

Trigger warning: Discussion of disordered eating.

Hey e’rybody, how’s it goin’? (<—best Southern accent)

Do you remember when I was talking about trying to survive my hospital and their terrible doctors to get a much-needed surgery out of the way? Yeah… so let me tell you.

Come and sit with me.

Back in December, I went to the hospital (that I had previously researched for insurance purposes and recommendations) because my insides were acting funny and I needed to have them checked. It turns out that I need surgery done to fix a few hernias. Well, my insurance requires me to have a medically-monitored waiting period of six months; don’t ask me why, I have no idea, even though I asked. Specifically, they were looking for changes in my weight. Because the most prominent problems are in my digestive system, I was put into the gastroenterology, endocrine and bariatric center part of the hospital for the observation period. Can you guess where this is going yet?

Day one, they treated me as if I was a bariatric patient. I was forced to go to nutrition classes and weight management classes and intro classes where they talked about diets, the various kinds of bariatric surgeries, and how they were trying to “save” people’s lives. Of course I complained! But I was shut up when I found out that this hospital was the only one within a hundred miles that my insurance would cover almost completely. I would have to suck it up.

Oh how I pulled my hair out! Straight out of the gate, I told the hospital and every personnel I could pin down that I had a small window of opportunity to have the surgery done, and every time I was told not to worry about it, that everything would get done. Every month that I had to drag my behind to that hospital, I asked about being scheduled for the surgery, and every time, without fail, I was told not to worry about it. And every month I went, I was scolded for my weight gain and given a lecture about how important it was for me to lose weight before my surgery and how important it was to count calories.

I think I mentioned this before as well, but I have an eating disorder. I tend toward long periods of fasting that end with a binge that results in more, and longer, fasting. Because my appointments were really early in the morning, I had to skip breakfast to be on time. Afterward, I would feel so shitty that I wouldn’t eat again until my roommates noticed and yelled at me.

Fine, I’ll just eat my damn laptop then.

So April comes around, and that’s when the shit really hit the fan. My final weight check started off with the doctor coming in huffing. She gave me a few stink side-eyes, said a few comments about my gain, and asked if I had any questions. Of course, my surgery still had not been scheduled, so I asked “So can we still do this in May?” With her answer, I was so surprised that I had the control not to slap the shit out of her. She leaned in real close to me, looked me dead in the eyes and said, “That is ABSOLUTELY not possible. Absolutely not possible.”

Bitch, you just ruined six months of my life! If someone, ANYONE, had told me that the surgery wasn’t possible in May, I would have looked somewhere, ANYWHERE, else. May was literally the only time I was going to be able to take off the time for the full three weeks of recovery. When I talked to the surgeon himself, he said he was completely booked until June, and that he was going to take a two-week vacation in the middle of the summer AND it was going to take at least a month for the hospital to contact me again with the surgery date.

If it happens when I think it will (in July), I am so screwed; it will be right in the middle of my summer semester, close to the end, when it will be the most important time to attend. I cannot afford to miss three weeks of class! I was planning on working this summer, but now I will only be available for a month before I’m out for another month, then in August I will not be able to work because I’ll be doing my “clinic” hours (when I’m out in the community, working for free). Also, in the beginning of August my apartment lease runs out, and considering the new roommates, we will have to move to something bigger. I can’t lift heavy boxes with stitches in! To put the icing on the hate cake, I found out that, because my general doctor sent his medical files to the hospital, I could have had my surgery scheduled back in March.

Every single step of the way, I have run into hospital staff who really shouldn’t be working with fat patients. Perhaps I wasn’t as self-deprecating as the others, or perhaps, because I wasn’t swallowing their weight-loss bullshit, the vitriol was clearly established.

I am just so done with this hospital. I just want this to be over with so I can continue on with my life.

Kitsune Yokai

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Dizzyd permalink
    May 1, 2014 3:54 pm

    WHAT?!!!! Are you fucking kidding me? Oh, I would have slapped that smug bitch right there! And then they jerk you around like that. Oh, that shit has to stop right fucking now!!! I hope there is somewhere else you can go that would take you in and get it done when YOU need it done, not whenever the hell THEY feel like it! Anyone else out there, is there a place she can go to file a complaint to someone who will actually DO something about it? Not just sit there dispassionately saying “Oh we’re sorry, but there’s nothing we can do.” What if it had been something life-threatening? Oh, too bad, I guess you should have lost all that weight like we the almighty gods of medicine hath commanded thee? I guess you just have to die, no big loss, fatty. We have got to put an end to this sanctimonious bullshit that the medical industry (forget the diet industry – they’re a lost cause) thinks that they can pull on fat people “because we can”. They forget they’re there to HEAL PEOPLE and GUESS WHAT, DOCTORS? FAT PEOPLE ARE PEOPLE, TOO! I know – shock and surprise, that blob actually has feelings. If you can’t treat ALL and I mean ALL!!!! of your patients with the respect and dignity they deserve, GET OUT OF THE HEALTH BUSINESS!!!! (Sorry for the rant, that just REALLY pissed me off – the nerve!)

  2. Bronwen permalink
    May 1, 2014 4:10 pm

    Put in a complaint with the Omsbudsman of the hospital. Also, look into the complaint process of the state accrediting agency for all the people involved, from the nurses who treated you like crap, to the surgeon who’s being an ass, to the hospital itself. It might not change anything now, but it will make the administrators sit up and take notice!

  3. JeninCanada permalink
    May 1, 2014 5:49 pm

    Is there someone, ANYONE! that you can write/call too and complain? This is ridiculous. I’m so sorry this has happened to you.

  4. May 2, 2014 8:34 am

    Oh damn, I’m so sorry this happened to you. This is the kind of thing that those “obesity health care costs skyrocketing” type twitbiscuits ignore….even when we fat people pursue medical care, we’re forced to jump through so many more hoops and usually to the detriment to a person’s health. And then, if it kills us, it wasn’t the delayed treatment or the botched surgery or the misdiagnosis that did it….to them, it’s our actual fat that did it, not fat stigma or fat phobia that these asshats perpetrate.

  5. Silver Sue permalink
    May 2, 2014 12:43 pm

    Are you sure everyone there knew you were having *hernia surgery* and not WLS? All of what you just said makes me think that *they* think you’re having bariatric surgery. There’s no need for nutritional counseling or other approvals or hoops to be jumped through for simple hernia surgery, but there *are* many hoops for WLS, like the mandatory nutrition counseling and proof you can lose weight. Be sure your insurance company knows this, too, because any hospital that has a surgery suite can do hernia surgery, but only a handful of them do WLS. If the surgeon you already have doesn’t have privileges there, find another one that does on your insurance and have it done when you want it done.

    It does sound like wires got crossed somewhere. Call the surgeon’s office and find out the exact medical name of the surgery to be performed and check it on Google to make sure it’s not another name for one of the WLS procedures.

  6. May 2, 2014 2:53 pm

    That hospital is total bullshit. The medical establishment is becoming more and more criminal. How are your symptoms, are they continuing? If you are lucky maybe a second opinion will tell you that you do not need hernia surgery.. Perhaps I am off track here, but I would not want to do further business with those Bozos and maybe with a second opinion you will find that you do not have to.

  7. Picturerazzi permalink
    May 10, 2014 5:44 am

    OMG…. I am so angry for you. I’m shaking. I’ve been in your situation where I felt like the health professionals really only give a care about my weight. So much so that for a few weeks I kinda just stopped eating to lose a bit of weight just to keep the jerks from bothering me. I even told my primary that I starved myself and he was fine with that. Nice? Huh?! I only gained weight AFTER my medical Dx’s not before.

    Sometimes I get so fed up with Doctors and Nurses that I want to never see one ever again…. Which won’t happen bc I need Doctors but boy do I relish the thought!

Leave a Reply

