Skip to content

Superstars Don’t Have Time For Haters

July 2, 2014

Team Gnomercy

We don’t ask much of our readers, but we are asking you to support Casey in improving her mobility while fighting the fat haters. Read more here or click the image above to donate.

Fat HealthExerciseMy Boring-Ass LifeDickweedDiet Talk

I just got home from a long-weekend trip to Las Vegas with my daughters, where we spent three days walking, lugging books and meeting authors and readers at the American Library Association (ALA) conference. superstarI signed my books at the Penguin booth. My publisher put us up in a beautiful hotel where we swam and looked at our hometown from the vantage point of 26 stories up, through a whole-wall window that opened like magic when we opened the hotel room door. We spent a day with my best friend and her daughters, and another day with my dad and his chickens. It was an incredible weekend.

Here’s what I noticed as I found myself surrounded by a sea of humanity in the Las Vegas Convention Center: people come in all shapes and sizes and abilities and energy levels. I saw big people in scooters and others lugging what looked like their body weight in books without breaking a sweat. I saw thin people wilted in corners, watching bags for their friends because they couldn’t walk another step, and some who seemed like perpetual motion machines.

Today, the day after we got back, my second novel, Rebel Nation, was released by Penguin and my family is celebrating with a barbecue. Tomorrow I’m going swimming. And I’m working on a new novel. And I’ll take my dog for a walk. And I’ll organize the eleventy-billion books I brought home with me from the ALA conference, cook some food. And I’ll read. And I’ll watch some TV, I’m sure, since my DVR is full of the shows I missed while I was gone. In other words, I’ll do a wide variety of things — some more spectacular than others.

There are people who believe they can take one look at me and decide that I lack self-discipline or that I’m lazy.

To those people, I say: Eh.

Someone, in an effort to hurt my feelings, sent a Tweet a while back calling me “Athlete Shaunta, super star. Eater of whole nutritious foods,professional writer, poster on twitter.”

Clearly, they don’t have a good handle on how to be snarky or sarcastic. (Hint: it involves doing something other than describing the best parts of a person, then calling them a superstar.) But also, it kind of made me stop and think. I can own being a superstar, I guess. And I do think of myself as an athlete, and I do eat a lot of good-for-me foods, and “professional writer” is my job description. I post on Twitter, but who doesn’t? That one’s a throw away, I guess. Anyway, I’m all those things, and I do not have time for haters.

I don’t have time to fight with them.

I don’t have time to try to educate them beyond posting in public places where perhaps, when they’re ready, they’ll find the information and be helped by it.

I don’t have the energy to waste on reading their weird, sad, hater forums.

Does it bother you that I consider myself an athlete? Then maybe you need to work on becoming a superstar yourself, so that you don’t have time to worry about how other people — people who have nothing to do with you — define themselves.

I can’t fathom why my job came into that Tweet. Maybe he doesn’t think that 20 years of supporting myself and my kids as a writer makes me professional? Maybe being published by a major publisher like Penguin isn’t enough? Maybe he just wanted to make me doubt myself? Whatever. If it bothers you that my job is “professional writer” than maybe you’re spending too much time thinking about my job and should spend some of that energy working on getting to a place where you can be a professional whatever-you-want-to-be.

Does it irritate you that I’m perfectly fine with being defined as a superstar? I’m okay with that, mostly because my schedule is so full of Superstardom that I don’t have a lot of time to care.

And all that time freed up by me no longer reading hater forums or engaging with trolls? Yeah, more superstar awesomeness. Why not?

Hell, I’m a superstar when I spend a whole day laying in bed, watching re-runs of Law and Order and eating peanut butter out of the jar.

Does that bother you?

Eh.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Isabel permalink
    July 2, 2014 11:32 am

    I’m confused…that tweet sounded like a compliment or at worst like tweeter is jealous. What am I missing?

    • Twistie permalink
      July 2, 2014 11:54 am

      I don’t think you’re missing anything, Isabel. I think it’s the twit who tweeted it who missed something… like the fact that sarcasm requires that something said not be simple fact, and complimentary ones, at that.

  2. Twistie permalink
    July 2, 2014 11:51 am

    (Waves)

    I don’t post on Twitter.

    But then, I know that makes me odd. It’s a purely personal choice.

  3. July 2, 2014 12:44 pm

    I need to take a page from your book and stop wasting my time on haters!

  4. Adele Hite, MPH RD permalink
    July 2, 2014 1:06 pm

    This was beautiful. Sometimes the mere fact that so many haters exist–and feel the need to spread the hate around–gets me down. But this serves as a reminder to me that there are just as many superstars (maybe more?), but I may not see them because they may not be in conversation with the haters because, well, eh. Thanks!

  5. July 2, 2014 2:07 pm

    “I’m a superstar when I spend a whole day laying in bed, watching re-runs of Law and Order and eating peanut butter out of the jar.”

    That sounds like the perfect day!

  6. George permalink
    July 2, 2014 2:44 pm

    Just curious as to why the sig on the bottom redirects to a page talking about buying weight loss pills in different states and promoting Dr. Oz diet pills.

    http://circoluma.com/ was what was shown.

    Rock out for enjoying Vegas. That was probably a great experience.

  7. vesta44 permalink
    July 2, 2014 3:10 pm

    Looks like someone has hacked your sig, Shaunta. When you click on it, it takes you to a page about losing weight, state by state.

Leave a Reply

