Skip to content

Princess FIona Cosplay Dilemma

July 23, 2014

Halfway-There

Thanks to everyone who has gotten us this far. Please support Casey in improving her mobility while fighting the fat haters by donating whatever you can afford. Read more here or click the image above to donate.

In October of last year, I attended Mile Hi Con in Denver. This is not an unusual occurrence. Since my husband and I have been in Colorado, we have attended many Mile Hi Cons. The thing that was unusual was that I cosplayed (or dressed up in a costume) for the first time in my history of attending Sci-Fi Cons.

Last year, I was Lara Croft, of Tomb Raider fame.

Me, in the hotel room, before breakfast

Me, in the hotel room, before breakfast

This year, it looked for a while like we weren’t going to be able to make it. Even now, our attendance in October is iffy. However, we have reserved the hotel room, and are making plans to attend.

Which leads me to thinking about cosplay again.

I decided that I want to do Princess Fiona from Shrek. I mean, look at her: she’s bad ass. In the first movie, she shows she has major skills to take care of herself — even though she’s been waiting on her prince to come and rescue her, the fact is that she has enough skills to rescue herself. In fact, in one scene when Shrek, Donkey, and Princess Fiona are attacked, she does as much as Shrek to keep the party safe.

I really like that idea. I also like how at the end of Shrek, instead of Princess Fiona staying human when she has her “true love’s kiss,” she ends up being transformed for all time into an ogre form.

Another good thing about the whole movie series (and there were four movies) is that they really didn’t rely on a lot of fat jokes. Now, it’s been a while since I’ve watched any of the movies, but I can’t recall any fat jokes.

My quandary, though, is which Princess Fiona to be: Ogre Princess from the original Shrek movie, or Highlands Warrior Fiona from the final Shrek movie.

Ogre Princess wears a beautiful green velvet looking dress. It’s not much different from a purple dress I already have, so making it won’t be a problem:

e147c4aac4f6b4e5be3940ec11d5f84a

Finding the tiara might be a bit difficult though.

While Highlands Warrior Fiona wears a (little better than typical) skimpy outfit with minimal armor (I could go off on a whole feminist rant about skimpy armor on warrior women, but that’s for a different blog):

fiona_warrior_princess

Each of these outfits would be easy-ish to make. But after putting myself out there last year, cosplaying a sexy character while fat, I’m not sure I want to do so again.  But then, look at that second image. Strong, sexy, and, yes, FAT. I mean, how can I even not consider that one?

If you were going to cosplay, which of the two options here would you choose?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2014 9:52 am

    I personally would go with the emerald dress Fiona, but I also really love that look. (Emerald velvet… so sexy.) It’s a very recognizable version of her, too… everyone has seen the original Shrek, and probably would be able to point you out. Especially if you found a good green makeup shade. I don’t think a tiara would be too hard to find, too, as you could always spray paint a children’s one.

  2. Twistie permalink
    July 23, 2014 10:04 am

    I say you can’t go wrong with Fiona. She kicks ass.

    Oh, and I just very recently rewatched the first two films (I don’t own the other two and – sadly – have never seen the fourth), and there isn’t a fat joke among them. Fart jokes, ogre jokes, and mayhem aplenty, but nothing I would identify as a fat joke.

    That’s one of the things I like so much about those films. Plus Fiona makes the conscious choice to be with Shrek and to remain an ogre. I like that a lot. She is very much her own person.

    Besides, who could not love the child of John Cleese and Julie Andrews?

    • bronwenofhindscroft permalink
      July 23, 2014 10:46 am

      I didn’t remember any fat jokes, but it has been so long since I’ve watched any of the movies, I couldn’t say for sure. Which is why I gave that disclaimer.

      🙂

      Princess Fiona has a lot of great qualities for a child (girl and boy) to look up to. Heck, as a woman, I think I want to be her when I grow up.

  3. vesta44 permalink
    July 23, 2014 10:48 am

    Personally, I like the warrior Fiona. However, I’d probably go as the Princess Fiona simply because making the armor and the sword would be more time consuming than making the dress and finding the tiara (and I’m betting you could find an appropriate tiara on amazon).
    But you would make a kick-ass warrior Fiona, as evidenced by your Lara Croft cosplay costume.

    • bronwenofhindscroft permalink
      July 23, 2014 11:32 am

      I could make the tiara out of polymer clay, if push comes to shove. I mean, I have to make the ears anyway.

  4. Pyctsi permalink
    July 23, 2014 11:03 am

    Unless it was gonna be really hot the dress would win for me every time, but then I’m a sucker for velvet like fabrics, plus I tend to like to keep my limbs fully covered as they either get cold if it’s cool or burn if it’s warm.

    If the convention is gonna be pretty warm you might be more comfortable in the warrior outfit.

    • bronwenofhindscroft permalink
      July 23, 2014 11:31 am

      Well, it *is* Colorado. Weather is always suspect in Colorado, especially in fall and spring. The last day of snow (since I’ve been here) has been May 1st (a year ago). Earliest day for snowfall was September 19 (a few years ago). But the snow was melted the next day!

      However, we’ll be in a nice, climate controlled hotel, so that’s not an issue.

  5. July 23, 2014 12:57 pm

    I’m torn between the two. I like both and think you’d look totally kickass in either one. So I guess my vote isn’t helpful except to agree with your choice to be Princess Fiona!!! ♥

  6. July 23, 2014 1:43 pm

    I think accessorizing Warrior Fiona (armor, sword, necklace) is going to be a little more time-consuming than finding a tiara for Ogre Princess Fiona. Both are absolutely kick-ass, though.

    My preference would still be for Warrior Fiona, despite the added effort, just because she carries a sword and I fence. Plus, the open hairdo will add comfort because you won’t need to wear your hair up/an extra updo if you’re going with a wig (I tend to get headaches from wearing my hair up a long time, don’t know if that’s a concern for you).

  7. July 23, 2014 1:55 pm

    For me, it would depend on resources and the con itself (and now you have me wanting to cosplay her!)….but I would lean towards the highland one as I like props. It gives you something to do for posing if people want to take your picture!

  8. Jennifer Hansen permalink
    July 25, 2014 1:37 am

    I am a big fan of reusable costuming, so I would buy something like this:

    http://holyclothing.com/index.php/dresses/shop-by-color/green/forest-green-bella-peasant-maiden-satin-lace-up-corset-a-line-dress-gown.html

    tack on gold ribbon trim, and accessorize. After the con I could wear it as a regular dress.

    (I own two Holy Clothing pieces and I love them to bits. The fit, the drape, the colors, the durability!)

  9. July 27, 2014 12:49 am

    I love Fiona. Whatever you choose, it will be great! I hope you will share pictures.

Leave a Reply

