Skip to content

Intuitive Eating Again — Finally

October 28, 2014

Fat HealthFat ScienceExerciseMy Boring-Ass LifeDickweedDiet Talk

Trigger warning: Discussion of intuitive eating and health strategies.

As a Fat Acceptance (FA) activist and proponent of Health at Every Size® (HAES), I advocate intuitive eating. I’ve done my best over Chronically Illthe past four years, since finding HAES and FA, to follow it myself. Problem is that I’ve also had chronic nausea that entire time. And I don’t mean a little bit of feeling ill either. I mean randomly getting physically ill, staying in bed all day because I’m too sick to move, putting off doing things I need to do or enjoy because I don’t feel well enough.

It’s like a four-and-a-half year pregnancy with morning sickness the entire time (but without the reward of a beautiful bundle of joy at the end). Being that sick, day in and day out, is not fun. It wears on you.

Chronic illness sucks, but at least my other chronic illnesses can be treated somewhat. No doctor could figure this one out though. So I figured it out myself after my first gallbladder attack in January, when I discovered that my nausea got much worse leading up to the attack. So I asked if my gallbladder could possibly have caused the mysterious chronic nausea that half a dozen doctors couldn’t figure out?

Well, of course.

Last Thursday, I finally had my gallbladder removed and I haven’t been nauseated or sick a single moment since. I’m upset that no one figured this out sooner because eating anything, much less intuitively, is next to impossible  while constantly sick; but I’m so glad to finally be done with it. Now, for the first time in my life, I can actually start eating intuitively.

So far, I haven’t binged on anything. I’ve been eating a lot of soup, but that was partially because my throat was sore from the surgery and partially because soup is cheap and surgery is expensive. It’s amazing. It’s next to miraculous for me.

Maybe just as importantly, I haven’t been able to exercise regularly for those same four-and-a-half years because moving too much made me sick, shaky, and dizzy. Again, since having my gallbladder out that hasn’t been an issue once. The same doctors who couldn’t figure out my nausea brushed off my other symptoms. While I held on through dance rehearsal every week, anything more was too much to handle. I even photographed a wedding last month and almost passed out during family shots! Not good at all.

I’m excited y’all. You don’t even understand how excited! I can’t wait until I”m fully healed and can start living my life again.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Purple peonies permalink
    October 28, 2014 12:19 pm

    That’s amazing and wonderful! Congrats!!

  2. October 28, 2014 3:03 pm

    To your health!

  3. lifeonfats permalink
    October 28, 2014 5:44 pm

    I had my gallbladder out in 2001. Luckily I didn’t have chronic nausea, but I did get attacks which I thought were either severe reflux or heart issues. My grandfather did have nausea and vomiting with his and mom got nausea too. We just have bad gallbladders in the family. Glad you are now on the road to recovery.

  4. October 29, 2014 9:31 am

    So happy for you!

  5. October 31, 2014 12:41 pm

    Yay! I’m glad that you now have a life without chronic nausea. I’m appalled that they didn’t catch this sooner! Thankfully, it was caught before it burst and caused a whole new set of issues.

  6. Dizzyd permalink
    October 31, 2014 3:33 pm

    Great! 😀 Nice to know the nation’s best and brightest minds were on the case (snark). Glad to hear you’re doing much better, though!

Leave a Reply

