Skip to content

The Duality of Visibility

July 8, 2014

Team Gnomercy

We don’t ask much of our readers, but we are asking you to support Casey in improving her mobility while fighting the fat haters. Read more here or click the image above to donate.

Weight LossFat PoliticsFat HealthMy Boring-Ass LifeFat SexDickweedDiet TalkInvisible Man

The past couple of months have been busy for me. The last couple of weeks have been downright hectic. I’ve been active with the two meetup groups that I run, as well as others that I’m a part of; I’ve been out and about in the dating scene; I’ve been trying to wrangle new models for my Fat Naked Art Project; I’m working with the brand new local LGBT center on creating a queer fat positive space; I’m working on a talk for Ragen Chastain’s Fat Activism Conference that I’ll be a part of in August; and I’ve just generally enjoying the holiday with my partners and family.

On the Fourth of July, I rocked a bikini at the lake, did something horrible to my foot, which has me basically unable to walk right now, and enjoyed the fireworks (despite one building obscuring them. Grrr.). So yeah, a busy bee I have been. I’ve barely had time to think about fat activism or fat politics, although I’ve continued talking to people about fat issues.

So, you’ll understand if I tell you that I’ve had a difficult time coming up with something to write about this week. Fat issues surround me all the time, and maybe they’ve become so common place, and that thinking about them, analyzing them, and doing something, anything to fight back is so common place now that I have trouble singling out one specific thing to talk about. So maybe I’ll talk about that. How fat issues simple surround us.

Tiny acts of rebellion, moments of defeat, the word fat here or there. There are constantly stories in the news about being fat, we’re faced with our reflections every day, as well as seeing other fat people everywhere. Then there are the bullies who call us names when we try to walk down the street so that sometimes we even get to think about it when buying furniture or walking through the malls when we realize none of the stores carry clothing that fits us. Fat is everywhere. So why are we, as human beings, erased?

Okay, stick with me because I know I’m rambling a little. Or a lot. Whatever. Being an activist for the LGBT community (but especially the “B” in there), I often talk a lot about bi erasure and bi invisibility, but we’re so surrounded by fat that I’ve never really thought about fat invisibility because it’s also majorly hyper-visible. I’ve talked a bit before about the intersection of oversexualization and desexualization of fat women (and, in fact, this is going to be a major talking point for my talk at the fat activism conference), so maybe you can envision a world where fat people are both hyper-visible and invisible.

That is to say we’re the subject on everyone’s lips. We’re the newest fad diet and the latest health scare, the latest revolution and the oldest problem. We’re there. Always. But when’s the last time these people took a step back and stopped objectifying us? That’s right, objectification isn’t just sexual. it’s any time you reduce someone or a group of someones to just their bodies and treat those bodies as objects to be exploited. So when’s the last time that someone, god forbid, treated us like human beings? We’re at the forefront of people’s minds, enough to be hated and threatened and stalked and attacked, but so invisible as the individual people that we barely exist as a part of society.

So should fat erasure be a new thing? If so, I think it should come with a pretty specific understanding of the complexities that go along with this issue, but it’s something that maybe should catch on. We talk so much about the objectification of women (which is a hugely important topic, by the way) that I think we should expand on that and talk about the objectification of various peoples and bodies. Because it’s going to be much harder to deal with this fatphobia bullshit if we can’t acknowledge that a chunk of that is people erasing us and putting us in our places, which is often in line at the diet drug companies.

The fact that fat is in so many places, surrounding us, sits in stark contrast to the invisibility and erasure that I have come to feel as a fat person. Fat people will never be treated better or as equals if other people can’t come to recognize us as a part of everyday life, as people who deserve basic human respect, basic kindness and, above all, the right to live happily.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. LittleBigGirl permalink
    July 8, 2014 11:53 am

    I have been thinking a lot about this myself. The way society conveniently ignores us unless they want to pay attention to us. But when they look at us they can’t ignore the fat. I know it’s part of who we are, but they treat us like it’s our only defining characteristic.
    When people talk about us (and too often they talk *about* us instead of *to* us, or instead of letting us talk for *ourselves*), they are talking about our fat and what should be done about it.

    I’m too hot and up to early to be more coherent, but I’ll just say I’m really feeling this post. 🙂

    And I’ll be a naked model for your art project if you ever manage to make your way to Seattle! ;D

  2. Dizzyd permalink
    July 8, 2014 8:01 pm

    I agree. It’s like we’re the human equivalents of UFOs back in the heyday of governmental denial in the ’50’s to ’70’s: in other words, they spend so much time focusing on something they want to pretend doesn’t exist – at least not as actual human beings that should be treated with respect, care, dignity and so on like everyone else on the face of this freakin’ planet. But I for one refuse to be put in my place, and especially NOT at the diet drug companies!

  3. Stacy permalink
    July 9, 2014 1:36 pm

    Erasure is a very big problem. As fat people we’re made to think that we need to hide – hide our bodies, hide our “lumps and bumps”, hide ourselves. How many of us have been put in the very back in family photos? Asked to stand in the back row in work place photos? When we go out to eat many of us are shuffled to the back of the restaurant, hidden away. When we go clothes shopping (on the rare occasion it has our sizes) we are banished to the back of the store, away from the other shoppers and hidden from view. We’re told to wear clothes that minimize, disguise, and hide our bodies …hide us.

    Our entire society is hell bent on hiding us. I think a new way of thinking has to start with ourselves, our daily daily or personal relationships, and then with the rest of society. We need to be more visible and realize we have nothing to be ashamed of and that we DON’T need to hide or let ourselves be hidden. We have to start standing up for ourselves and not allow others to push us to the back.

    In the LGBTQ community things started to change when the movement was centered around “OUT and proud”. When you stop hiding, when you stop allowing yourself to be hidden, when you are visible and unashamed, you do a lot to help others have the confidence to do the same. Being visible and unashamed has done a lot for the LGBTQ community and I know it can help the fat community as well.

Leave a Reply

