Skip to content

From the vault: What Fat Acceptance means to me

June 18, 2014

Team Gnomercy

We don’t ask much of our readers, but we are asking you to support Casey in improving her mobility while fighting the fat haters. Read more here or click the image above to donate.

Weight LossFat HealthExerciseMy Boring-Ass LifeWeight Loss SurgeryDickweedDiet Talk

Four years ago I posted this on my blog, Life on Fats. With the trolls on reddit devoting what they call their “lives” to mocking, shaming, and scarily obsessing over fat people, I thought it would be a good idea to repost this manifesto of what Fat Acceptance means to me, with a few changes, and what it should also mean to those who refuse to realize people with larger bodies are, well, people.

And so, without further ado, here is what Fat Acceptance means to me:

  • Coming to terms that no matter what you do diet- and exercise-wise, it will never make you a single digit size and that’s okay.
  • Being allowed to wear clothing that isn’t a sweatsuit or a muumuu, and not being judged for it; and at the same time, not being judged for when you DO want to wear a sweatsuit or muumuu.
  • Trying to educate society that fat does not always equal unhealthy or the chance to become unhealthy. Correlation does not equal causation. There have been those who weren’t fat who’ve died from heart attacks, and those who were/are fat who’ve lived/are living with no major health problems.
  • Not trying to tell society you should find us sexually attractive, but that we should be treated and respected as human beings. And even if I were a size 2, as a biracial woman with short frizzy hair and a spattering of freckles and moles on my face, I still wouldn’t fit the Western ideal of a hard-on. Nor would I want to be. If we all looked the same or tried to force our bodies and faces into that so-called ideal, the world would be a boring place. So yeah, let the fatsos be.

My new niece is not scared of her deathfat aunt.

  • That we spend money and pay taxes like everyone else, so stop talking about us as if we’re not here. I find it laughable that so many think we don’t hold down some type of steady job and. instead. collect every type of public assistance available while staying home and shoving baked goods down our throats all day (and even if we do, still don’t judge). Last time I checked, there were fat secretaries, fat nurses, fat managers, fat bus drivers, fat teachers, fat TV camera operators and fat people working many different types of occupations. Don’t tell me that there aren’t any visibly fat people in your workplace. So just stop with that craziness.
  • For someone like me, who is over 300 pounds (the horror!!!), that yes, I work a full-time job, do housework, try to participate in physical activity at least three times a week and do not need a hoverlift to get out of my house and into a car or public transit. And for those folks who do need assistance, able-bodied or not,  it’s still not anyone’s place to judge them. It irritates me that there’s a mindset out there that once you hit 300, your life basically ends. I’m here to tell you it doesn’t, and you haven’t really lived until you’ve seen a 300 pound deathfattie do that 10-minute Cha-Cha slide dance or walk 26 straight blocks in New York City (both of which I’ve done). It’s extra pressure for me, and others like me, because we are the public face of the obesity hysteria, despite the media not showing our faces. We are the most hated and feared because of our size, and I want to tell you to stop hiding under the bedsheets and see me as a person, not some alien from the planet Dorito.

[youtube:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0NG8Th9V4sQ%5D

I realize I’m not going to change a lot of people’s opinions about what they think the lifestyle of a fat person is, but before anyone comes into this community to start trolling and acting like a jackass all over our blogs and creating numerous websites to belittle us, I seriously encourage you to stop and think that your hateful words really aren’t going to make the majority of us sign up for weight loss surgery or begin exercising for six hours a day. You may want us to do that, but the reality is, it probably won’t happen because of you. I’m going to live my life to the fullest and take each day as it comes with the body I have, not by struggling to get the body you think I should have.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Dizzyd permalink
    June 18, 2014 3:57 pm

    Yay! And in other good news, check out the legal butt-kicking the good Dr. Oz has been getting over his endorsement of weight-loss snake oil – double yay!!

    • lifeonfats permalink
      June 18, 2014 6:55 pm

      I saw that! It was a long time coming. He spent way too much time hawking fad diets and talking about weight loss on his show while ignoring other health issues.

  2. June 19, 2014 11:09 am

    Love that snapshot of you and your niece. So cute.

Leave a Reply

