Skip to content

Fluffy Fatshion Poll

May 7, 2014

Fat Fashion

I haven’t done a fatshion post in a while, and with the stores and catalogs premiering their new spring and summer items, I thought it would be fun and informative to conduct a poll on what you’d like to see when it comes to fat fashion as the weather turns warmer, and what you’re tired of seeing year after year.

I can tell you that I’m personally tired of seeing these repeats (while I know there are many who enjoy wearing them, this is just my own opinion and I have my reasons):

Graphic tees (Lane Bryant, 39.95)

It looks like the skull is crying out for help.

 Print leggings (Roaman’s 24.99-29.99)

I’m getting a serious 80s flashback here.

 Hi-lo hems: (Alight, 44.00)

At least they’re not shying away from stripes, long considered a stereotypical fashion no-no for big women.

 Gladiator sandals (Avenue, 54.00)

This is on the list out of jealousy. I can’t wear these because I have extra-wide feet and cankles, so I can’t zip up the back of the shoes, damn it!

Here’s some clothing I’d like to see more of:

Maxi dresses with sleeves (for us gals who have to wear bras with everything) (Avenue, 60.00)

I’m not a dress person but I would definitely wear this if I had a place to wear it. I love the cutout on the neckline too.

Now it’s your turn. Tell me what you’d love to see fat fashion designers make for us and/or what you wish would stay off the racks.

30 Comments leave one →
  1. Pange permalink
    May 7, 2014 9:44 am

    I’m so tired of the hi/lo hem trend and the shark tooth hem trend (which may be a solely plus size thing, I’m not sure). I’m also tired of see-through stuff. It’s SOOOOOO hot where I live and if I have to layer 2 shirts over my bra, it gets real stifling, real fast.

    I would love tank tops that have straps wide enough to cover my bra straps. I would love a bra that doesn’t feel like I’m wearing a gladiator chest piece (with a middle piece that feels like it comes up to my chin).

    • May 7, 2014 10:19 pm

      I would love tank tops that have straps wide enough to cover my bra straps.

      Seriously. I would give these all my monies right now.

  2. Nof permalink
    May 7, 2014 9:49 am

    I still love hi/lo hems, probably because I’ve yet to find a dress with one that fits me…

    Not appropriate for spring but: sweater dresses. And not just sack sweater dresses, dresses that actually have some attempt at shaping and fit. I love sweater dresses but finding ones in my size that aren’t godawful is hard.

    • gingeroid permalink
      May 7, 2014 2:04 pm

      I had pretty good luck with Old Navy’s sweater dresses last year. I got two with an empire waist and one with a vertical cable knit.

  3. May 7, 2014 11:11 am

    I would love to see necklines that don’t require layering, for the same reason as Pange….I live in the southeast US and it gets hot and humid! Besides, I’m short and a good chunk of the camis and layering pieces still have a neckline that’s too low on my short frame….I don’t want to show the tops of my demi cup bra at work, tyvm!

    I wish there was a better happy medium on the high-low hemline….with the right one, it helps skirts sit on my big butt without the hemline being slanted (higher in the back, lower in the front). Maybe a designer just needs to get with the program that some of us are built like that 🙂

  4. Sonia permalink
    May 7, 2014 11:30 am

    I hate empire cuts, and baby doll cuts, seriously I’m not looking forward to get compliments like: are you pregnate!?:D My ribs are bigger than my waist so why not something that actually hits at my waist? But not smears at my belly button? Urgh! I tottally hate spagetti straps, I need wide straps that actually cover my bra straps, since I have a big bust. More summer dresses with wide straps, or short sleves would be lovely! I’m actually an arm shower! Im not looking forward to cover myself at summer. I would apreciate nice demin skirts that dont hit at my bum or my calf, how about something that hits at the´knee or a bit above the knee?

  5. vesta44 permalink
    May 7, 2014 11:34 am

    I want to see pants with pockets, FFS, that aren’t jeans. I can’t wear jeans anymore, even if they come in a size to fit me, the waist is either too big and the hips/thighs are too small, or if the hips/thighs fit, the waist is too small. I want pockets in my pants, and failing that, pockets on tops would be nice. I do not want to have to dig through the suitcase that is my purse for my cell phone or car keys just because asshole designers think pockets “ruin” the lines of clothing. I don’t give a shit about how my clothes look with stuff in the pockets, I care about convenience. And clothing without pockets suck.

    • Nof permalink
      May 7, 2014 11:39 am

      Also: dresses with pockets. I have one and it’s amazing. If the skirt is ruffley enough you can’t even see the pockets.

      • lozette permalink
        May 7, 2014 12:11 pm

        Yes yes YES to dresses with pockets!!

      • gingeroid permalink
        May 7, 2014 2:02 pm

        I think pockets are standard on eShakti dresses. All the ones I own have them and removal is usually one of the free customization options.

    • May 7, 2014 1:03 pm

      YES yes yes yes yes yes to EVERYTHING with REAL pockets. I can’t really speak to plus-size fashion, but even in straight sizes the lack of pockets (or those little indentations in the fabric that shouldn’t be called pockets) is infuriating.

  6. Duckie permalink
    May 7, 2014 11:37 am

    I don’t require much in the way of fashion. I just want well made t-shirts, tank tops, and bras that I can easily afford, underwear that doesn’t make me worry about medical complications, and pants, with pockets, that don’t show off my ass every time I sit down. I love me some good fun knee-socks.

    What needs to end is glitter, sequins, rhinestones, and beads sewn to everything. Everything! I’ve passed up a lot of clothing that is otherwise cute because I find the applied decor to make it look cheap, or kitschy.

  7. May 7, 2014 11:37 am

    I will rep graphic tees and print leggings until the day I die!!!

    Spaghetti straps really grind my gears. They make sense on smaller shirts that go on smaller frames that (typically) have smaller bras, or maybe are the lucky among us who can comfortably go without. But when you’re designing clothing for bodies that are more than likely going to be wearing bras at all, and bras with medium to wide straps (all dat support) at that, why would you give them itty-bitty straps on their clothing?

    That said, I’d appreciate more plunge bras in my size.

  8. May 7, 2014 11:59 am

    Goth clothing. In cotton, not that fake velvet crap that turns 0 C weather into the 7th layer of hell.

    Like, I just want to dress like Abby from NCIS. All year long. Is this so much to ask for?

    (This and geek clothing, which is surprisingly hard to find in fat sizes, unless I want to buy the “Men’s” sizes which I then have to alter to fit my form.)

    • purple peonies permalink
      May 7, 2014 12:57 pm

      i agree with both these. i have never stopped being sad that Torrid stopped carrying cute gothy things. (especially wide-legged gothy pants! i miss those so much!)

      and it’s so hard, if not impossible, to find geeky tshirts. i don’t want to buy a men’s shirt and hope i can use scissors to make it sort of fit me. i want girly-fit tshirts. i don’t think we’re asking too much.

      i’d ALSO like to see more pockets, Vesta. and not those teeny half-assed pockets i’m getting in my jeans lately, but ACTUAL pockets that’ll hold a smart phone, a keychain, inhaler, and maybe a few bucks.

      …also i’m sick of the asymmetrical hems (not just the front-back, but the left-right), tapered or “skinny” jeans/pants, gladiator and other strappy show-all-your-feet shoes.

      • May 8, 2014 11:51 am

        I know! When I found out Torrid was no longer fat goth, I was so pissed because there’s literally nowhere else for me to go.

        And I went looking at ThinkGeek — well, they’re for the “Smart Masses” but apparently not the fat ones! At least not if you want something femme, because we can’t have any fat geek girls, right? ARG.

    • Levviathan permalink
      May 14, 2014 11:48 pm

      I get all my nerd shirts from Shark Robot, but theirs is a very specific brand of nerdiness. It may or may not be your thing.

      My Teenage Mutant Ninja Squirtles shirt is my favorite. ^^

      • May 15, 2014 1:18 pm

        Ooooh, they have a Tenth Doctor shirt. Awesome. Thanks for the tip! 🙂

  9. May 7, 2014 1:15 pm

    I’m actually loving the gladiator and show-all-your-feet shoes, but would like to be bale to find some in my size. Without them, I just go around barefoot or in flipflops all the time, even most of the winter. I want pockets in more stuff, though, too. I’m over high-low hems, but I would love to be able to find something with not-too-showy see-through lace panels. Like the kind of panels that don’t show all the lady bits but are still sexy and provide built-in air-conditioning of sorts. I really want to find nice feminine dress pants; everything I can find so far is almost militant in its drabness and lack of femininity. Like, I know all bodies are different shapes and all, but I can’t find anything that I can even alter to make it fit my curves. :-/

  10. gingeroid permalink
    May 7, 2014 2:00 pm

    I despise the text tee, a subset of graphic tees? There’s nothing appealing to me about sporting a glittery Sassy, Run Fast, etc. on my chest. I would also like to see activewear manufacturers branch out beyond shapeless non-wicking garb in black, tan, or grey and the graphic tee offered in stores.

    Lastly, I hate the assumption plus size = low cut necklines. Liking to wear a v-neck, a scoop neck, a sweetheart neck, etc. doesn’t mean I like showing cleavage and then some. It’s a $15 shirt? Sure, I’ll wear a cami. It’s a $100+ dress? I expect it to cover me.

  11. Steph permalink
    May 7, 2014 4:17 pm

    Yes to pockets!! I would also like to see clothing with ruching…the great kind of ruching that flatters and creates a waist if you don’t have one. I am so over the graphic t’s at LB. And why is the material so thin? why can’t there be nice weight material that doesn’t emphasize your bra or your belly button? Is there some rule that we can’t have natural fabrics that breathe? Or that everything be covered with sparkle, words, or flowers?

  12. May 7, 2014 6:22 pm

    I don’t mind graphic tees if it is something clever or original (ugh skulls, yeah torrid I’m talking to you) like geek stuff and/or quotes in different scrips. Band t-shirts that fit nice would be good. I love hi-low but they make the high too high for my height so It’s kinda a mini skirt. POCKETS POCKETS POCKETS, on pants, skirts, dresses especially workout pants. Kinda sick of putting my phone in my bra whilst working out. Low cut necklines are annoying for me cause I don’t have cleavage and/or my bra would show.

  13. Rebecca permalink
    May 7, 2014 6:46 pm

    I would love some activewear in bright colours. Why does all plus size activewear have to be black, black, black?! And also – why does it all have to be so baggy?

    I just hate the assumption that plus size women must want to hide their bodies. Cue long, shapeless tops.

    I also would love wider straps on summer tops. I love to “bare arms” in summer (well I do live in Australia, and it gets damn hot) but not so keen on baring arm straps. Yet my favourite brands all seem to come out with these super cute tops… with teeny straps!

    • May 12, 2014 3:48 am

      Belts are a great way to give long shapeless tops some definition. I swear by them!

  14. Rebecca permalink
    May 7, 2014 6:53 pm

    Sorry, *bra* straps, not arm straps!

  15. pennylrichardsca permalink
    May 7, 2014 7:36 pm

    I’m trying to buy nice summer trousers–I’d love some nice linen or cotton with pockets and maybe some style, in basic colors. Why does everything over size 14 have to be cropped? I don’t want cropped pants. I’m not going to be wading through puddles.

  16. May 8, 2014 10:39 am

    What the blazes happened to real denim jeans for women? All I see now are the ones that are at least half Spandex. That’s fine for wearing to work (and thankfully my workplace of the moment is mega-casual), but not for working in the yard. Mud, rocks, and gravel do NOT mix well with spandex anything. >: I’m about ready to start buying men’s Wrangler’s and just living with excessive space around the fly, because at least I know those won’t disintegrate after a month of being used as jeans are meant to be used.

    I also wish trumpet skirts were popular. I have a brisk, wide stride when I walk, no matter what I’m wearing. But regular full skirts make me look even shorter than I am IRL. Trumpet skirts are perfect for me, plus they customarily graze the ankles, which is a must for a woman who hates stockings.

    If someone out there wants to sew me about six trumpet skirts in different colors, you can name your price, I promise. Even if it’s two grand a pop, I’ll start saving up now for next year. :/

  17. cookingwithdogs permalink
    May 9, 2014 1:42 pm

    I would love to see more long tunic tops that I can wear with leggings, elbow length or slightly below the elbow sleeves on more shirts. Ditch the animal prints and give us the prints you use for non-plus size clothes. More colors/prints in bras instead of just standard white, beige and black – we want pretty underwear too!

  18. May 12, 2014 4:30 pm

    I’m with Sonia. I’m really over babydoll tops, empire waist tops, etc. I went shopping at Dress Barn recently, and I’m not sure if this is specific to their plus size section or not but ALL of their tops in plus sizes were super boxy and flowy and just shapeless. I’m guessing the assumption is that plus size women want to wear something that hides their true shape/stomach/whatever, but I am not one of those women. I don’t want to wear something that makes me look like I’m in a sack. Give me fitted – or at least more fitted than they currently are – tops!

  19. LittleBigGirl permalink
    May 18, 2014 7:15 pm

    Shirts with A-LINES. I have *hips* goddammit! 😡

    …and cheap tiered rayon skirts – I hate pencil skirts; I am a boho gypsy all the way. Stevie Nicks is my fashion idol. I want flow and drape and billowing so I can twirl. I haven’t been able to find a gypsy skirt to fit my hips in years… :_(

Leave a Reply

